Chevron Left
Вернуться к Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong от партнера Йельский университет

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 507
Рецензии: 203

О курсе

How can you tell if the bold headlines seen on social media are truly touting the next big thing or if the article isn't worth the paper it's printed on? Understanding Medical Studies, will provide you with the tools and skills you need to critically interpret medical studies, and determine for yourself the difference between good and bad science. The course covers study-design, research methods, and statistical interpretation. It also delves into the dark side of medical research by covering fraud, biases, and common misinterpretations of data. Each lesson will highlight case-studies from real-world journal articles. By the end of this course, you'll have the tools you need to determine the trustworthiness of the scientific information you're reading and, of course, whether or not your Facebook friend is wrong....

Лучшие рецензии

JA

Jul 25, 2020

This is a great course that helps you interpret the correct way to read clinical studies. It's something I'll use, especially when and if I am asked to take a medication that has serious side effects.

LT

Apr 30, 2020

I enjoy studying this course , the material and video example are well made ,and easy to understand too . Overall this course is great and really helpful it also help me improve on my judgement skill.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 207 отзывов о курсе Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong

автор: Natalie S

Jul 06, 2020

Absolutely brilliant professor. Very engaging material, easily explained with vivid examples. I looked forward to watching the videos. I now feel more confident to read through medical literature thanks to Dr. Wilson!!!

автор: Michelle S

Jun 09, 2020

I had a lot of fun learning how to understand medical reports. F. Perry Wilson's use of examples for the common person was useful. His lectures was very engaging and interesting. Thank you!

автор: Wendy R

Jul 15, 2020

Totally loved the course! It was very informative and interesting and easy to understand. It was also entertaining and engaging! Wish all courses were taught by Prof. Perry!!

автор: Giulia N P D G

May 14, 2020

Incredible course. All amazing, how Dr. Perry teaches is unique. The material is easy to understand. I would recommend you 100% to enroll in this course.

автор: Michael V

May 15, 2020

A course every health professional should take. Informative and entertaining...that speaks volume for a course on medical research!

автор: Sylvia W

Jun 02, 2020

I write about medicine and thought I knew all this. I was wrong. Great information, delightfully told.

автор: Héloïse B

May 15, 2020

Great course. Very informative and fun way to learn more about statistics. I would definitely recommend.

автор: Kristina J

May 13, 2020

Definitely recommend to learn this topics!

автор: Meena M

May 08, 2020

It is very to understand to. Mee tq to learn this subject

автор: Bryna W

Jun 28, 2020

I thought this course was very informative, well organized, and well presented. I definitely will use what I learned to help me sort through medical decisions. Your providing an explanation of the correct answers when a question was missed, both for in-lesson questions and module quizzes, was very helpful and clarified misunderstandings that I sometimes didn't even know I had. All this--and it was fun too! Just for consideration--I would have also enjoyed some supplementary readings that weren't necessarily research papers, but related to some of the issues raised in the course or ethical implications.

автор: Anna L

Jul 25, 2020

Amazing course - great lectures and well-designed assignments allowing you to apply and test your new knowledge in the real world. Dr Wilson is a great presenter with a kindly attitude and a great sense of humour, which makes his course very engaging, even though there are loads of information in each lecture and some rather difficult concepts. I highly recommend this course not only to people who want to learn to read medical studies, but also to anyone interested in how the studies are actually done and published (there is much more in the course than its title suggests!).

автор: Marie A C P

Jun 05, 2020

I'd recommend this to anyone who's a bit afraid of numbers but really wants to make an effort in separating "chaff from the grain", and contribute to more level-headed discussion. Especially as the COVID-19 pandemic continues and we're seeing so much research coming out, we need to be more skeptic and curious. It helps if you have a little background in statistics from college days, but even if you don't or can't remember, F. Perry Wilson does a comprehensive job of presenting the concepts.

автор: Nancy B

Jun 15, 2020

This course was a gem. The information was presented in a clear fashion. The graphics were easy to understand and supported my learning. The examples were always instructive. I appreciated the humorous examples. They helped me to stay focused and to comprehend the material.

