Chevron Left
Вернуться к Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life от партнера Эдинбургский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 257
Рецензии: 88

О курсе

According to legend, inscribed on walls of the temple on the sacred site of Delphi in Ancient Greece were two premier injunctions: NOTHING IN EXCESS, and KNOW THYSELF. This course will be an examination of the latter injunction in an effort to discover what self-knowledge is, why it might be valuable, and what, if any, limitations it might face. What is missing from a person lacking in self-knowledge that makes her less wise, virtuous, or competent in certain areas than others who have this capacity, and what if anything might she do to fill that gap? Historical sources as well as recent research in philosophy, experimental social psychology, and neuroscience will inform our investigation, in the course of which we will become students of our own dreams, and cultivate some meditative practices. Learning Outcomes: Learners will gain familiarity with prominent themes from Western, classical Chinese, and Buddhist approaches to our knowledge of ourselves. In the course of doing so, they will gain an appreciation of the relation of self-knowledge to wisdom, of the value of intellectual humility, as well as of methods of learning about oneself that do not depend on introspection. Learners will also become familiar with contemporary research in experimental social psychology, philosophy, and neuroscience into the emotions, the unconscious, the role of affect in decision making, and self-deception. They will also gain an appreciation of a challenge to the assumption of a coherent, unified self that derives from the Buddhist tradition. --- This course was created by a partnership between The University of Edinburgh and Humility & Conviction and Public Life Project, an engaged research project based at the University of Connecticut and funded by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation....

Лучшие рецензии

ST

Jun 21, 2020

Really in depth and easy to follow information on a great array of topics, philosophers and philosophies. I would highly recommend it to anyone with an interest of learning new knowledge .

DB

Jun 24, 2020

This is a well put together course. It is beneficial to borrow or purchase the course textbook. I enjoyed the course instructor and his use of meditation breaks every so often was great.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 88 отзывов о курсе Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life

автор: Paul T

Sep 06, 2018

This has been a stimulating and thoroughly enjoyable course. Part 1 has been wide-ranging but with many opportunities/links to pursue topics in greater depth. The lectures have been pitched at just the right level - accessible, non-technical, yet rigorous and modelling the intellectual humility the course obviously wishes to promote.

The most striking feature of the course is how responsive the teaching staff have been to the contributions of students - thoughtful, respectful and helpful replies and comments on discussion threads and has any other MOC ever held a referendum and as a consequence changed a feature mid-course?

Two final suggestions on the assignment (sorry!): why not loosen the requirements still further and encourage any one to comment and discuss posted assignments, even if they have not had the time or confidence to write their own? Would it be possible for the course to be kept 'open', say, an extra week to give students the opportunity to continue discussion threads/ comment on assignments etc? Perhaps this could be done on the understanding that staff would not be available to respond during this 'extra' time..

Huge thanks. It has been great fun.

автор: María d l L A G P

Sep 06, 2018

This course have been very beneficial to me, I must confess I have not enough formal education, and I feel the study of the philosophers Professor Green offered to us with this course, have not only contributed to a better understanding of the view I have of myself, but also a contribution to my own mental health. I thank all those collaborating to make this course possible and accessible to the public at large for this humanistic opportunity.

автор: J-Man

Dec 06, 2018

The course was well laid out, well explained, the videos and animations helped visually and the added extras such as questioning events in your own life and the meditative moment really made for an engaging learning experience.

автор: Lynn H

Jun 25, 2020

The course itself was great. However, I'm very upset and angry because I could not take the quizzes and get graded on my work just because I'm not paying for a certificate. I enjoy getting graded on my work so I can monitor my progress, I don't care whether I get a certificate since I don't intend to use it for anything. I'm taking these classes for my own enjoyment and self-improvement and this has taken some of the fun out of it for me. I have never been unable to get a grade before and now I have two classes that are doing this and I am very disappointed!

автор: Kat

Sep 07, 2018

Hello Mitch,

Thank you very much for the course; I really enjoyed it.

If there was one thing I would change, it might be the way the optional final assessment was run. When people started worrying about peer reviews, I thought it was a considerate gesture that you moved the assessment to a forum to put everyone's mind at rest. However, after that, my impression was that something may have gone wrong somewhere: as I had already submitted my essay before all this and was receiving peer reviews, I then decided to peer review some other students' essays too (despite the move to the forum). The essays I was finding were all very short. It may have been that the software cut them off for some reason - or maybe people were confused about where they were submitting, and thought they were posting a forum entry (for which the length would have been appropriate).

I would love to come back for parts 2 and 3. If I don't, it will only be because by the time they are live, my "real" programme will have started and I may not have time for both. If I do have time for both, I will definitely be back.

