Chevron Left
Вернуться к Медицинская неврология

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Медицинская неврология от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 1,573
Рецензии: 426

О курсе

Medical Neuroscience explores the functional organization and neurophysiology of the human central nervous system, while providing a neurobiological framework for understanding human behavior. In this course, you will discover the organization of the neural systems in the brain and spinal cord that mediate sensation, motivate bodily action, and integrate sensorimotor signals with memory, emotion and related faculties of cognition. The overall goal of this course is to provide the foundation for understanding the impairments of sensation, action and cognition that accompany injury, disease or dysfunction in the central nervous system. The course will build upon knowledge acquired through prior studies of cell and molecular biology, general physiology and human anatomy, as we focus primarily on the central nervous system. This online course is designed to include all of the core concepts in neurophysiology and clinical neuroanatomy that would be presented in most first-year neuroscience courses in schools of medicine. However, there are some topics (e.g., biological psychiatry) and several learning experiences (e.g., hands-on brain dissection) that we provide in the corresponding course offered in the Duke University School of Medicine on campus that we are not attempting to reproduce in Medical Neuroscience online. Nevertheless, our aim is to faithfully present in scope and rigor a medical school caliber course experience. This course comprises six units of content organized into 12 weeks, with an additional week for a comprehensive final exam: - Unit 1 Neuroanatomy (weeks 1-2). This unit covers the surface anatomy of the human brain, its internal structure, and the overall organization of sensory and motor systems in the brainstem and spinal cord. - Unit 2 Neural signaling (weeks 3-4). This unit addresses the fundamental mechanisms of neuronal excitability, signal generation and propagation, synaptic transmission, post synaptic mechanisms of signal integration, and neural plasticity. - Unit 3 Sensory systems (weeks 5-7). Here, you will learn the overall organization and function of the sensory systems that contribute to our sense of self relative to the world around us: somatic sensory systems, proprioception, vision, audition, and balance senses. - Unit 4 Motor systems (weeks 8-9). In this unit, we will examine the organization and function of the brain and spinal mechanisms that govern bodily movement. - Unit 5 Brain Development (week 10). Next, we turn our attention to the neurobiological mechanisms for building the nervous system in embryonic development and in early postnatal life; we will also consider how the brain changes across the lifespan. - Unit 6 Cognition (weeks 11-12). The course concludes with a survey of the association systems of the cerebral hemispheres, with an emphasis on cortical networks that integrate perception, memory and emotion in organizing behavior and planning for the future; we will also consider brain systems for maintaining homeostasis and regulating brain state....

Лучшие рецензии

KT

Nov 22, 2018

I leant so much without even realising it until I got to the final exams and all this knowledge was making sense. Amazing lecturer with so much wisdom in the area. The course is very well delivered.

KR

Dec 22, 2016

I have not really taken any Neuroscience courses and I have to say this was very challenging with my already full-time load at school but I did it! Yay! I love Dr. White he is an awesome professor!

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 418 отзывов о курсе Медицинская неврология

автор: Calvin C

May 01, 2020

A very comprehensive approach to the beginnings of neuroscience. Out of all the neuro related courses I have taken, this one was the most clear. There's so much knowledge and material, that you get for free. I really enjoyed the approach of Dr. white and could see the passion exuding from him. I highly recommend anyone planning to enter the healthcare field to pick up this course.

автор: Nguemeni C

May 31, 2017

This course is the best course I ever took on coursera. Although I knew a lot about neuroscience before starting the course, the journey with Pr. White was amazing. The material and resources are very helpful and the mentors are doing a great job.

Overall this is a great course both for beginners and professional in neuroscience/medicine.

Thanks for puting up such a good module.

автор: Gerardo R G

Feb 06, 2020

Easily the hardest and most challenging class I have ever taken. It goes deep into the brains structure, functions, processes. Many terms, definitions. The instructor almost seems like a genius as he shares his passion for the subject through the tutorials. He makes a good attempt to be fun and to keep a rhythm With the learning. Bring your A game, this is not an easy journey.

автор: Ankita S

Apr 19, 2020

Brilliantly developed and taught! Even for beginners in the field of neuroscience like myself, the course material was very well suited. This course served as the perfect platform for me to look at Neuroscience as a potential field for obtaining a PhD in. Many thanks to all the developers, especially Prof. White. Your interactive sessions were what made it so interesting!

автор: Rocío R

May 16, 2018

This course has changed my life, truly, I'm about to start a MS in neurology at my Uni (Oviedo, Spain) but I definitely think it's due to prof. Leonard White, he's smart, funny and brilliant in his job. Even though this is an online and distance learning course, he's such a cool professor. Thanks for loving your work and making others fall in love with neuroscience :)

автор: Thais P P S

Sep 10, 2017

The teacher is very good,he teaches very well.Show us the basic concepts,envolving to clinical charts.I have difficulty in classes with specimens.In general,the course is very embracing and we fineshed it knowing to identify many cerebral sctrutures, as well as their localization and funtion and all this provides a valuable knowledge about the wonderful human's brain.

автор: Daniel S

Aug 21, 2018

Well worth the time put in to complete. The course deals with some very complex phenomena in a well structured, bottom-up manor that is attainable to anyone wanting to enter into the world of neuroscience. Prof. White does a great job of navigating through the many aspects and layers of neuroscience. It is accomplishing to complete and I would highly recommend.

