Chevron Left
Вернуться к Научитесь учиться: мощные умственные инструменты, которые помогут вам овладеть сложными предметами

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Научитесь учиться: мощные умственные инструменты, которые помогут вам овладеть сложными предметами от партнера Университет Макмастер

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 51,604
Рецензии: 14,281

О курсе

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

Лучшие рецензии

RS

Sep 07, 2015

I am a more effective learner as a result of this course. It has also, surprisingly, increased my enjoyment while learning. Thanks to Barbara and Terry for a well presented and informative production.

MI

Oct 03, 2015

This is an amazing class. It makes my professional life easy as well as my personal life. Everybody should take this class, and also the teachers are brilliant about all subjects that we see in class.

Фильтр по:

251–275 из 10,000 отзывов о курсе Научитесь учиться: мощные умственные инструменты, которые помогут вам овладеть сложными предметами

автор: Morgen C

Feb 22, 2018

Not only did this course give me very practical strategies to more effectively learn as an adult (rather than beating my head against a wall), but it gave me new insights into brain development and learning strategies for my classrooms of younger students.

Barbara is an incredibly engaging speaker who breaks down concepts into easily processed segments...of course, for a scholar who dedicates herself to learning about learning, she is very easy to learn from! Terry is one of the most renowned neuroscientists in the world but surprisingly manages to translate his research into layman's terms without losing his enthusiasm.

I wouldn't mind retaking this course annually to brush up on the scientific research and dig more thoroughly into the supplemental materials!

автор: Arda B

Jun 06, 2017

This course was my first course on Coursera and a fantastic way to start my new learning journey. As someone who recently finished my undergrad I wish I had taken this class earlier in my academic career. The clear connection between brain science and learning techniques truly illuminated for myself the flaws in my learning practices. However, the information also confirmed for me the strategies I was doing right in my learning and helped grow confidence in my learning style. I know the strategies i've learned in this course will help me learn the new skills I need to achieve personal growth and advance my career. Thank you Barbara Oakley for your enthusiasm and wonderful lectures, I looking forward to utilizing this knowledge for life-long learning.

-Arda

автор: Petar S M

Feb 10, 2018

I though at first that the 1st week sounded a tad bit too logical to even bother explaining in the first place but I realised later that it was more than necessary in order to understand the material of the upcoming weeks. The only real, but minor issue I had with with this course was the static noise from the speaker's microphone and at some other times it either popped or it was a tad quiet, forcing me to max out the volume slider to 100% so I can hear what she is talking about.

Other than that, this was an amazing course and I highly recommend it to people who want to change their perception of learning as a whole but they lack the foundations or people to fill them in. This course did exactly in a very nice and friendly way, especially with the tests.

автор: Najib H

Dec 27, 2016

This is one of the best online-course ever!!!! Why? The learning process is something that nobody can escapes: from passing school exams, driving lesson, learn to cook for your family, evolve in your career, ... in this fast world, the on-going learning process is a must have skills to succeed in this high competitive and ever changing society. This wonderful and motivating course, help me to gain in confidence regarding my learning process and it helps me a lot to win time by finding the right system = to improve my learning. Their awesome sharing technics, priceless advices and real life situation (interviews) turn this course into a must have class to follow. Thank you a million for helping me to improve my journey and knowledge!!!! Flawless 5 Star!!!

автор: Dana S

Aug 23, 2015

This course rocks!

You are thought many different learning techniques and get to know how your brain works in a simple way without too much background information. It's just the right amount of input to get a feeling for it. You can apply this knowledge to every kind of subject. The short videos are easy to persuade yourself to get started. Once started you want to see another one! The lecturers have prepared their videos perfectly and after some videos you feel a little bit connected to them. They are able to do the seemingly unmakeable: Keep you motivated! If I feel myself unmotivated to study for my exam, first of all I watch one of these video sequences and promptly I am motivated again.

Thanks a lot for putting this course online!

I love your work.

