Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 6,619
Рецензии: 1,390

О курсе

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Лучшие рецензии

AS
10 дек. 2020 г.

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

FA
7 окт. 2017 г.

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

Фильтр по:

1251–1275 из 1,386 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

автор: Amio G C

27 авг. 2016 г.

This course has very interesting programming examples and the exercises are really challenging. The philosophy of this course is to teach through example problems by explaining and solving them.

The exercises are very well designed and reinforce the concepts very well. But, the later exercises might be a bit hard for an absolute beginner. Nevertheless, once you can successfully solve an exercise set, you can be sure that you have mastered the related concepts.

By the way, this course uses many custom libraries which actually help in writing interesting programs to solve real life problems. The course resource page with detailed documentations is really helpful.

Personally, I enjoyed the course. If you have some basic programming skills and want to solve interesting problems, you should give this course a try.

автор: Fabricio

6 нояб. 2015 г.

The staff of this course is really nice, that's the best part of it. Unfortunately, in my opinion this course is not intended for real beginners. From class one I struggled trying to understand what was going on. This may be because instead of just using a typical ide like eclipse or netbeans, they use bluejay, which works different than the rest of ides. In addition, programs used in the course are pretty confusing (If you know 0 Java). I learned most of the basic concepts (classes, methods) for whole week 1 from a single 15 minute video-course from youtube without all the struggling. As I mentioned this only applies if you are a total newbie, if you already know some Java I think you'll be fine.

автор: Vin T

21 февр. 2019 г.

The course material is, all in all, good. However, I feel some of the latest updates for the JAVA language are not in line with the course material. In short, the content feels a bit outdated. Tutors take long to respond to questions so I would justify that for non-paying users. Finally, the course really challenges you as a beginner and that is good. However, as a paying user, I am expecting to finish each course within the suggested guidelines and not 3 weeks beyond that point. The practice parts for this course take up quite longer than expected. My suggestions will be to update the course material, make the practice parts shorter and get tutors more involved in daily questions.

автор: Shavonn D

3 авг. 2019 г.

A good course overall, however, there is little training given on how to debug and identify coding errors. Every mistake needs to be closely looked at, with a lot of trial and error approaches, which were greatly tedious. The time estimations on the last two weeks of assignments, were fairly off from the actual time taken (Given as 10 mins, took 2 hours easily!!).

The course is good, but is not supplemented with the best Java platform to debug and understand, and the quizzes can be very irritating since a small roadblock in coding, can lead to stalling for hours. Without being able to pass the quiz, there is no way to proceed or even fix the code.

автор: vacous

6 янв. 2017 г.

It is overall an ok course. Samiliarly as a programming intro class, IMO, the quality, range from the project design and content originzation, is no where close to the IIPP offered by Rice. I do not enjoy this course as much as I did in IIPP.

If you are just interested in getting touch with programming, instead of learning Java like I, go to take IIPP.

I think the first week should appear later, probably should be swapped with week 2 or even 3. The first week class was just super confusing without knowing the basic concept like vairable type declearation and the connection between different methods.

Good Luck!!!

автор: Jennifer P

20 июля 2020 г.

I would not consider myself a "beginner" per say, I have had some previous experience with programming, but I'm definitely not advanced either. I actually thought the videos themselves were great; they could be informative and easy to follow. However, the assignments tended to be way either way too difficult, vague, and/or time-consuming. I definitely would not recommend this to a beginner programmer, but probably would to a more advanced one. I also think using obscure libraries people probably won't be using in the future to teach programming (especially to beginner programmers) is not the brightest idea.

автор: Felipe M

26 янв. 2018 г.

It is a nice course for people who are just starting to program to feel the power of writing software for solving real world problems. The assignments posted are challenging enough and shed light on some of the reasoning necessary to write working software. But it does not encourage to create custom methods to help keep the code clean, sometimes solving some of the assignments following the instructions led to many 'for' and 'if' nests which made the code difficult to read and boring to write.

автор: Abhigyan

2 авг. 2021 г.

This Course is all about problem solving. This won't teach you JAVA in depth rather how to solve problems with language. If you are a beginner it would be on a little bit of the difficult side. I would recommend you learn a little bit of java first and write some programs on your own beforehand. This will make things easier. In the end, I would say that this course indeed helps a beginner to understand how problem solving works, so you can go with it.