автор: Philip W M

Aug 15, 2019

This is an amazing and thorough course. I can only imagine how much work and time was spent by the Duke University staff, especially Dr. White, to make this amazing course possible. Thank you so much to each and every one of you that worked on making this a quality and interesting course available online at a reasonable price.

-Phil Morrison, Auxvasse, MO

автор: Meredith O

Aug 16, 2016

This course is thorough and well-designed for learning. It connects the basic science with real-life applications. There's an additional course website that was created by a former student, and it has numerous additional resources. Dr. White's knowledge, open-hearted sharing, and enthusiasm for the subject are what make this a 5-star class. He's outstanding!

автор: Gerardo M H

Jun 18, 2018

It's the best course about Neuroscience. The professor explain every single detailed of neuroanatomy, and he manage to relate the physiology and anatomy without trouble. At the beginin of each video, he get in you a summarize and that thing helps to argue for learning more. Unfortunately I don't have access to Sylvius, but it's easy to follow with tutorial.

автор: P I

Jul 28, 2019

Anyone interested in Neuroscience would greatly benefit from this course. Wonderful material and presentations. Further, the quizzes and exams stretch you and help you integrate it all together. The course isn't easy and requires a fair amount of time investment, but if you are really interested in learning more about Brain, it is a time well worth spent.

автор: Stella G

Jan 05, 2020

Excellent course! Dr White explains important concepts in neuroscience very well, especially great is the use of real brain specimens for anatomy teaching. Some prior knowledge is definitely required, otherwise the assignments would be very difficult. Ideal course for health professionals who want to deepen their understanding of neuroscience.

автор: Marcio S d C L

Jul 01, 2017

This course provided me a solid foudation for further study in Neuroscience. I'm a psychiatrist so I took greater interest in the final weeks of the course which discussed associational cortex. But having a thorough review of anatomy, histology, sensory and motor cortex gave me a broader understanding of brain function. Thank you very much!

автор: Yesenia S

Sep 22, 2019

This is the course I have been looking for! Dr. White makes neuroanatomy sound easy (and that is really hard to do). His jovial personality and vast knowledge makes this course extremely interesting and easy to digest. I will recommend for anyone interested in learning neuroscience at any level of academic development. Thank you Dr. White!

автор: Manuel E Q G

Jan 18, 2020

This course is a very practical and interesting dive into the world of Neuroscience. I especially enjoyed the lessons concerning the internal anatomy of the brainstem, because Dr. White evidently is an expert on this and many other topics. I am very grateful for the effort that him and his team have put on the development of the content.

автор: Natalia M

Nov 20, 2017

This course is extemely challenging yet it's one of the most comprehensive courses on entire Coursera. Thank you Prof. White, Ellen, and entire team for this unique opportunity to learn more about the most fascinating body organ. I hope that completion of this course will give me additional points while applying to Duke Medical School :)

автор: Maria G

Oct 01, 2017

This course is the reason I am applying for the PhD program at UTSA for Neurobiology. I loved Dr. White's approach to the nervous system and the depth of detail and anatomy he taught. The course was challenging and inspiring. Thank you to everyone who made this course available to us learners for free, it made all the difference for me.

автор: Alena U

Feb 19, 2020

I'm so happy to enroll and finish this course! Professor L.White did an excellent complete course, the best I have taken on Coursera. If you don't have a background in Neuroscience, Biology, Physics, the course could be quite complicated, like it was for me, but it's possible to finish it successfully. I would definitely recommend it.

автор: Anusha K

Jul 06, 2017

Incredible course, incredible professor! Taught in a way that makes the challenging and sometimes tedious material approachable and fun yet challenging and informative. Inclusion of clinical cases & other clinically-relevant info takes it to the next level and makes it highly applicable/relevant to today. Would strongly recommend.

автор: Wendi J

Jul 25, 2017

Such a rewarding learning experience. This course has given me so much insight into the inner workings of the brain. I just want to thank Professor White for his wonderful teaching as well as all the members of the team that have made the online course possible. The interactive and social teaching method has been very enjoyable!

автор: RODOLFO V D

Feb 18, 2020

I initiated this course as part of my preparation as a neurosurgery resident. I learned more from this course than anywhere else. It covers very well human Neuroanatomy and Neurophisiology. I really recommend this course for people very interested in this field, otherwhise it may be a little overwhelming. I am really satisfied

автор: Rick W

Sep 04, 2017

Dr. White is an incredible teacher of an incredibly complex and fascinating subject. It was the BEST course I have ever taken. If only I had him in college (a while ago) I would have changed my career goals. I will take ANY course that he offers in the future and most definitely give this course the highest recommendation.

автор: Kinusan D S

May 07, 2019

What an amazing, in-depth course! I took a NAP (Neuro-Anatomy-Physiology) course back in 1988 and it was not this comprehensive in terms learning objectives nor in meeting the learning outcomes in the syllabus. Congrats Leo! It was equally a pleasure to see nature evolve in your back-yard during the learning program.

автор: Christelle B G

Mar 13, 2020

I really recommand this course : It's very complete (more than a course in French University !) ; very good motivating and engaging teacher, who had pleasure in teaching ; Very serious ; the quizzes change and are picky.

I'm used to Mooc but THIS ONE IS EXCEPTIONAL, really at THE TOP ! Thank you Mr WHITE !

автор: Rodrigo O R

Sep 28, 2018

Excellent course, well taught and clear. It's very advisable to have a biology/medicine background. It helped me to watch the lessons with the speed increased by 2x, it made it more dynamical.

The Neuroscience Book 6 Ed you must get in order to profit the most from this course.

Greetings from México City.