Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
Оценки: 3,066
Рецензии: 591

О курсе

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Лучшие рецензии

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Фильтр по:

551–575 из 579 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

автор: Суслина Э В

Apr 09, 2016

It is really not for beginners. The first week was ok , but we didn't spend much time coding. Then it was really difficult to follow.

автор: Shachi P

Aug 23, 2016

This course is really hard, and I am having ALOT trouble understanding it. Overall, it is not one of the best courses I have taken.

автор: Kirk S

Jun 27, 2017

The instructors were not around for help or commentary and the videos and lessons were sub-par.

автор: Rick P

Oct 25, 2017

The data set in the genome studies was too large for mine - and judging by the forums - others computers memory to compile. Which made some of the exercises/tests very difficult to complete. Also, a few of the tests seemed to have at best unclear questions and at worst plain wrong. &-:

автор: Subhrangshu A

Nov 05, 2018

Course taught up to like beginner level, assignments are like PhD level. Need to read from other sources, in depth, to solve these assignments.

автор: Wesley N

Nov 20, 2019

The course content was excellent. I highly recommend taking this class for anyone who wants to get a quick start in java or refresh it after a long time off. The exercises are wonderful at introducing basic problem solving skills by way of highly relevant real world examples.

If you are familiar with another programming language, especially a less demanding one like Python, this course will help you get used to the more rigorous requirements of Java syntax.

Now, why the two stars? Week 4 is fraught with errors. If you code the final project EXACTLY as asked in the assignment, using the EXACT definitions of all methods, the highest score you can get on the quiz is a 42. In other words, you must code and provide incorrect answers to pass the test. These mistakes have been pointed out repeatedly to moderators in the user forums for several years and no changes have been made to address the errors in the curriculum. Because this is a paid service, I find that highly unacceptable.

автор: Andreas M

Oct 17, 2017

i think its not for beginners

автор: Viktoriia A

Nov 01, 2015

The course is just terrible.

It leaves an impression of being unfinished. There's a lot of knowledge missed out from lectures while being expected from the student in the quizzes.

Lecturers themselves have a very vague understanding of how java works and how to code in real life. What they say in some lectures is very misleading and gives either false or just insufficient understanding of certain mechanisms.

The examples are overcomplicated. They demand a full concentration on domain knowledge rather than on programming itself.

автор: Eiakihonroeda M

Feb 18, 2016

The course is too boring, I am not sure if it is because of the language or the lectures.

автор: Hamel H

Jan 03, 2016

Teaches you Java in a "toy" environment (Blue Jay) would be helpful to learn Java in Eclipse or another IDE that you would normally work in.

автор: Sai U S K

Nov 04, 2015

My expectations were different

автор: Amir M O

May 24, 2016

Poorly designed and explained. You do not really gain much knowledge from this course.

I would not recommend my friends and basically others to take this course. There are far better courses out there for much cheaper prices.

автор: Konrad D

Jan 23, 2016

Does very little to actually help you learn JAVA. Explains nothing about why the language works as it does.. Also it insists on you using their libraries and programming environments. You spend perhaps 20% of your time actually practicing coding, and the rest is wasted in libraries you will never use again. Such a waste

автор: Dr J R C

Sep 30, 2016

Use of Duke own specialised librarie ~ not the best way of learning progamming for the real world.

автор: Ibrahim H

Oct 26, 2016

Paying for course just to learn how to loop and make if else statements... I don't think this is the best way to learn java!

автор: Crystal H

Sep 25, 2017

Assignments are too advanced compared to the videos given. 7 minutes was spend showing how to code. However the entire final quiz on week 1 expects you to code new things that which were never shown in videos without any help. This was not the case in the 1st class in this series.

автор: Bill Z

Apr 15, 2016

If you are a real beginner like me (having zero or little programming knowledge) and your time is limited, I think this course (or the specialisation) is not suitable for you. The assignments and quizzes are very time consuming. One week I spent literally 30+ hours writing and debugging codes for just one quiz.

автор: Ryan W

Apr 04, 2016

This course is not suitable for beginners at all, everything basic is skipped. Highly not recommended

автор: Natalie R

Nov 08, 2017

This course is a huge disappointment. It is impossible to start the first assignment due to lack of information or examples of any kind. Many of the students have posted the same issue on the discussion forum and we are receiving no answers from mentors. This specific class is extremely frustrating and a huge waste of time. I am not the only one who thinks this!!!!! Someone should fix this class before they loose a lot of subscriptions because students are frustrated!!!!!

автор: Naman G

Mar 20, 2018

titd

автор: Shahid Z

Jan 01, 2018

I Just can't understand why the instructors make simple concepts difficult to understand. Take the example of functions video, why you need nesting of function, calling function inside a function when you explaining function for the first time. for God sake this course required no programming knowledge. I learned programming (10 years ago) and yet i am feeling difficulty to understand your complex definition and explanation of a simple language concepts. i am doing this course for the sake of DUKE Certificate otherwise i give this course 1 Star.

автор: Алексей

Sep 16, 2018

Using custom libraries is very bad for students. We must study java core not some custom libraries.

BlueJ also a bad choise, even the notepad or the vim are better for understanding the compilation process. Also there is no peer reviewed assignments.

автор: Borsós A B

Jul 01, 2019

Bad organized, too many typos, errors, uncleared and illogic things in the Assignments. I am almost at the end, but now I really quitting this stuff. I liked the Programming C from the Duke, but this one is a total mess. There are no Instructors and Teaching Staff to talk to in the Forums, just some Mentors, but that is not a big help, this Course is total left alone from the Authors. Andy Hilton is a good guy, should read the discussions and correct the errors!

автор: Kartikey p

Jul 13, 2018

Not organised properly. And it is stated that this course is for beginners. But the concepts and their usage is not properly explained.

автор: William H

Jul 17, 2018

NOT FOR BEGINNERS AT ALL