Chevron Left
Вернуться к Deciphering Secrets: The Illuminated Manuscripts of Medieval Europe

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Deciphering Secrets: The Illuminated Manuscripts of Medieval Europe от партнера Система университетов штата Колорадо

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 135

О курсе

Perhaps no other relic of the European Middle Ages captures our imagination more than illuminated medieval manuscripts, or those documents decorated with images and colored pigments. Serving as windows unto a lost world of kings, ladies, faith, war, and culture, they communicate complex visual and textual narratives of Europe’s collective cultural heritage and patrimony. In this fashion, illuminated manuscripts are dynamic messages from our communal past that are still relevant today in fields like graphic design and typography. In this seven-week course, students will explore the material creation, content, and historical context of illuminated medieval European manuscripts. Students will acquire an introductory knowledge of their distinguishing characteristics, their cataloguing and periodization (when they were created), the methods utilized to produce them, and their historical context and value. Student achievement will be assessed using not only traditional multiple-choice quizzes, but more importantly will be evaluated based on individual student projects. In their final projects students will either (1) produce a board of commented images about medieval manuscripts or (2) prepare a physical manuscript using medieval methods. The best of these peer-evaluated projects will be posted on the Deciphering Secrets website, which is our collective citizen scholarship web presence that encourages and supports our global citizen scholars appreciation and contributions to transcription of medieval manuscripts. Finally, we wish to highlight that this course is an exciting international collaboration between the University of Colorado (USA) and Universidad Complutense Madrid (Spain)....

Лучшие рецензии

K

26 янв. 2018 г.

An excellent overview of a complex subject , with the rare option to explore the practical skills involved in making manuscripts , and with a forward view of new research evolving IT makes possible.

JS

4 мая 2017 г.

fascinating subject. Excellent course whether you want to just learn about the history of the manuscripts or try creating some yourself. The Spanish professor is a real expert in the subject.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 64 отзывов о курсе Deciphering Secrets: The Illuminated Manuscripts of Medieval Europe

автор: Eugenia R

10 окт. 2020 г.

Great way of learning not only about history but also about the valuable objects that are the manuscripts!

The best part of the course is learning through the hands-on projects! Great addition for the online classes!

Thanks for this amazing opportunity!

автор: Emily d B

12 авг. 2017 г.

I loved it! Although one can only touch the surface of this field in such a short time frame, I learned a lot. I liked the combination of medieval history and manuscript making. It helps putting it all in perspective.

автор: Angelina B

5 июня 2019 г.

So, far I am not too far into the class however, it is extremely satisfying the level of information that one person can choose to attain via coursera. The time frames are tight, but flexible thankfully.

автор: Kenneth K

27 янв. 2018 г.

An excellent overview of a complex subject , with the rare option to explore the practical skills involved in making manuscripts , and with a forward view of new research evolving IT makes possible.

автор: Joy S

5 мая 2017 г.

fascinating subject. Excellent course whether you want to just learn about the history of the manuscripts or try creating some yourself. The Spanish professor is a real expert in the subject.

автор: Luna S

23 июня 2022 г.

Very interesting insight of the history of manuscripts. The course is nicely paced, the videos are very well prepared and the activities are really fun to do. I recommend it 100%

автор: Ivan S

21 янв. 2018 г.

It was amazing course full of new information and things to know, full of activities and works for creation own medieval manuscript. A lot of thanks for all people who done it!

автор: Jax L

19 сент. 2017 г.

This is definitely a must for anyone with an interest in history. The combination of the historic backdrop and the practical nature of manuscript studies makes it even more

автор: Natasha L

10 июля 2022 г.

Fantastic class. Learned a lot. Great info for anyone interested in art, history, or books. Love that there were two types of assignments. Good mix of reading and video.

автор: Марина П

12 мая 2018 г.

Excellent! Just one problem. There probably not too many students so it takes more time to grade your peer reviewed assignement and you have to wait.

автор: Theodora P

3 мар. 2019 г.

Exceptional! I am a Historian and a Historian of Art, from Athens Greece. I am really impressed by this course and its scientific aspect.

автор: Mitzi A R C

28 апр. 2021 г.

So interesting! Thanks! Fue un curso realmente interesante! pero sobre todo me ha ayudado a saber más sobre los manuscritos! GRACIAS!

автор: Suzanne H

16 февр. 2021 г.

Wonderful experience to work on my own Illuminated Manuscript.

Always a pleasure to follow a course that has depth and richness.

автор: Darryl L L

27 сент. 2020 г.

I enjoyed this course immensely. Be aware that the hands-on assignments are liable to take more than five hours each.

автор: Roger F

7 авг. 2018 г.

A very interesting and enjoyable course. The Hands-on project is very worthwhile but there is quite a lot to do.

автор: Beatriz m d

14 июля 2021 г.

Me ha gustado mucho este curso.No puedo hacer los pares,no hablo inglés.Para mi,el curso está terminado.

автор: Cecilia C

14 июля 2017 г.

Very illuminating and interesting Course! I really enjoyed the combination of theory and hands-on!

автор: Yasemin G

25 июня 2022 г.

A​ very good introduction to palaeography and codicology for anyone pursuing a history degree.

автор: Laëtitia J

26 окт. 2018 г.

Complete, and very high quality ! And last but not least, creative and funny :) Many thanks

автор: JOHN Q

11 дек. 2017 г.

Interesting and enjoyable course. Thanks for all the work in preparation of the course.

автор: Miguel J S

16 мая 2022 г.

This course is very good and interesting. This course helped me in my typography class.

автор: Ben F

18 апр. 2020 г.

Excellent. I really enjoyed the course. I learnt loads, both theoretical and practical.

автор: Linda O B

3 мая 2021 г.

I enjoyed learning the history of Medieval Europe and the process of bookbinding.

автор: Imelda F

25 янв. 2017 г.

Very challenging and also a lot of fun. I learned a lot and want to continue

автор: Emily L

10 авг. 2017 г.

Great course, very informative, and left me inspired to learn more!