Chevron Left
Вернуться к Country Level Economics: Policies, Institutions, and Macroeconomic Performance

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Country Level Economics: Policies, Institutions, and Macroeconomic Performance от партнера Иллинойсский университет в Урбане-Шампейне

4.5
звезд
Оценки: 535
Рецензии: 86

О курсе

This course examines macroeconomic performance in the short run and the long run based on the economy’s institutional and policy environment. The first module develops a model of macroeconomy in the short run when the price level has its own momentum and does not respond much to supply and demand forces. The model enables one to see how GDP, interest rate, and exchange rate are determined in the short run and how they respond to macroeconomic shocks and policies. The second module starts the analysis of long-run equilibrium by examining the foreign exchange market. It then connects the long-run outcome with expectations about the future trends in the exchange rate at each moment, which constitute a key driver of the spot exchange rate in the short run. The methodology developed for this purpose can be applied to expectations concerning other macroeconomic variables as well. Finally, the long-run foreign exchange model is employed to derive a number of important lessons for the long run trends in currency values and competitiveness of producers in various countries. The third module examines the drivers of aggregate output in the long run and the mechanisms of adjustment from the short run to the long run. The model provides insights about why some countries are much richer than others and why some economies grow faster than others over decades. The analysis also sheds light on why inflation varies across countries or over time in the same country. The model is employed to analyze the sources of macroeconomic instability and the roles of fiscal and monetary policies in stabilization or destabilization of the macroeconomy. The final module discusses the characteristics of desirable macroeconomic policies and the reasons why actual policies deviate from them. It connects these deviations to country characteristics that one needs to take into account when assessing a country’s long-term macroeconomic environment. The module ends with a discussion of the institutional conditions that help bring about better fiscal and monetary policies. At the end of this course, you will be able to: • Understand how the market for aggregate goods and services interacts with the money market to shape the macroeconomic equilibrium that determines income, interest rate, and exchange rate in the short run. • Understand the links between the short-run and long-run processes. • Assess the dynamic effects of macroeconomic policies and understand the roles of globalization, government policies, institutions, and expectations in macroeconomic outcomes. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Лучшие рецензии

AC

Aug 27, 2020

Fantastic course. Highly recommended if you want to dive into Macroeconomic, policies and how institutions behave under certain shocks. Not a trivial course, but very interesting.

TP

Aug 05, 2020

After doing this course,I have learnt about many things like policies,institutions etc.All of this help me in real life & studies.Thank You sir for giving me that oppurtunity.

Фильтр по:

76–85 из 85 отзывов о курсе Country Level Economics: Policies, Institutions, and Macroeconomic Performance

автор: Romain V

Oct 07, 2016

Interesting course which goes one level dee

автор: KIRK H

Jan 03, 2020

The Instructor is monotone in delivery.

автор: Chris M

Jul 07, 2018

Better than the previous

автор: ANAKHA T R

May 25, 2020

USEFUL

автор: Andras I

Dec 16, 2019

I was looking forward to this course as the next step in the Managerial Economics. Little did I expect that after the brilliant Microeconomics (Firm Level Economics) course it will become such a chore to get through.

There are multiple issues with this course:

1, The presentation style: whereas in most courses you get to engage with the presenter, here there is too much screen time for not well edited, overly verbose slides that just get read out by the Professor. So it's a double distraction...you just keep staring at the same text as he mumbles on. I put it to 1.5x speed just to get through faster (and I'm taking notes on paper, still not too fast)

2, The material is not very well structured: in the first lesson I thought, we have a lot of definitions to get through...but it just keeps going like a huge, growing list of unstructured "stuff" the whole time. There is no weighting of higher level concepts, just a flood of information. Maybe also doesn't help that the videos are longer than the usual Coursera lesson(18-20 minutes vs 6-7 minutes) without much rhythm to them. So I just ended up watching a week's videos then from the notes tried to piece it together into a cohesive point.

3, Narrow minded look: I'm also not sure if forcing the Keynesian thinking all across the course in such tedious detail (and wasting time on useless, incoherent views about politics affecting economics) is more useful than mentioning other alternatives like the AD/AS model, neoclassical model, Money View (great course on Coursera, highly recommended!) or just in general open up from the dogma and try to make sure students understand that they're all modeling the same economic reality with different tools.

The good:

The quizes make you think and force some usage of the otherwise dry material.

The assigments are not bad but a bit on the simple side but unfortunately on Coursera longer submissions cannot be expected to be properly reviewed anyways.

Unless you really have to (as specialisation or iMBA requirement), I wouldn't recommend taking this course, you're better off reading a book (Theory and Applications of Macroeconomics or the OPENSTAX books - both free) or watch the (free) Khan Academy course, while they cover the same material (and more), they're much more engaging.

This was the hardest course for me to follow (not the content, the format) until I put it on hold and learned the material from other sources to come back and finish.

Although I really like Coursera and the format/content it offers, this one I cannot recommend. Such a shame...

автор: Yingxiu C

Aug 23, 2020

After watching all videos, still can't finish the quiz without extra internet search for more knowledge. This is not an introductory course and would be a barrier for those with litter or no economic background. Week 3 is particularly difficult because what was asked required you to know not just the instructor said but also know the implicit message, i.e. those unsaid.

Video sound is really low. I usually need to turn to 50-60 in volume while for all other videos in Coursera, it's around 10.

автор: Michael R

Jul 25, 2020

The content does not match the quizzes. On the quizzes, there are new concepts. The professor could be more enthusiastic. Focus more on the foundations and big concepts rather than jumping to equations.

автор: mohyeldin r

Jul 05, 2019

Awful instructor with zero ability to explain even the easiest subject.

автор: Rohit M

Jul 24, 2020

Worst instructor on Coursera platform.

автор: Alaa E

Jul 09, 2018

Very poor