Chevron Left
Вернуться к A Law Student's Toolkit

Отзывы учащихся о курсе A Law Student's Toolkit от партнера Йельский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,162
Рецензии: 333

О курсе

Whether you are an advanced law student looking to review the basics, or an aspiring law student looking for head start, this course will help you build the foundation you will need to succeed in law school and beyond. This course will introduce you to terminology, concepts, and tools lawyers and legal academics use to make their arguments. It will help you follow these arguments—and make arguments of your own. This course consists of a series of short lectures and assignments. A reading list complements each lesson, providing you with a roadmap to help you explore the subject matter more deeply on your own. Although the lessons may cross-reference each other, they are modular in nature: you should feel free to approach them in whatever order fits your schedule, interests, and needs....

Лучшие рецензии

HK
28 мар. 2016 г.

I enjoyed this course but you really need to have some legal background to get the most out of it. The assignments were worth the time they took and I learned a lot trying to grade my fellow students.

BB
24 мая 2020 г.

A challenging and insightful course. The only downside is that it had to end. Excellent professor with engaging videos, in-depth analysis, peer graded assignments and just a good overall course.

Фильтр по:

276–300 из 326 отзывов о курсе A Law Student's Toolkit

автор: Nuria L G

19 сент. 2016 г.

The course presents interesting topics about law in a concise way and invites reflection. My background in law was quite limited and even though I struggled to understand everything the first week, I now comprehend the principles of common law and have the right tools to approach legal decisions. Doing this course has been a very enriching experience for me because not only have I learned more about key concepts in law, but I have also improved my way of writing and summarizing information.

автор: Beatriz H

27 янв. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed this course! The professor is extremely well spoken and engaging and makes easily understandable analogies to picture what he's saying. My only criticism is that some assingments didn't have clear questions, which made my ( a seventeen year old with English as a second language ) understanding of said assignments a bit confusing. Other than that, I recommend this course to anyone who's starting law school or is interested in the topic!

автор: Joseph H

22 мая 2020 г.

An excellent introduction to legal thinking, with concise lectures and a well curated (and extensive!) reading list. I have a learned a lot from this course. My only criticism is that some assignments were not clearly described and, similarly, the purpose of prescribed reading material wasn't always explained/it wasn't always clear what part of provided documents needed to be read.

All in all though, I would highly recommend this course.

автор: Tommy V

29 янв. 2019 г.

The course does a pretty good job on giving a primer in legal concepts that may be useful if you consider following a law degree, or just if you are interest in law. The chunks are so that they tackle one or a coherent set of concepts in 10 to 15 minutes, which is ideal to study it in between other activities you may have.

автор: Konstantinos A

2 окт. 2019 г.

Very interesting and well structured course. Its content undoubtedly cannot be found in every Law school. However, every person willing to enroll in this course must keep in mind that this particular course focuses primarily on American law and thus many a thing may be inapplicable to their homeland's special law.

автор: alex s

25 янв. 2016 г.

Okay class. Could deal more with terminology, how to break down a case to read it and obtain information. How to's of it all. From getting the case on my desk, breaking into segments, how to make a claim and finding laws to support it. What is a theory versus what is a developed idea.

Thanks!

автор: Philip P

13 сент. 2016 г.

Fascinating. A lot of depth, with so much supplementary reading you get out what you put in, but it felt rushed and with so many unassessed topics some seemed inconsequential. I would have preferred it to have been spread out over another week with a couple extra assessments overall.

автор: Jan Z

28 апр. 2017 г.

Good overview for law beginners, interesting lectures and useful tips.

The downsides are the peer-review system of grading (sometimes you get a bad grade and there is no explanation why) and the fact that the links to recommended and mandatory literature are not working.

автор: Fernando M M

29 нояб. 2020 г.

An essential resource for a student interested in the field of law in the US. It shall introduce you to the various conceptual legal dichotomies and relevant jurisprudence and prepare you with an excellent head start to a formal education in law school.

автор: METTA S

9 янв. 2020 г.

This course is really nice for anyone who want to start law school. But it is completely in US context. Though the concepts remain the same across common law countries, Indian students and non Us students probably find it difficult to do the course.

автор: Phoebe C

17 авг. 2020 г.

The course was particularly helpful introducing me to legal terms and concepts. There were times I felt that this could have been explained better, but overall would recommend. I enjoyed the quizzes and assignments.

автор: Bekir K Y

5 мар. 2021 г.

The course was really hard at first but then I got used to the difficulty of the course. My only negative opinion about the course is that it was suddenly removed while there was support for Turkish subtitles.

автор: Julie T

26 дек. 2015 г.

I found the range of topics extremely helpful and relevant. There were some minor technical problems with regards to grading, but overall, I really enjoyed the learning experience from this particular course.

автор: Jeanne P

16 дек. 2020 г.

Very informative. Not for a beginner. The readings took much longer than estimated in the syllabus. Peer grading can be challenging. Much heavier workload than I expected but well worth it.

автор: Micah K

7 июля 2017 г.

Great course. Very useful skills and helpful lessons. Definitely a lot of work and the lectures aren't incredibly intuitive, but useful if you are preparing for your first year of law school.

автор: Hesham O K

12 нояб. 2015 г.

it is great for citizens students, However, the speaker uses such a little hard vocabulary to understand for international students as me. I really enjoy in this course. Thanks.

автор: William X

7 июня 2017 г.

Very challenging but there are many lessons to be learned. Law is a challenging and complex field, and prof. Ayres comes at it with good analogies and helpful advice

автор: Jan P

24 дек. 2015 г.

The course was beneficial to me and I learned a lot of new things. I took one star because of the assessment of students who are too poorly evaluated.

автор: Susan A C

15 сент. 2020 г.

Excellent course that covers a *lot* of material. The amount of reading far exceeded the estimated reading time of 10 minutes in almost all cases.

автор: Evan C

5 апр. 2020 г.

Fantastic course, but an estimated 10 minutes to read one or two law review articles is really unrealistic.

автор: Do H K

10 апр. 2016 г.

Since this course handles difficult context, it may be little bit hard to one who studies law first time.

автор: Sander S

20 июня 2016 г.

Simple and well explained, but perhaps more information should be put on slides behind the lecturer.

автор: Tamara M

15 февр. 2016 г.

Excellent and fun class to understand Common-Law concepts and be prepared to with US Law cases.

автор: Aaron M

6 сент. 2020 г.

A broad overview, well communicated though, and the readings are useful for future reference.

автор: Leticia G P

2 июля 2020 г.

Ótimo curso para estudantes de direito, faltou apenas legenda em português para facilitar.