Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 3,290
Рецензии: 663

О курсе

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Лучшие рецензии

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Фильтр по:

476–500 из 653 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

автор: Bruce W

Dec 16, 2019

Overall, this course was a decent introduction to Java and many related concepts. The only noticeable downside was the choice of development environment. The BlueJ environment is very lightweight, but fails to check for simple errors (e.g. use of == instead of .equals() for string comparison). It also lacks the convenience of auto-complete for variable names that almost all other free IDEs offer.

автор: Francisco A M

Apr 27, 2016

Except for a few problems regarding the clearness of some of the homeworks' statements, hence the stars, this is an excellent beginner's course for anyone interested in Java. I am currently taking the follow up course "Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data" and for the moment it seems as good as this one, although with the same few problems.

автор: Rafael d B A

Oct 16, 2015

Great course! One sugestão I have is to teaching how to use FileResource,URLResource, DirectoryResource, Pixel, ImageResource, etc, without using the edu.duke, because in the real word we don’t use this library. I know this library can facilitate the coding, but when the students use another IDE, they will not can do the same coding as they used on course.

автор: Umer F

Oct 18, 2018

Overall course was pretty good i really enjoyed doing assignments and answering quiz. I found coursera website a user friendly and easy to navigate

The thing i didn't like in the course was a BlueJ IDE, at beginning of the course i tried BlueJ and found that it is one of the weird java IDE i have ever used. So i completed all assignments using eclipse.

автор: Andrew C

Jul 14, 2018

Good introduction to Java programming, instructor videos were informative and the quizzes and tests were challenging and interesting.I was familiar was the Java syntax before taking this course, I think a complete beginner might have to do a little bit of extra online research to clarify some concepts.

автор: Portia O

Jan 28, 2019

It was a little hard to get started because the documentation for the course (various websites, etc) isn't super clear (to me), but once I got used to it, it was great. The instructors are great and explain the concepts really clearly. The provided classes (DirectoryResource, etc) were awesome!

автор: Nguyen N T

Feb 27, 2020

For programming, it's always important to have hand-on experience which can only be acquired by diligent practice. And through this course, I have my skill sharpened after completing each small project. It's also really fun to have a chance to work on real-world problems.

автор: Md. Z M

May 15, 2016

Might seem a bit overwhelming to beginners, but at the same time, a useful course to practice writing code on real-life data sets, for experienced learners.

The library used here is useful, but not reusable in general.

Overall, a nice experience. :)

автор: John K

Nov 09, 2015

Good course, it seemed too easy at times since they provided alot of guides to solving the programming problems but I might be biased since I have some programming background. Overall I would recommend for beginners interested in learning java.

автор: Gágik A

Jul 16, 2016

I liked the Course, it developed my skills of thinking as a coder, but I did not like the BlueJ programming environment, as I think it required to many clicks to accomplish simple debugging tasks and didn't have user friendly interface.

автор: Krishna K

Jun 15, 2019

Pretty basic course if you have done any programming. It is pretty well designed. I don't recommend programming in bluej if you done some programming before. The environment is pain to use. Text editors all the way!!

автор: Ahmed Y

Feb 26, 2017

The course is well prepared and paced. It's a problem based learning course. It will teach you how to target various range of problems appropriately. Some lessons and exercises however needed longer time frame.

автор: Tim A

Dec 06, 2015

A good intro into Java. As this is Part 2 of the Specialization, I would have liked to have seen a greater introduction into more of Java's collections than just String manipulation and CSV using an apache lib.

автор: Yi-Chia C

Feb 11, 2016

Great opportunity to learn java and put it into use to solve the real world problems. But it's a little hard for people who haven't learned java at all, but only learned C#.(object-oriented programming).

автор: João T

Feb 26, 2019

A basic practice approach for solving problems with a 7step formula for any kind of problem set, for any kind of programming language you use. A very basic approach to JAVA syntax and semantics.

автор: Jeongryul K

Sep 02, 2018

The Assignment explanations are little bit tricky. However, I love the professor's explanation, and I learned a lot about Java Programming. I really appreciate to learn from very nice professor.

автор: Weiqi Y

Aug 23, 2017

definitely not for beginners with 0 background. But it was just good on me. (make sure you know something about any kind of programming language first, or this course could be challenging )

автор: Federico C

Dec 12, 2018

The course and the instructors are very good, especially for people who have a minimum experience in programing. Consulting other resources (e.g. the Oracle Java Tutorial) might be useful.

автор: Aistis R

Oct 22, 2015

Thank you for the course, the only improvement i could think of is to improve contents for non English speaking people. E.g. You say decimal places, we say numbers after comma.

Thank you!

автор: Jean O M

Mar 20, 2019

Great course. coming back to review this as it has made great impact on my everyday coding. Been a while since i completed it but it is arguably some of the best content on JAVA.

автор: Pawel D

Nov 13, 2015

Interesting, but some assignments needs to be double checked. In my opinion some of the presented material is teaching poor coding practices for the sake of simplicity.

автор: Sachin

Mar 14, 2017

Very good videos .. assignments were tough and few were confusing especially in strings .. I was challenged and got through the quiz with 100% which was satisfying

автор: Christopher D

Mar 04, 2020

The course provided a well paced and logic approach to introducing progressively more complex problems. I look forward to the new course in the specialisation.

автор: David S

Dec 18, 2015

In general a well made course. However, I do not yet see the advantage of using BlueJ over e.g. Eclipse, as most people won't work with BlueJ after the course

автор: Vijayalakshmi R

Dec 27, 2019

I like the way this course explained the building of logic from algorith,.But i didn't like week1's quz about geometry.Because i am not the fan of Geometry.