Chevron Left
Вернуться к Научитесь учиться: мощные умственные инструменты, которые помогут вам овладеть сложными предметами

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Научитесь учиться: мощные умственные инструменты, которые помогут вам овладеть сложными предметами от партнера Университет Макмастер

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 65,961
Рецензии: 18,695

О курсе

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

Лучшие рецензии

JR

Oct 23, 2017

This Course Is awesome it gave me a new look on how my brain works and that i should actually take breaks which is probably why i get frustrated. I am Excited to Put what i have learned into practice.

RB

Mar 14, 2018

this course is great! I actually already know some of these Technics and concepts before i went into this course but this course did such a great job of explaining it the now it really sticks with me.

Фильтр по:

426–450 из 10,000 отзывов о курсе Научитесь учиться: мощные умственные инструменты, которые помогут вам овладеть сложными предметами

автор: Pablo G P B

Apr 10, 2019

It took me way longer than I wanted but I finally completed the course. I had for a long time been interested in improving the way I learn new subjects, specifically abstract ones and was never really satisfied with my performance so I continuously try to find way to improve my process for learning.

This course although really light in terms of the complexity of the ideas captures most of the recurring ideas around how to learn better, diffused vs focused mode, spaced repetition, retrieval practice, active learning, how to deal with procrastination, etc. Although I'm a professional procrastinator, I'm also the proof that these techniques work ;) ... even I can finish this course.

автор: Imran K

Jan 11, 2017

How interactive and amazing course is this!!!! i am completely astonish there materials and presentation deliberate process also video edit. It was mind blowing course.This course give me much more than my expectation. why i give 5 star, why not!? if it is possible to rate more than 5 , definitely i give them best. I highly recommend everyone , do not waste your time to learn applying ineffective process. Learn Best tips and technique from this course. I want to mention one of the important point in this course that ,this course's mentor and fellow learner are always active for answering your all questions. And also give thanks to coursera because they make this great platform.

автор: Margarita L

Jan 28, 2016

I really enjoyed the course - it was helpful to review the basics of the best ways to learn. The most helpful was the the lecture about procrastination: tips on overcoming the negative feelings when starting learning activity (I realized in fact that it applies also for any other task that one is required to work on) and the expression 'eat your frogs first in the morning' motivates to concentrate on the most 'annoying' tasks first.

I appreciate the course structure, length of the videos, and the friendly and casual attitude of the course instructors Barb Oakley and Terry Sejnowski.

The complementary optional interviews are also a great source for motivation and inspiration.

автор: Robert S

Apr 12, 2018

I highly recommend this course for anyone looking to better themselves in any way. For people looking to broaden their horizons in a new subject. For people struggling with internal issues, be it anxiety, tension, emotional pain. This course presents you with tools that you need to live a more curious and fulfilling life. You'll hear from experts across all walks of life about how they deal with issues you thought only you dealt with. You'll leave the course with a new inner strength and all sorts of new ideas for your life. I encourage you to explore the optional material and read what interests you. It adds a lot of new dimension to the material, as well as reinforces it.

автор: Russell Y

Dec 23, 2015

I saw this course recommended by a commenter on hacker news. It is really an amazing course. Because I've read a lot about the topic previously, most of the ideas were not new to me, but some definitely were, and the presentation just explained everything extremely concisely and linked everything together brilliantly. It had one great idea after another after another, with lots of information packed tightly in a small space (moreso since I watched it at 2x with closed captions). I got a lot out of this and took a bunch of notes, and am eager to try many ideas in practice, especially the ones having to do with procrastination, product/process, and the reward step for habits.

автор: christy.zhangy

Oct 28, 2017

This is a great course which full of information and applicable techniques for daily life. I used to use pomodora for some time but couldn't stick to it as a usual technique helping me to focus. But after taking this course, I changed my mind and I think this is really want I need. I used it for a week and surprisingly, I was more efficient on my work. Also I realized there are so many areas I can improve in terms of time management. It's so hard for me to reach 10 pomodoras per day which is just 5 hours of working time. If I can truly focus for 4 hours/ 8 pomodoras, I think I can have plenty of my own time working on something that I have been trying to do in a long time.

автор: Jorge L H R

Aug 25, 2016

At least on my country, formal training on learning how to learn is often omitted on basic education programs. However, on higher education it is expected to have this skill already developed. Learning techniques are then, self discovered or transmitted by word of mouth. As a result, a mix of myths, fallacies, and actual useful and correct techniques are assimilated. Habits and attitudes are developed based on those premises. Some of this habits are positive others plainly negative.

Having this course for validating or correcting our own skills and attitudes to learning based on scientifically validated techniques is very valuable. Thanks to the authors for sharing it.