автор: bea b

Sep 22, 2019

I entirely enjoyed 'Learning how to learn'. It has given me insights and skills I had not imagined helpful. It has also shown me that in life we all face hardships of not dissimilar challenges and it depends on us to decipher the do's and don'ts for us to move on and do better the next time or get something going for good or even change something profoundly important in our lives.

I loved the short lessons that I could listen to or read in my own time and I loved Barbara Oakley's soft voice explaining the subject in such detail and very often with metaphors. The quizzes after each lesson were set with a sense of humour and this made the whole thing actual fun.

I would thoroughly recommend this course to anyone. Thank you 'Learning How to Learn'!

автор: rekha u n

Jan 22, 2017

I am Rekha from Indonesia. During this session I learnt so many things which I was not aware of. For example our brain has two modes of learning focus and diffuse modes, about procrastinating, that it is when we skip some problems when we feel it hard , about rereading, that it is not the correct way of learning. Recall the understangs, deliberatly practicing and repetitions are the correct way to learn and memorize. Chunking was so new to me. I never heard about it. The course was little difficult for me. However, I finished it successfully. I am happy that I got opportunity to improve and enhance my knowledge regarding how to learn. Thank you so much.

автор: Thoi M

Jan 10, 2020

When completing this course, I've realized how procrastinated I am.

My friend had recommended this course for me since my 1st college year, but I've actually accomplished this course at MY LAST YEAR COLLEGE by using the tactics and techniques, which I've learned along the way this course, to keep myself engaged and interested in learning how to learn, and it eventually worked.

The solid evidence more than anything here is the completed informs from Coursera and I decide to write the review for this course to inform people, who are trying to find out the techniques to learn more effectively and productively, this course is definitely the great start.

Using 1 POMODORO (25 MINUTES TIMMER) to start learning the very first lessons.

STOP PROCRASTINATING.

автор: Eleni P

May 01, 2018

I never forgot this course! I first enrolled in 2014, got halfway through and did not complete it. I returned to finish it up – to review what I learned and to "learn the rest" – in early April 2018. I had purchased the book "A Mind for Numbers" and read it back in 2014. The book is awesome but taking the class and doing the exercises online plus submitting the assignments really reinforced my learning of the key concepts and gave me a start for where to dig deeper. Redoing this class from start to finish (and not simply picking up where I left off) has armed me to face my new challenges. The class is set up in such a way that you can follow it from most anywhere and can do the assignments at your convenience. It is well worth the time spent on it.

автор: Valerio C

Dec 17, 2018

This is a very interesting course. I've gained a better understanding on the the learning process, how the brain works on keeping the information, what are the most common errors or obstacle on learning something new and some useful habit or tricks to learn in a more fruitful fashion. I've really appreciate the competence and teach style of the two teachers which I'd like to thank for their work. I strongly recommend this course, especially for students in high school and University because it contains helpful information on how to be more proficient in text or exams. The course could seem less apt for workers and employees, but for someone who wants to get better in what he does and fails on regular basis, this should be a great starting point.

автор: Emily A B

Feb 05, 2018

Learn to learn has-been the best course I've ever taken ! I want to thank Dr. Barbara for her warm delivery. She made the atmosphere safe for me to learn although she was on my computer. I found myself looking forward to coming home from work so I could be with my new friend, Dr. Oakley. I've been using both Pomodoros: one at work and one at home. My Memory Palace is set with 63 places in which I can place something I want to remember. I'm so excited to use this daily. Although, I haven't mastered everything, I remind myself that I'm forming a habit and there will be days like this and I shouldn't beat myself up when I don't do this well. I'm much kinder to myself as I focus on the process. It's been quite a learning experience. Thank you!!!!!

