Chevron Left
Вернуться к A Law Student's Toolkit

Отзывы учащихся о курсе A Law Student's Toolkit от партнера Йельский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 833
Рецензии: 240

О курсе

Whether you are an advanced law student looking to review the basics, or an aspiring law student looking for head start, this course will help you build the foundation you will need to succeed in law school and beyond. This course will introduce you to terminology, concepts, and tools lawyers and legal academics use to make their arguments. It will help you follow these arguments—and make arguments of your own. This course consists of a series of short lectures and assignments. A reading list complements each lesson, providing you with a roadmap to help you explore the subject matter more deeply on your own. Although the lessons may cross-reference each other, they are modular in nature: you should feel free to approach them in whatever order fits your schedule, interests, and needs....

Лучшие рецензии

HK

Mar 29, 2016

I enjoyed this course but you really need to have some legal background to get the most out of it. The assignments were worth the time they took and I learned a lot trying to grade my fellow students.

CT

Oct 15, 2018

The course is gorgeous!!! Although I am an experienced lawyer in my country it was an excellent training for my brains, more over, the lectures were really very interesting!!! Strongly recommended!!!

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 236 отзывов о курсе A Law Student's Toolkit

автор: C. m

Nov 12, 2018

Great teaching style, creates , incites a student to their potential, any person, even ones merely venturing into new, or unknown areas will broaden their perspective of their inherent heretofore unknown potentials. Literally anyone that takes this course is very lucky.

автор: AHMED A K A

Mar 05, 2019

I think its a best course to those who want to study law and legal studies.

автор: Hilde K

Mar 29, 2016

I enjoyed this course but you really need to have some legal background to get the most out of it. The assignments were worth the time they took and I learned a lot trying to grade my fellow students.

автор: Trevor W

Feb 12, 2018

I was lost from almost the beginning. I'm not sure if this is part 2 of a course or if this is meant for people who have already attended law school. I also found the swaying back and forth of the professor to be a bit distracting.

The reading material was WAY more than 10 minutes. I found myself spending an hour or two reading for each assignment. That was a little frustrating as the suggested reading time was listed as 10 minutes.

I'm attending law school in the fall and was hoping to get a primer. But this class definitely disappointed me. Perhaps I'll revise it after my first year is complete.

автор: Chumachenko T

Oct 15, 2018

The course is gorgeous!!! Although I am an experienced lawyer in my country it was an excellent training for my brains, more over, the lectures were really very interesting!!! Strongly recommended!!!

автор: Paulo R V P

May 04, 2018

Excellent course to get an approach on what is studied in Law undergraduate courses in the USA.

автор: Joel A C

Jan 29, 2019

It covers enough that you will have a feel for if you will hate law or not. You learn far more from peer review than you would think. Everything is marked on time (though rarely too early, so do not stress about getting ahead, but also do not hand things in late - as marking happens as people hand in their own work usually.). Resubmitting option allows you to grapple with concepts, rather than cram memory.

And there is free financial advice at the end. Which is reasonable. It is in the outtakes, but worth a mention. It could be twice as long ans cover a few more concepts, but it is a great primer for anyone with no formal legal coursework under their belt.

автор: Ying X

Mar 19, 2017

this court is very compact......this professor usually put lots and lots of stuff into a FOUR MINUTES lecture, and for every of his lecture, you got like four HOURS of reading.....also the classmates of this course are like half academic pendant snobs in stating their opinion.....the benefit is they push you to come up with better and more convincing arguments.......it would be better if the professor don't speak like a robot or like reading from a prompter....

автор: Xuan

Apr 23, 2020

I found this course extremely useful. It requires a lot of extra work; readings can be sometimes very long and dense, and I often had to pause and search for additional materials to help me better comprehend ideas and concepts covered in this class. However, this course introduced some of the most important ideas I can use in future legal studies. Highly recommend! Also, be sure to watch the bonus video!

автор: Bei W

Jul 12, 2016

It was a very good course. It was not only a legal course, but also a course concerned with economic thinking and logic thinking about what law is and why law is. I am a practicing lawyer. The course widen my eyes on legal matters and makes me think more deeply than before. It should be strongly recommend for legal students and legal professionals.