автор: Tamzid I M

May 10, 2020

This is the first Coursera course that I have seriously spent time on. Many of the concepts discussed here may seem familiar, as many of us have figured (many of them) out through our own experience with learning. However, the great thing about this course is, it helps to put all those learning tricks together in a place of your brain (form a chunk !) and binds them together with logic and without a doubt makes you a better learner. I would recommend you to revisit the course materials from time to time even after you complete so that you don't forget them over time. Thanks to everyone who helped to put together this course. Special thanks to Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski.

автор: Khotoveli E

May 06, 2020

Thank you so much for this course! It meant a lot for me to find it in the first place. Now I can effectively improve my way of thinking and more importantly, my life. After I've finally grasped the concept of learning and memory I feel more confident to follow my interests and learn new skills since I have such practical and clear methods! I will highly recommend this course to all my friends and share with them my knowledge and insights. You've really changed my life, now I know - I can achieve anything by practice, consistency, interleaving, and perseverance. And believing in myself of course! Because by changing my thoughts I can change my life. And I definitely will!

автор: Anastasiia K

May 14, 2020

With passing this course I finally acquired many useful and interesting tools for better learning especially when, taking to account, currently my studying is in free mode and honestly, it's not the easiest way to keep your attention and be always focusing on subject without necessity of being checked. Now with gained knowledge I'm able to concentrate on the process (by the way, the process of passing this course was also very enjoyable, thanks to great teachers) of studying and get fun with it even without permanent thinking about product. It's always important to improve your brain tool for efficient process of gathering and richer harvest. Highly recommended to pass!

автор: Andrei W

Jun 18, 2018

A YouTuber called call Thomas Frank actually mention this course in his video and I thought I would check it out. From the past 4 weeks, I'm glad I have a broad perspective of learning. Dealing with procrastination with the technique of extreme 25 minute focus. Not much student don't how to actually deal with procrastination and I'm glad I was taught the solution. Especially when reviewing! Doing a mini test when reviewing is the most important then doing a 1 hour study session and taking breaks is also important as well. Thank you Barbara and Terry for teaching me how to learn more effectively. With this knowledge and new skill I can now say I can start senior prepared.

автор: Kelechi

May 13, 2020

Hello, I highly recommend this course. The teachers, Barbara Oakley and Terrence Sejnowski structure their lessons into manageable chunks so that you can make the most out of each video. As well, they explain the material in a way that is easy to understand. I believe that this course will be helpful to you if you are learning, but the most important thing to remember is that no matter how well you do in this course, you will not gain the benefits if you do not practice the important concepts like chunking, focus modes, diffused modes, and the mind palace that help improve and better your learning. This has been Kelechi Osuchukwu and Thank you for learning how to learn.

автор: Gerstenberger

Apr 16, 2018

There are some points in this course that are awkward toward the beginning, yet all of them revolve around the the Dr's seeming to be nervous in front of the camera. I know I would not do any better☺

I do not say the above to be a jerk, simply to make people aware. I have recommend this course to many people and each time I do not preface above I get people coming back to make sure they are taking the correct course.

I truly feel this is the most important course anyone can take at any point in their lives. I have gone through it three times now just for refreshers. Best course I have ever taken, and best of all it cost me nothing but time. Well worth the exchange.

автор: Holly D

Sep 27, 2016

This course is a very good introduction to the science of the mind and how we can harness it for all it's worth. I'd recommend this course to anyone, especially someone taking an online class for the first time. Don't let the (beautiful) simplicity of the presentation fool you. Engage with what you are being taught in this course and you will never look at learning the same way.

I found the module on habits and procrastination /particularly/ interesting.

Thank you to all the people who made this course what it is, especially Barbara. I might even take it again some time for a refresher, when I have more time to spend on the forums and extra material provided.

Regards,

Holly

автор: Nadav

Apr 09, 2020

Every Course in my life I was stress, I knew what will happen I will study hard but not like the other pupils I will fail I will be frustrated,angry, and disappointed, Sometimes I would consider not go to a course even if it will hurt my promotion at work or etc'.. just because I was so afraid of failure.

Iv'e learn so many new things and methods I cant wait to my next course or tests to try this new skill.

the thing is that I very like to learn new things and to study but would prefer to do it by myself and not in a class but now I'm so happy because I feel like I have the tools to study better, more efficient and to understand why I have always been a mediocre student.

автор: C S

Jan 06, 2017

This is a great course for many people. It is easy, flexible and promises to either suggest great tools and methods for learning or at the very least inform you of why the methods you use work as well as they do. This is a great course for both learners and teachers as it can help in structuring learning and teaching sessions to maximise information retention and the likes.

Further to that the tools for learning mentioned in this course are great and are backed by relevant research. This is a great course to do and if you're starting with MOOCs I would suggest this as one of the first courses to take. Thanks Barbara, Mr T and the crew. This was an enjoyable experience.