One suggestion would be to include a document with definitions of terms. That would be helpful to me to reinforce lessons and would be helpful so that I could return to that during the next lessons.

Thank you!

автор: Connie O

Jun 28, 2020

Interesting, entertaining, and informative. Great professor and just the right amount of information to educate on the subject without getting into the concepts we will never use in our daily lives. I'd absolutely take another course with Dr. Wilson and I'm looking forward to using my new knowledge in interpreting medical research studies and enjoying the confidence I have when discussing certain research studies with others. Thank you for a great course!

автор: Farooq A R

Jun 26, 2020

An excellent and highly recommended course that will act as a primer on critical appraisal of literature and basic biostatistics. I strongly recommend this course to all health care professionals and even by general public who want to understand the real meaning of published medical studies instead of blindingly following the Newspaper headlines. The presenter was very knowledgable and was very enthusiastic in delivering the course content.

автор: Marshall F

Jun 14, 2020

Very worthwhile course - not always easy to understand but worth your time and effort if you want to have a better understanding of medical studies. In this particular time when we are in the midst of a Pandemic it certainly doesn't hurt to be able to do your own due diligent in reading medical studies, Particularly as they pertain to the contra virus as well as any other medical subject matter you may be interested in reading.

автор: Anthony B

Jun 22, 2020

Extremely well presented Module, that will help you to better interpret statistics, and concepts used in Medical Research. I real team effort, has been put into researching, and developing this Module by both the presenter, and his unsung hero colleagues. Well done! I am applying these concepts in my own work as an NHS Medway Trust Data Analyst/Programme Manager, and Teacher of Mathematics, etc.

автор: FRANCESCO A F

May 17, 2020

Amazing course!! Prof. Perry Wilson, got me interested since the very first lecture, and led me to the end of the course in no time! I recommend taking the course, especially if you are a Med-School student, because it will make your life that easier! I would also like to point out for any non-english student that nothing in the course is too complicated to understand, so it's a win-win!

автор: Connie D

Jul 04, 2020

Very helpful refresher, fun class, even the dad jokes. Would have even liked it to go one a bit longer, or perhaps a few more snap shots of actual clinical trials and application in the lectures, to learn better referencing of them when reading them. Perhaps compared with the easy to fun story examples you gave to better understand how the lecture examples pair with a real trial.

автор: Tino

Jun 03, 2020

First of all I would like to thank Dr. Perry Wilson who has done an awesome job presenting that topic with such a great structure and passion. Secondly, I would like to thank Coursera for having free access to this module. Overall, I have learned quite a lot of things and gained a much better understanding in detail as well as in total of medical research. All the best!

автор: Yolany L B

Jun 08, 2020

This professor makes fun jokes that keeps me entertained, while providing valuable information in regards to research. This course is not only understanding medical research, but in other areas that I can incorporate what I learned in this class to other fields such as psychology and political science. Thanks for this course professor.

автор: Sabrina I

Aug 11, 2020

This course was wonderful; I feel more prepared to read medical manuscripts and research journals. I also brushed up on my statistical skills, which was a good review. I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to expand their research knowledge while enjoying Dr. Perry's sense of humor. Thank you for the great course, Dr. Perry!

автор: Patricia P

Jul 19, 2020

Having had the chance to really get a glimpse of how Medical Research works, I believe that the knowledge you can acquire from this course is crucial not only for your future career, but also for your analytical approach. Loved going through the details with Professor Perry Wilson. We all thank you !

автор: Lloyd J

Jun 09, 2020

Enjoyed the way that this course presented the information. The examples used thru the course helped to reinforce the topic being presented. The presentation style of Perry is great, with his obvious real life knowledge of the topic at hand aiding to the course. Highly recommend this course.

автор: Shweta K

Jun 28, 2020

Research has been a dreaded subject for me always.I felt it was boring and something that I cannot think of doing.

Thank you sir for making it so interesting for me.The kind of examples you shared, the simplicity of the course helped me in understanding it in a much better way.