Chevron Left
Вернуться к Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies от партнера Уэслианский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,812
Рецензии: 565

О курсе

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Лучшие рецензии

RD
31 июля 2020 г.

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

MS
6 февр. 2021 г.

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

Фильтр по:

201–225 из 554 отзывов о курсе Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

автор: Teresa c

19 июня 2020 г.

I loved this course, and reading the book while doing the class online. It was challenging, but a little hard work never scared me!

автор: DIANA V E

29 янв. 2017 г.

Curso excelente, con información clara y apropiada, con mucha ayuda visual que permite la concentración y mayor comprensión del tema

автор: ANGELA C

14 сент. 2020 г.

A very nice opportunity to review the concepts about memory, a subject very important through all the stages of the life. Thank you

автор: Darlene d V

29 авг. 2020 г.

This is an excellent course, I would take another course from this professor. Thank you, I learn much and have much to think about.

автор: veronica g

15 июля 2020 г.

It's a wonderful course!!! I really loved it!!! And Professor Seamon was very helpful and made very interesting the course. Thanks.

автор: Yenai J

13 авг. 2017 г.

I have fully enjoyed this course. I have learned a lot and the movies were great examples for the topics that were being discussed!

автор: Carole C

2 дек. 2016 г.

I loved everything in the course: the structure, going in depth in the concepts, the little quizzes and the movie clips. Thank you!

автор: Prabhleen A

3 авг. 2020 г.

It was an interesting course. I loved the peculiar movie selection and the way various aspects of memory is described through them

автор: POTHURI S V

7 июля 2020 г.

It was a breezy course. My interest was kept intact throughout because of the the wonderful explanations of Professor John Seamon.

автор: Thomas d S

9 апр. 2018 г.

Came for Memento, stayed for the soothing, sexy voice.

This course is a perfect example of how to use entertainment for education.

автор: Siew L T

6 июля 2020 г.

Interesting approach in the use of films to teach such a topic. It helps me to learn both visually and auditorily . Thank you.

автор: Tilman J

28 июля 2016 г.

A thoughtful and sometimes touching course. It gave me a lot to think about memory and the changes that occur in us as we age.

автор: Karthigeyan

30 авг. 2017 г.

The course was really entertaining. Came to know a lot of concepts related to memories and also some good movies. Thanks!

автор: Stegaru M P

9 мар. 2017 г.

The idea of linking the concepts to movies is really good. I hope to see a course that continues what I've learned so far

автор: Kartika M

7 янв. 2021 г.

For the first time I binge-learned something!! This is a wonderful course that I will be using for my research purposes.

автор: Emily Z

13 июля 2020 г.

A charming and very quick (can be done in about 5-6 hours) class but very interesting! The movie clips are fun to watch.

автор: Amy Y

10 мая 2020 г.

Amazing course. A very memorable and effective way of teaching using the movie as a guide and application for knowledge.

автор: Prateek R

19 мая 2016 г.

Really liked the idea of using movie clips.. -- gives audio/visual illustration/example to textual psychology topics..

автор: Raluca M

6 июля 2017 г.

This has been a very enjoyable course, well structured and entertaining. I have recommended it to some of my friends.

автор: Isha P D

10 апр. 2020 г.

Very helpful and really very interesting, Sir has a really high knowledge and puts things up very clearly! Thankyou!

автор: Germán E C H

22 мая 2018 г.

i BEGAN TO STUDY PSYCHOLOGY IN MY CINEMA CHAIR.BY THAT PSYCHOLOGY AND MOVIES ARE MY BETTER WAYS TO STUDY HUMAN BEEN.

автор: RITESH G

31 авг. 2018 г.

Love the innovative way of learning the concepts on Memory through some excellent collection of movies. Thank you.

автор: Ronald M

4 июля 2017 г.

This is great course about memory! I enjoyed all the movies that were used as examples in the course! Recommended.

автор: Christy L

27 июня 2017 г.

This course was easy to follow and entertaining and it was especially useful for learning about ageing and memory.

автор: Mary H

13 сент. 2017 г.

Relating the concepts to movies made them easy to learn and remember. Very comprehensible and pleasant lectures.