Chevron Left
Вернуться к Kotlin for Java Developers

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Kotlin for Java Developers от партнера JetBrains

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 820
Рецензии: 194

О курсе

The Kotlin programming language is a modern language that gives you more power for your everyday tasks. Kotlin is concise, safe, pragmatic, and focused on interoperability with Java code. It can be used almost everywhere Java is used today: for server-side development, Android apps, and much more. Kotlin is 100% compatible with all existing Java frameworks, and has good tooling support. It’s a pragmatic language with a very low learning curve, and can be quickly grasped by Java developers. Kotlin code might be compiled not only to JVM bytecode but to JavaScript and Native code as well, but this course is focused on Kotlin/JVM. This course aims to share with you the power and the beauty of Kotlin. We'll have a basic overview of the language, as well as a discussion of many corner cases, especially concerning Java interoperability. The course is based on your Java experience; it shows the similarities between the two languages and focuses on what's going to be different. Note that this course won't cover the programming fundamentals. We'll discuss: basic syntax, nullability, functional programming with Kotlin, object-oriented programming with Kotlin, the power of the Kotlin standard library, and Java interoperability....

Лучшие рецензии

MA

Jun 29, 2019

Excellent course, packed with relevant content and useful hands on Kotlin exercises with great feedback based on Coursera provided unit tests. Looking forward to more Coursera courses from JetBrains.

YY

Feb 11, 2019

This course is a very comprehensive and detailed introduction to Kotlin. However, it would be even better if it could include the generics part which is the most difficult but quite frequently used.

Фильтр по:

176–193 из 193 отзывов о курсе Kotlin for Java Developers

автор: Andre L

Apr 10, 2019

Very nice content and fun assignments

автор: Richard I

Jul 03, 2019

Excellent - kotlin is fun to learn

автор: Yousef O K

Nov 11, 2019

Good stuff

автор: Gustavo F

Nov 14, 2019

nice

автор: Antonio R

Dec 29, 2019

For people coming from a pure Java background, this course does a good job of covering quite a lot of topics playing to Kotlin's strengths and motivation for use.

One can see the instructors have quite a firm grasp on the overall knowledge domain (as expected given they are part of the team of language creators).

The text and speech of it does look like it requires a bit of a review, with the subtitles (I believe auto generated) got themselves in quite a bit of a tight spot, with multiple misses in words used which was case for quite a lot of replaying certain bits of video while trying to understand what was said.

Exercises wise, there was a hard balance struck there. Some of the exercises presented during the ongoing video presentation did a good job in exposing some of the functionalities that were being presented. Coming to programming assignments, however, this is a bit lost, with the emphasis being more on implementing the requested functionality with not much guidance provided on whether the correct language constructs are being applied, mainly towards the final two weeks of course. When a person has no firm grasp on these functionalities, it does serve to demotivate a bit.

автор: Julien L

Apr 07, 2019

Content is pretty good, but the English of the teacher could really be better. English not being my first language either, I understand how difficult making a course in English is. However, her accent is so strong that it makes the whole learning process much more difficult. I had to basically mute the author all the time and use subtitles to have a chance to follow.

Please use a native speaker to create those courses next time. The English of the lead of the language is perfect for example.

Other than that, the content of the course is pretty good, and I did learn stuff. So thanks a lot.

автор: Petr M

Feb 07, 2020

The course is quite good, but there is still something to improve, e.g.: lecturer's speech (sometimes really hard to understand), english subtitles in videos (there are major mistakes, that could confuse the listener - e.g. "enlightened" instead of "inlined", ...), no solutions for programming assignments in week5, and for last task in week4 (I'd like to know, if my solutions are principally good, or not - but unfortunately I'm missing feedback here).

Nevertheless, I can say, that after completing the course I know much more about Kotlin, than before.

автор: Nicolas B N

Jan 23, 2019

The course material was great and the instructor very knowledgeable. My main pain point is the instructor's very thick accent. In my opinion, this course should be taught by someone who has a more "international" English. Having to decipher what the instructor is saying adds cognitive overhead to a subject-matter which already requires a lot of cognition.

автор: Petr B

Feb 22, 2019

Overall it was good, and also the information and assignments was Ok, but the accent of the speaker was annoying. Maybe it was not the accent, but the feel that the video is not properly prepared, cut, post processed without slips of the tongue and of course a lot of "under the hood" :D

автор: Daniel M

Nov 04, 2019

Explanations were great (if not a bit brief), but assignments were really extra complicated and at times, vaguely explained. Sometimes, it would take hours to understand things, only to have a different explanation in the forum and accomplish it in minutes.

автор: Nikita M

Mar 14, 2019

This course definitely will give you overview of Kotlin lang features (which are commonly looks like syntactic sugar, but unfortunately program assignments are to complicated.

Alson the course a lit bit outdated (no videos on coroutines, type aliases)

автор: Dawit A W

Nov 20, 2018

The course content is very great. The teacher (Svetlana) is also very good as well. But I sometimes find it difficult to follow her sentences. I think it'd get better in time as she becomes more fluent in English.

автор: Siarhei K

Dec 02, 2018

The grader on 4th week was not providing clear messages about issue. Plus, the course covers only the basics. So, I've lost my interest to it.

автор: Md. I C

Jun 10, 2019

It's just west of money, the repenter English quality and the coding task are not satisfied.

автор: John N

Jul 01, 2019

Requires itellij which is annoying. I already have ide's on the machine and I really do not want more. Plus video's are perhaps not the best way to learn. Listening to eastern European English is quite tiresome, especially the woman's. I know that is unfair, her English is far better than my European. But ….

I think one is better off with other tutorials such as

https://www.javatpoint.com/kotlin-tutorial

автор: Giorgio M

Dec 20, 2019

I literally cannot understand what's she is saying half of the time. It's extremely frustrating and I do not recommend this course. I switched to a free bootcamp course on Udacity and hoping that'll be better.

автор: Kamil R

Nov 02, 2018

Great course for retards