автор: Maxim M

Jun 17, 2018

It's a skill for life and if you think it's a little late in your game of study, you can always recommend it to your friends, kids, or even your grandma. BTW am 43 y.o. and excited that I have came across this course. To set the right expectations for this class or any other classes, you don't count on the results of getting 100% of new and essential knowledge every single time. Depending on your background it will be a ratio what you already know and what you don't know. You just have to take with you what fits you and filter out the rest if you want. Thank you Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski for this course! I already register for the next one with Dr. Oakley "Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential"Max

автор: Stanly C

Oct 27, 2017

Upto my secondary education, I was totally blind this subject "How to learn". In my college, through reading psychological books, i used many of the tactics explained in this course. Since I'm an enthusiast in almost any subject, this fantastic, systematic and result oriented course "Learning How to Learn" reveal new horizons to learn more and more to me.

The day one I joined this course, I ordered "A Mind for Numbers - How to Excel at Math and Science" in Amazon.in, received it on last week. I started reading eager to finish within this week.

Special thanks to both brains worked behind this course - Dr. Barbara Oakley & Dr. Terrence Sejnowski.

Personally recommends to every person who wish to learn new things and achieve new goals in life.

автор: Adriana R

Mar 22, 2016

¡¡¡Me encantó el curso!!!

El contenido es claro, actual y pertinente; y la calidad de los videos es muy buena. Las exposiciones de la Doctora Bárbara son excelentes y divertidas, lo cual favorece el aprendizaje. Lo más relevante para mí fue entender el por qué de la procrastinación y cómo evitarla, ya que por años había estado postergando el estudio del inglés y no entendía el por qué de mi rechazo a este idioma. Desde que inicié el curso estoy aplicando la técnica del Pomodoro y estoy feliz porque la sensación de frustración que sentía cada vez que pensaba en que tenía "una tarea pendiente" se ha ido diluyendo conforme pasan los días.

Muchas gracias a los Doctores por compartir tan preciado tesoro y "Gracias Totales" al equipo de COURSERA.

автор: Donna T

Oct 02, 2016

A must for anyone wanting to tweak their learning strategies and understand what really works. Valuable regardless of what you are studying - and fascinating too.

You really feel how much Barb (the main presenter and course creator) cares both about learning and the students! I think it is quite impressive for that to come across in a MOOC.

I have been recommending this course and sharing information from it to many colleagues and also using it to help support my daughter with her studies (I can't guarantee all teens will respond so well to saying 'it is scientifically proven that this is the best way to do it' as a way to change their study approach, but it works for her!). Thank you to everyone involved in putting together this course.

автор: Joanna B

Sep 10, 2017

Very helpful in refreashing and organizing my knowledge about learning. The course is conducted very well, it's quite easy and fun to watch, the informations are approprietly condensed (no unnecessary small talks or prolonged introductions) and we have multiple, not that difficult recall tests. I've learned quite a lot new things; and the broad range of additional reading and video material is very interesting! I like the fact that informations on which the course is based on, are really up-to-date. And last but not least, I grow really fond of dr. Barbara Oakley - walking, talking, ideal teacher for me, I won't even start making here a list the virtues she represents here. Thank you very much for your work, chapeau bas!

автор: Waitatiri

May 04, 2019

I have always been interested in learning and teaching, I think it's a very powerful ability of a human being. I am a teacher and a learner, so I took this course because I wanted to understand more about learning so I can also teach better. I do not regret my decision. I even am thankful that I stumbled upon this course on Coursera. The materials explained are to-the-point and helpful! Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski successfully explain the materials very well that I can understand everything, including the very scientific ones. Also, they deliver the materials with calming voices and smiles! I really recommend this course and I am planning to share about what I learned here to my colleagues. Thank you!

автор: Sai C A

Dec 18, 2018

The world needs more Barbara Oakleys. Fantastic course and definitely a recommendation to anyone interested in taking any courses online. The material was amazing and wholesome enough to achieve the purpose, and Mrs Barbara's teaching style, passion and her enthusiasm moved my heart. I'm changed in the way I view learning now and I feel more ready to approach it. Her efforts in compiling this comprehensive information and additional interviews and reading/video materials were just too good. Dr Terrence was amazing and I loved everything he had to say, both together we're able to take a wholesome approach to tackling so many issues. Thank you so much for your efforts, I bet there are too many that feel the same as I do.