автор: Colin R

Jan 03, 2020

Very valuable, this course is a must. I now realise as a programmer I was getting myself so stressed because I was using only the focused mode of thinking, I needed to always have one eye on the bigger picture and use the diffused mode of thinking a lot more to make sure my assumptions were correct and I was generally on the correct path.

Another big take away for me was chunking and recalling what you've learned. Also the pomodoro technique to overcome procrastination. Process over product is one key takeaway, it's better to have a consistent approach rather than have the finished product in mind when you're working on something.

Thank you for an amazing course!

автор: Christos N

Jun 03, 2017

Maybe the best lesson of my life, the Mother of all lessons! The one lesson where theory and practice happen simultaneously, as the lesson is also easy to learn (if it was hard to learn it would be self-contradictory, but certainly not! A most user-friendly lesson, and two adorable and excellent professors :) ) Reminded me of: "“Muad'Dib learned rapidly because his first training was in how to learn. And the first lesson of all was the basic trust that he could learn. It's shocking to find how many people do not believe they can learn, and how many more believe learning to be difficult. Muad'Dib knew that every experience carries its lesson.” ― Frank Herbert, Dune"

автор: Muhammad S

Jul 07, 2020

I simply loved this course! It not only made me realize a lot of the things I was already incorporating in my studying, but helped me pick and sort the effective techniques whilst introducing others. The course also features optional interviews which can help get insight into learning certain subject areas from renowned experts. I also loved how interactive each video is, with a small quiz or short que at the end of many of them. Dr. Barbara really knows how to draw the audience’s attention and I found myself wanting to learn more at every point. Thanks to Barbara Oakley and Terrence Sejnowski for this wonderful course on learning how to learn. Cheers :))

автор: Chinmaya K M

Mar 31, 2020

Hi, To everybody who is reading this. I am from India and I take this course during the time of march 2020. I really really enjoy the course material and the content. As a student, You should take this because it will answer your query with reasoning. How much it is important to exercise for learning? How to approach a test? How to handle pre-exam stress and a lot more? Some concept is fresh for me. I bet you you will not waste your time by completing this awesome course. It should be studied in an Indian school. Some point to our Instructors. The course material delivering can be more fun through animation and more example. Lastly, Thanks for learning how to learn

автор: Mary K M

Jul 19, 2017

This course was fantastic - well-paced, encouraging, and stimulating! I liked that I could engage at the level that time and other endeavors permitted me, and I had several takeaways that I am already putting to use. I mean, I just used the word einstellung in the context of my work with my boss - it's great! Learning How to Learn is the first MOOC that I ever finished, and it inspired me to pursue other learning opportunities that pique my interest, regardless of their direct correlation to my job, my current skillset and 'innate' abilities. I'm definitely going to stop counting myself due to age or talent - anything is possible if you set yourself up for success!

автор: Ann R

Aug 12, 2020

I found so much helpful advice in this course. I just wish I had this when course when I went back to school to get my Library Technician Diploma. I definitely would have benefited from all the tips and techniques given in this course. For example how to get over the imposter syndrome and procrastination. I have used the pomodoro method to get over my procrastination. I also like the interviews with Dr. Richard Felder and Dr. Rebecca Brent. They gave my great ideas on how to get over my test taking anxiety. I have thoroughly enjoyed taking this course and would recommend it to anyone who is having trouble with learning new subjects especially later in life.

автор: Aryan R

Jun 06, 2020

This course delivers on what it promises, a clear and concise instruction on how to get better at learning. A lot of these concepts seem like common sense but unfortunately they are not common in practice which should be the goal of all that have taken this course and what they should do in the future. Furthermore, some concepts like the Einstellung effect or the Memory Palace do not seem useful and seem contradictory BUT they are SOO NOT! I used the memory palace technique with my own room and I remembered a really long list of things, I was amazed. What we need is humility and curiosity when viewing this course and apply these techniques without shame or doubt!

автор: Christian P

Jun 03, 2020

I haven't written a review for a product/service good or bad in around 8 years cause of my ADHD, but this course is so important that I have to go through temporary pain to tell you guys this. take this course. It will change everything. Just make sure you write down everything you learn and study it. That's the most important tip. Every week is just as important as the first. You will regret not sticking through the entire course. It even gives you some important life advice. Anyone is capable of achieving what they want, and this course will show you why and how. This course is the type of stuff you learn and say "Dang, I can't wait to pass this on to my kids."

автор: Eugen G

Feb 04, 2020

It is a good idea to go through this course before other topics

Coming back to the material and continuing can be tough sometimes but it's worth the effort because the concepts can help in other areas as well (such as handling complex tasks)

The quizzes can cause some anxiety (it's a test...) but the questions selected and the way the answers are written will help fixing the most important ideas so they are very helpful in the end, also proving one of the concepts (that self tests are great for learning)

I felt the need to go over some parts of the material several times (using the notes) which means that times allocated for the course did not match the estimations.