Chevron Left
Вернуться к Management of Urban Infrastructures – part 1

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Management of Urban Infrastructures – part 1 от партнера Федеральная политехническая школа Лозанны

4.6
Оценки: 416
92 рецензий

О курсе

Sustainability, Resilience and Efficiency are fundamental considerations for city managers in managing urban infrastructures. Today, more than 3.9 billion people, making up more than 54% of the global population, live in cities. Urbanization is expected to continue in the coming years, raising the urban population to 6.0 billion by 2045. This dramatic increase in urban populations will inevitably increase the demand for energy, mobility (transportation), water, and other urban services in every city around the world. Without functional governance and management structures that ensure efficient, resilient and sustainable performance in cities, the current urbanization growth might become a catastrophic risk threatening the quality of life of the humanity. Sustainable development in 21st century can only be realized by introducing innovations in both management and operations of urban infrastructures systems. Developing management practices that effectively integrates the processes of urban planning with urban infrastructures planning and management is a challenging goal that many cities are struggling with nowadays, but is a must for transforming cities to sustainable and resilient engines of growth in both developing and developed economies. This course will provide you with the basic principles of urban infrastructure management that are fundamental for building prosperous cities that are sustainable, resilient and efficient. In order to obtain a certificate for this course, the participants have to pass four graded quizzes and complete four mandatory assignments, plus a final exam. In addition to the graded assignments students have the option to write a 7-10 page peer-reviewed case study about management of energy OR transportation system in their city (on your own choice). The best case studies will be also evaluated by our jury at IGLUS and the authors of the 3 best case studies will win a full tuition fee waiver scholarship to enroll in the IGLUS professional training program in Spring 2017. You can also pre-enroll in our upcoming MOOC on Smart Cities now. Find our more here: http://iglus.org/smart-cities-mooc/...

Лучшие рецензии

ST

Feb 23, 2017

Very informative, well planed and presented, learned a lot and piqued and interest to continue with part 2. Thank you to the lectures and all that were involved in this course for the hard work.

MB

Nov 06, 2016

An excellent course offered by the institution.I appreciate Profesor Mathias for this wonderful content.I am waiting for the next block of this MOOC. Thanks to the Coursera Team too.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 89 отзывов о курсе Management of Urban Infrastructures – part 1

автор: Nesru H

May 12, 2019

I learnt a lot from this course. It's very engaging. Prof. Matthias teaches in a simple and understandable manner. He is great. I enjoyed the course. Thank you.

автор: Viacheslav B

May 11, 2019

good

автор: Amy B J

May 09, 2019

Very informative. Thank you very much!

автор: Inès A

May 03, 2019

Very good course

автор: Sarath B M G

Mar 23, 2019

This is very good course. Through this course, I'm able to logically connect the problem of city infrastructure and derive sustainable solution of the issues faced by the city. I will strongly recommend to all the urban practitioners.

автор: Olumayowa A

Sep 11, 2018

Great course, learnt a lot on management process.

автор: Wanjiku M

Sep 04, 2018

Excellent. Very granular.

автор: Furdu C

Aug 22, 2018

Very useful and interesting information about how digitalization is implemented in urban infrastructure.

автор: Shaik A H

Jul 08, 2018

Very good

автор: Gundala G n

Jul 08, 2018

Good to learn

автор: Yoann H

Jun 07, 2018

A good overview of urban infrastructures in the world, independently of national contexts. A good start to pursue then with specific features or contexts of urban infrastructures.

автор: Shabbir a

May 24, 2018

one of the toughest :3

автор: Alejandro T

May 12, 2018

Excellent

автор: Jihed M

May 12, 2018

Very interesting course

автор: Daria V

May 07, 2018

Great course. Interesting and material is explained very good.

автор: Carolina P P M

Apr 22, 2018

love it

автор: Mikaela P

Apr 20, 2018

Realy relevant and good course!

автор: Leslie J T

Feb 06, 2018

This was a great course, concise and clear presentation, perfect speed of talking. This will defintely be useful in my future job, thank you !

автор: HAMAYADJI E

Feb 02, 2018

Un excellent cours multilingue !

автор: Dr. N F (

Jan 22, 2018

High level of quality. Scientific approach and the same time easy to understand, what a Manager of Urban Infrastructures must pay attention. Very god quality of videos and used easy to understand words.

EPFL, prof. Matthias Finger and all professors and specialists, succeeded to make this course to be a very good choice for professionals and also for people who just wanted to know by an accredited source, the main points of attention and the way infrastructures must exist, work and interconnect.

This reason I took this course is that I needed to be sure about all operations of a big city, in order to adopt these operations in my case study for emergency management of critical infrastructures, in a case of a physical catastrophe or in a human-made disasters as is a terror attack or a war.

Thank you for this wonderful course.

автор: Rob R

Jan 22, 2018

Topic is interesting, although I would have liked to see a bit more in-depth analysis and focus on practical applications. It felt as if the focus was mostly on the theory, and the questions were generally too simple.

автор: PEREZ J

Dec 22, 2017

Cette première partie est intéressante, merci.

автор: Naeem A S

Dec 22, 2017

First of all the course is well-structured and have briefly yet conclusively highlighted on all the problems associated with urban centers. Also the course sought to address two key components of urban infrastructure (thus energy and transportation) which was very critical. In general it was worth studying the course and I hope future course on urban infrastructure will highlight on equally important sectors such as; waste management and water supply.

автор: Marie R

Dec 03, 2017

C

автор: Ahmad S

Dec 02, 2017

It gave me insight into what it means to have a functional city, and also to appreciate the efforts of the municipal authorities. Indeed, knowledge gained here is indispensable and shall be applied in my desire to see my city become efficient and functional.