автор: Jennine

Jun 22, 2019

I am beyond grateful to get to learn Learning How to Learn. It has totally changed my approach towards learning. The course has given me the opportunity to revise my learning method, to know what i might have been doing wrong, to know what and how i can do better from now onwards, to know why i always procastinate, to also trust my belief system that progress takes patience, to be mindful and aware of the actions i take and the emotions i choose. I love the additional videos interviews that comes along at the end of every week's lessons. The interviews often gives me many AH-HA moments and inspirations which left me to many self-reflections. Thank you very much. You have made a person better and happier than yesterday.

автор: Michael F d C

Oct 23, 2016

A very insightful course. The simplicity of the material covered might inspire some to quickly abandon this course on the grounds of "common sense", but I would recommend to these individuals that although the concepts and techniques are easy to grasp and execute, they are nonetheless powerful, and worth investing some time to understanding why they work and how to use them in your own educational endeavors.

This course offers students a digestible collection of concepts and tools to tackle those ubiquitous evils which students are all too aware of: self-doubt and procrastination. If you are looking to take a first step in conquering these internal demons, I would recommend this course as the first step in your journey.

автор: Enrico G

Feb 28, 2019

This course is 100% useful to improve or add or change your learning methods. The course structure is clear and step by step every milestone aquired, is always recalled by some test so that it is more easy to memorize...in the "long term memory" :-D

Every concept is explained in a simple and flowing way, even when it goes a little bit deeper in a matter.

Personally, i already knew about some of these ones, but i have realized that until now i did not use them almost ever; so the point is that recalling them through this course make an huge impact on you to start try them and then effectively start to use them. And since when you start to use them you will learn and memorize more easily and in depth.

Kind regards.

Enrico

автор: Oleksandr S

Aug 29, 2016

Every one of us finished school, probably a higher school, some courses, so we all are well sure that we know how to learn. So I did not expect much from this course.

So I was very surprised how well it turned out to be. It explains reasons and mechanisms behind our well-known way of learning, so some boring or irritating things like rehearsal, or tests in the middle of a class start making sense.

I think, I became a better doer after this course. It teaches how to avoid procrastination, how to make skills and knowledge stick, and how to master things you never consider as masterable.

Also, organizers have one or two nice tricks up their sleeves to make you pass the course even if you want to slack on the last moment.

автор: Peter S

Mar 27, 2020

I wish I'd known this much about how to learn effectively earlier in my life. Just think how much more I'd know right now! This course is a real eye-opener. Learning new stuff will never be a problem ever again! Barbara Oakley is so enthusiastic and makes everything so simple, that she sweeps you up with her enthusiasm. The process of learning becomes a fascinating subject in itself. I couldn't recommend this course too highly. It's been a real pleasure. But not just pleasurable. I've come away with learning insights and techniques that will help me to increase my capacity for future learning, that in turn will hopefully make me a more rounded individual. And, at my age, what could be a better ambition than that?

автор: Aamad A

Jun 17, 2018

Honestly, I never write reviews and i'm not some bot that also tells people that, "I never write reviews." But god damn, this course was awesome. Partially biased opinion because this was my 1st Coursera course, but I took it very seriously and tried to learn as best as I could. The lessons and insights that were shared in this course are remarkable for someone that is passionate about learning. I enjoyed the videos, the interviews, and the additional readings. The course offered tons and tons of material and resources to further educate your learning abilities. This is a great course for anyone that takes a passion in learning, trying to become the best version of themselves, and values productivity of your time.

автор: dboskma

Nov 05, 2016

I wish I could have done this course when I just started secondary school. Because I'm relatively intelligent I had no trouble in secondary school, I just didn't bother with homework, but I could have really made it all even easier on myself had I had the information that i learned in this course. Now I am doing some marketing courses and when I just started doing them I was struggling. Then I ran into this course, figured it couldn't hurt and since my marketing courses have become so much easier to learn. No cramming, but pomodoro's. Learned how to deal with procrastination and all kinds of stuff. I have actually told most of my friend to go do this course as I think it is that awesome! So highly recommended!