автор: Rasika V

28 авг. 2017 г.

It starts off well, but week 2 is ridiculously rough. After getting past that, I struggled with the Miniproject, because, again, it was structured poorly. I had a number of software problems with FileResource and BlueJ, and of course, the mentors were never available to help. While I eventually was able to finish the course, I would've appreciated more guidance. I really enjoyed Course 1, but this was a waste of time and money.

автор: Ruilong J

27 сент. 2017 г.

Some of the important details are missing when i try to do the quiz. For example, when i am trying to do the assignment i do not know how to iterate over all the data files because neither the videos nor the reading info gave me the answer i need so i have to google it. However, i still learn a lot from this course, too. Great classes to take and sometimes it gets a little bit tricky.

автор: Jose U

12 янв. 2017 г.

The content was useful and I do feel a foundation is being set.

The area where I think the course fell short is on the support we got from mentors or instructors in the forum, basically null - pun intended. There are some points where it's easy to fall into a rabbit hole, like I did. Without support, a simple challenge supposed to take a few minutes can turn into hours, days.

автор: Syed M S

13 окт. 2020 г.

5 years outdated and the use of a third party library made by Duke University is not ideal. We should learn libraries that are in the original Java API, not third party libraries that can not be reused in our professional coding career. Also, the assignments may be to difficult for beginners but even if you some experience of C language you will do great.

автор: Rohit B k

5 июня 2020 г.

I dint like the software used for the entire program. The theory should have been told in rather good way. prof. Rodger was good at coding. she coded step by step and practically. the other prof who use to code was just running up like hell. But i was good experience to be a part of Michigan University.

автор: Mikhail K

9 дек. 2018 г.

It started fine, but then turned out it's a somewhat weird course. First of all, who uses Oracle Java IDE in the middle of 2010th? Secondly, the course doesn't really follow the OOP and Functional programming guidelines. Overall it's worth it if you are a complete newbie

автор: Tshepo M

2 мая 2021 г.

The course is okay for beginners who are ready to devote more time and energy in supplementing with other materials outside the course. The BlueJ app involves too many steps to getting code output where else you can just click run and get results in other IDEs.

автор: Abhijit K R

29 июня 2020 г.

I really dont need this course. I just wanted to take a free trial for 7 days and i checked that it i was charged 76 for a month. I really need a refund. It's only been one day after my trial ended. Please leave me a reply. Email: aroy3452@gmail.com

автор: Khadidja A

22 сент. 2020 г.

I consider this course of medium quality in terms of teaching style (somewhat narrative-like), the difficulty of assignments (lots of repetitive code writing - not very challenging), and student engagement (I feel lots of code was given out).

автор: Devul N

23 июля 2017 г.

This course was overall a good course and taught me a lot of things, but the discussion page wasn't that helpful, as the questions were not being answered regularly. It is for this reason i am giving this course 3 out of 5 stars.

автор: Pooja S

5 июля 2020 г.

The course focuses on the logic behind programming and the assignments are very helpful to exercise what we have learnt. It would be more helpful if the course focuses on the syntax of Java programming also.

автор: Ravi S

12 дек. 2020 г.

Course is more focused on using already provided packages. And also course should be designed for most popular IDE like eclipse, so that beginner get introduced to tools which is widely used in industry.

автор: Bishal G C

29 июня 2020 г.

People must have general idea about the Data types/class/methods/objects/libraries. So, the course is somewhere between beginner & intermediate. But anyway, the instructors explained well!

автор: Noran H

16 сент. 2019 г.

Not for a beginner level at all , The estimated times for the exercises is so much less than the required the exercises require hours ,, week 2 is difficult and require alot of time:|

автор: Singh A A M

9 сент. 2020 г.

I am using eclipse to perform my java coding and this whole course was on bluej. So I was having some issue because of some built in method in the CSV section. Rest all was 5 star :)

автор: Peter L

24 мар. 2019 г.

Why must we be forced to use BlueJ? Also, from explanation to problems the learning curve is slightly steep. Would be better with more practical walkthrough coding examples first.

автор: Erdem O

6 февр. 2018 г.

The content is good but they use the 3rd party Java libraries, not the standard one so It makes it pretty much useless as you don't get to learn anything in Java programming.