автор: Koen V E

Nov 28, 2017

Really interesting course, quite intense, especially in week 1. Good instructor who engages students (quite a feat for an online course) and encourages one to think about law in different ways.

автор: Rick M G

Dec 15, 2016

Very useful information to get a glimpse of what's involved in law. His funny one-legged video at the end suggests too conservative of a trading and investing strategy for me, though.

автор: Nadhia G

Mar 16, 2018

This Toolkit has come very much in handy for my Paralegal Training, and other real life situations.

автор: Layssa I M S

Jul 25, 2019

This course was extremely interesting!I'm so grateful to Coursera and Yale

автор: Anant S

Oct 24, 2017

nice learning experience

автор: Ayush R

Aug 16, 2018

Solid 5

автор: Rajendra c r A d f c g g

Jun 03, 2018

great

автор: Pallavi S

Jan 15, 2018

Very well structure course. It is impressive how such a vast variety of material was covered in such short time frame. Even though some parts of it were focused solely towards american jurisprudence, it was generalized enough for students from all jurisdictions to gain something out of. I do however wish there was a little more quiz type testing and a little less american jurisprudence related testing.

автор: Kratika V

Jun 24, 2018

The course was great!!

автор: Jolene R C

Feb 10, 2016

I am hopeful that the information I've learned in this course will show its usefulness in the future. I feel that the course could've been organized a little better (and if I had it to do over I would check out the Reading a Case very early on in the course.) As a teacher, I am disappointed at the rubric that is given because students are grading each other and may not know what an "average" response is I feel that the rubric should be better structured to help give a more objective grade.

автор: Daniel H

May 18, 2020

The course is very good and well organized, although, given its objective of approaching certain basic concepts, it can sometimes surprise and seem disjointed. But the course self has a high level.

Personally I studied law in Belgium and there are chapters that I had to revise several times to understand all the nuances and subtleties, so I suppose that all students, who do not have a basic training in law, must face a number of problems and need more time..

Small negative point: the evaluation of the number of hours necessary to complete the course. To really benefit from it, you need to review lectures several times and some readings are 80 pages. So I took about 3 times more time than the advertised time (19 hours) while in other systems, the advertised time corresponds more or less to the time that I need.

автор: JoAnne E R

Jul 24, 2017

Coursera: Please note that we had a series of tornado storms, and flash floods. Over the weekend my previous session automatically switched to the next session. I have already completed my last essay, and I believe I am ready to take the final. Should I wait until the next start date, or should I ask you to return me to my last session? The next session doesnot start until August 14, 2017. I can wait, or if you immediately switch me back, I can complete the course now. Please email me. Comet, JoAnneRichardson@gmail.com. I just completed the William v. Walker-Thomas Furniture Co. Please reply, I must know now.

автор: Boyd

Apr 04, 2020

When I received an invitation to do a law program at Yale University, I could not believe an Ivy League University would allow me to attend without a rigorous prerequisite! I have always maintained A's throughout college; yet, I knew Yale University would be challenging. I did it again! In addition, learned a tremendous amount about legal tools, terminology, writing briefs, and case studies. All of which I can instantly apply in today's world. Thank you Professor Ian Ayres.

- Dr. Manya Boyd

автор: Peter H

Aug 02, 2017

I took this course as an adult learner interested in better understanding law, as opposed to a student preparing for law school or reviewing for exams. I found the lectures engaging and the assignments challenging - but appropriately so - and also enjoyable. Reviewing classmates' assignments also gave an opportunity to further understand the material. One thing I would note - the required and suggested reading typically took longer than suggested, and I'm a reasonably fast reader.

автор: Nimish B

Sep 05, 2016

Coming from an engineering background, I had my reservations about learning Law but just going through the initial video modules of this course by Professor Ayres completely changed that. He describes the nuances of law in a very simple and understandable manner. I have to say I understood more about the logic behind the existence of Law in those first few sessions by the Professor than I would have by just reading books and I am really motivated to learn further.