Thank you very much again and best wishes

Kat

автор: Russell H

Sep 08, 2018

An exceptionally well made course. I'm a philosophy undergrad and this course was useful in that it added little nuggets of information to my overall understanding of Socrates/Plato, Descartes and Ryle's philosophy. Particularly Ryle. I would recommend this course to undergrads and people just looking for a general understanding of philosophical argumentation and the kinds of ideas your likely to encounter when studying philosophy at a higher level. Cheers Mitch.

P.s I also took your online MOOC when you were at University of Virginia a couple of years ago. That was the best MOOC I've ever done. I loved the informal settings and the way you presented the material. Keep up the good work Prof, it's very much appreciated.

автор: A. E H

Sep 16, 2019

Lovely course. It is the first time I complete a course in philosophy. It gave me an overall idea of the main paths of thinking that were there in the world to explain our existence and what a good life is. I was surprised to see that we are still struggling 'to get it' after all these thousands of years! Why is it so difficult for the average human to get to know her/himself? I am grateful for the 'go further' bit . there were really interesting readings and videos to go deeper. The one about the oracle of Delphi was great. I loved the meditation minutes, I will practise them from now on. Thank you for making it available for all. :)

автор: Fernando S

Jul 23, 2020

The course is very well-elaborated, with well-produced and interesting videos covering the topic of self-knowledge from a variety of philosophical sources. I especially liked the forum activities, which encourage students to reflect on the material presented and provide our own perspective of the ideas explored. There is also a wealth of additional material and references for those who want to explore these concepts further, allowing students to delve as deep into the subject as their interest will take them.

автор: Adrian P T L

Oct 07, 2018

I've Learned a lot about this course. i learned that how should i put importance to myself that knowing some limitation and giving importance in what talents and abilities that i have. knowing myself is show to me that how am i special on this world that i stand. so that I concluded this course, we should love ourselves and accept who really we are.

автор: A K

Aug 24, 2018

One of the best resources available on the subject of Self Knowledge that is not only accessible, but with pointers for further study to go further & deeper. I had earlier viewed a few lectures when this course was given a couple of years ago, and was waiting for taking the course. It was well worth it! A BIG Thank you, Prof Mitchell Green!

автор: Suzanne

Sep 06, 2018

This course was very well presented: challenging concepts were delivered in a coherent and approachable manner, inviting further exploration and discussion. The meditative moments of "mono-tasking" were a bonus! Thanks and kudos to Mitchell Green and Simon Fokt for a really worthwhile learning experience.

автор: Regina V R

Apr 10, 2019

Great content, really enjoyed taking this course. The lectures are really good and the adicional material is very helpful. Also, I enjoyed a lot the meditative moments. However, the video "theory of human emotions" in week 4 is missing (instead there's the video for part 5 two times!)

автор: PC

May 06, 2019

An excellent course encompassing theory, story, learning and tools from many historical and contemporary sources. Really well explained, flowing smoothly and yet provocative in helping you think about the topics yourself. The meditative videos are very useful too. Worthy of 5 stars.

автор: Neringa B

Sep 07, 2018

I have gained some useful insights thanks to the course material thus I recommend this course to those students who have already realised that there is a connection between their positive belief system and the negative events that unfold in their social/personal life.

автор: Vanilson J P

May 14, 2020

I've started this course because of the lockdown in London, but I found the course to be really good. Lots of new theories to think about. The beginning if very simple but after while, needs dedication. Highly recommended.

автор: Deniz A

Apr 06, 2020

This was a great course with lots of examples and ideas to think about. As a psychology student, I find lots of concepts to think about, with my background information from various personality theories.

автор: Sami T

Jun 21, 2020

Really in depth and easy to follow information on a great array of topics, philosophers and philosophies. I would highly recommend it to anyone with an interest of learning new knowledge .

автор: Daniel B

Jun 24, 2020

This is a well put together course. It is beneficial to borrow or purchase the course textbook. I enjoyed the course instructor and his use of meditation breaks every so often was great.

автор: Tina G

Sep 03, 2018

I learned a lot about what self-knowledge and how it can enhance my life. The lectures and forum discussions were very thought-provoking. The meditative moments were an added bonus!

автор: Prashant S D

Jul 07, 2020

A really good course about different philosophical ideas from several philosophers about the examination of life. The teaching technique is really good and easy to understand.

автор: Nur W B A W

May 17, 2020

This was incredibly fun and relatively easy to follow. The additional readings were also helpful in painting a better picture of the topics. Very recommended!

автор: Everlinda U A

Aug 03, 2020

This online course is really great. This has been an eye-opener for me examined my life. I also, would like to learn more about this. Thank you so much.

автор: Alexandra R

Jul 18, 2020

Very interesting course and very inspirational.

The Tutor is very serious, charming and convincing, even inspiring.

I can only recommend.

автор: rebecca r

Sep 07, 2018

this course was super well explained, lovely to watch, and very easy to absorb and apply to self through the introspection questions.