Chevron Left
Вернуться к Магия в эпоху Средневековья

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Магия в эпоху Средневековья от партнера Барселонский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 915
Рецензии: 270

О курсе

Magical thought has always attracted human imagination. In this course we will introduce you to the Middle Ages through a wide conception of magic. Students will have an approach to medieval culture, beliefs and practices from the perspective of History and History of Science. Popular magic, as well as learned magic (alchemy, geomancy and necromancy) will be addressed. Moreover, we will also deal with how eastern practices and texts influenced western culture. In July 2016, the course will contain a brand-new module devoted to astrology. Magic in the Middle Ages offers a captivating overview of medieval society and promotes reflection about certain stereotypes associated with this period. At the end of the course, the students: a) will have overcome the usual prejudices about the Middle Ages, b) will be able to analyze historical documentation from the Middle Ages and recognize the most common patterns of juridical documents regarding witchcraft, and c) will be capable of distinguishing between popular magic and the magic of the learned people; will have a notion of which spiritual practices were allowed in medieval Europe and which ones were related to the devil, and will be aware of the link between a cultural product and the society that produced it. This course is taught in English, although subtitles in English, Catalan and Spanish will also be provided. COURSE SYLLABUS Week 1. Introduction to medieval magic (Pau Castell). Week 2. Magic & Heresy (Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel). Week 3. From Magic to Witchcraft (Pau Castell). Week 4. Magic in Islam (Godefroid de Callataÿ and Sébastien Moureau). Week 5. Astrology & Geomancy (Theo Loinaz, Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel, Godefroid de Callataÿ and Blanca Villuendas). © Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany Magic in the Middle Ages by Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License....

Лучшие рецензии

BW

Mar 24, 2018

Helpful and insightful. I try to learn as much about witchcraft and all religions as I can. The first set of videos were well lit and well read. I recommend this for anyone who wants to learn more.

CP

Jul 06, 2017

When i read the title of this course, i could not imagine what it is about. So i took it. It's a great course, with different perspectives and with a really clear language. Thank you!

Фильтр по:

226–250 из 266 отзывов о курсе Магия в эпоху Средневековья

автор: Meaghan F

Jan 10, 2017

It was an interesting course and I enjoyed it, though I was hoping for less information about the church.

автор: Marie S

Mar 26, 2017

3 and a half stars... interesting topic and well presented. A few opportunities to demonstrate learning

автор: Calliope N

Feb 10, 2019

What a great course! It helped me gain a better understanding of that era! Happy learning! :D

автор: Loren E K

Dec 14, 2017

Great class with lots of practical knowledge of how magic came to be and how it was applied.

автор: Juan M R

Nov 26, 2017

Great course, i would like to have reading material uploaded so students can download it.

автор: Rebeca P M

Jul 25, 2017

It is an incredible and very useful course to know the world of magic in the Middle Ages.

автор: Dayna A

Dec 20, 2019

Very interesting subject matter. The material was presented in a clear, concise matter.

автор: María S

Nov 07, 2016

Clear, fast and a perfect introduction for those who are interested in the subject.

автор: Natalia M A

Aug 22, 2016

Un curso magnífico. Sólo señalaría la complejidad del tema del Islam...

автор: Kimber D

Mar 23, 2020

Great course, beginner level. Interesting and thought provoking.

автор: cesarpachon

Feb 06, 2018

i cant grade this course because i dont see the optional videos

автор: Aisha B

Mar 10, 2018

really enjoying this - wish it has more reading material!

автор: Clara

Jan 18, 2018

Really interesting and highly recommended course.

автор: Alessandra

Dec 17, 2017

Great course, the visual aids could be improved

автор: Todd P

Jun 22, 2019

Excellent as an introduction to the subject.

автор: Amina S

Oct 12, 2016

Good course but more room for improvement

автор: Hans V E

Feb 05, 2018

interesting but a bit superficial

автор: Gerardo M P

Mar 27, 2017

I am grateful for take it thanks

автор: Michelle I

Nov 17, 2017

Interesting!

автор: laura b b

Mar 04, 2018

r

автор: Carlos J

Jan 23, 2017

I

автор: Andrea S

Jan 29, 2020

Interesting topics, however, some lessons were far too long to retain esoteric information (particularly if this was a first exposure to the topic e.g. unit 4 in particular). In addition, while the transcripts were helpful, the instructors spoke far too quickly - again, it didn't help retention. Finally, the quizzes tended to ask obscure questions that didn't always match what was described in the lectures (felt discouraging).

автор: Jason B

Jan 29, 2017

Certain aspects of the course could be improved, particularly in the way the material is presented. There could also be more focus on what is important rather than unnecessary etymologies and listing of names which doesn't add to any conceptual understanding. That time could rather be used to go into more depth with some of the practices.

https://evidenceandreason.wordpress.com/2017/01/29/review-magic-in-the-middle-ages/

автор: Jesús A P N

Nov 25, 2019

All information is useful and interesting. Teachers are kind and you can tell they love their field. Unfortunately the videos are too simple; no extra images, important sentences (very few) it´s just the person talking. I had to just read the transcripts in order no to fall asleep.

автор: Pablo S S

Sep 25, 2016

It is a very interesting course, but in the beginning it may seem a bit disorganised and slow. The best part, for me, was the week 4, about magic in Islam. The topic was fascinating and the teachers presented a perfect lecture, a great balance between deep but easy to follow.