Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
Оценки: 3,063
Рецензии: 590

О курсе

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Лучшие рецензии

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Фильтр по:

426–450 из 578 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

автор: Ulvi A

May 10, 2018

A little bit simplified...

автор: Pawel D

Nov 13, 2015

Interesting, but some assignments needs to be double checked. In my opinion some of the presented material is teaching poor coding practices for the sake of simplicity.

автор: Can R

Jan 22, 2018

First assignment was very poorly prepared with setters and getters.

автор: Manuel A A T

Oct 28, 2016

very good course.

автор: Shumin Z

May 20, 2018

The overall quality of this course is great for beginners like me.

I really like how they sequence the videos as in a problem - abstraction - pseudo code - java code way.

Yet I have some thoughts I'd like to share with you guys. The first is that I saw less-than-average discussions in the forum, especially the professors/TAs seem to be less active than other courses I have taken in the past. The other is that after passing the whole course, I would personally very much like to see a sample answer given by teaching group or one selected from the student submissions. It helped a lot to see some of the details regarding logic and style in my previously courses. As for student submission, I knew some course has built a code submission system that would automatically grade the code based on ( I assume) multiple case testings.

автор: Willy A

Nov 01, 2016

more or lesss... :( I don't want to pay for pass my quiz

автор: Rafael d B A

Oct 16, 2015

Great course! One sugestão I have is to teaching how to use FileResource,URLResource, DirectoryResource, Pixel, ImageResource, etc, without using the edu.duke, because in the real word we don’t use this library. I know this library can facilitate the coding, but when the students use another IDE, they will not can do the same coding as they used on course.

автор: Milton C

Nov 12, 2017

Very challenging but fundamental.

автор: Gabriel T

Feb 06, 2016

Great course and delivery!

If only there would be more help in the forums by assistants or tutors it would have gotten a 5 star

автор: Liusicong

Feb 16, 2016

The homework is too time consuming.

автор: Ahmed Y

Feb 26, 2017

The course is well prepared and paced. It's a problem based learning course. It will teach you how to target various range of problems appropriately. Some lessons and exercises however needed longer time frame.

автор: Wan B

Sep 12, 2017

Good

автор: Idir B

Jan 30, 2016

The course itself is Ok, but I would suggest two things:

автор: Dan H

Oct 19, 2015

As usual the 4 professors(presenters) have done an excellent job. The resources, videos, assignments and quizzes are very helpful, well thought out and comprehensive. They have done an enormous amount of work.

But there seem to be problems with the import edu.duke.* due to installation problems (e.g. Windows 10).

Maybe include 3 videos like:( example from other Coursera courses e.g. R Programming)

Installing BlueJ on a Mac

Installing BlueJ on Windows

Installing Bluej on (Mac) ; including these would enable me to give a rating of 5 stars.

For the beginner programmer this would help a lot.

I know there is the Discussions forum (very helpful) and students must sweat a bit to get BlueJ to work on some messy Operating Systems but this is my comment as a Beta Tester

автор: Kishaan J

Jan 17, 2017

They make programming look so easy! Enjoyed the course! Thank you!

автор: Jose A

Feb 07, 2016

use my analytical skills with this course.

автор: Steve Z

Jan 02, 2017

比较实用的入门课,例子简单易懂

автор: Zenine X

Aug 22, 2016

In the assignment of week2 , the Algorithm was not made clear.

автор: Apurva H

Jul 30, 2017

PLEASE teach us how to use a better IDE. BlueJ sucks, compared to, for example, something like Spyder for Python. PLEASE.

автор: John K

Nov 09, 2015

Good course, it seemed too easy at times since they provided alot of guides to solving the programming problems but I might be biased since I have some programming background. Overall I would recommend for beginners interested in learning java.

автор: Md. Z M

May 15, 2016

Might seem a bit overwhelming to beginners, but at the same time, a useful course to practice writing code on real-life data sets, for experienced learners.

The library used here is useful, but not reusable in general.

Overall, a nice experience. :)

автор: Tyler C

Mar 10, 2018

Basic, foundational use of problem solving in Java. Expects you to already understand basics of programming -- if, for, variable declaration and assignment, etc. These topics are touched on, but more or less assumed that you know them already. My biggest complaint is the BlueJ environment -- while it's fine and appropriate if you have no real previous experience, if you're used to more professional programming environments / text editors, using it is a miserable experience. It does its job (handling all of the dependency and build details for you so you don't have to learn that stuff yet), but please could they incorporate a decent text editor into it. Assignments take about twice as long as they would with a more reasonable text editor.

автор: Arpitha.D

Jan 03, 2016

It is a good course for starters.

автор: Matias G A

Jan 18, 2018

It is a practical and short course to learn the basics of Java Programming. I like it.

автор: 王星宇

Feb 03, 2017

relatively easy but still excellent for the beginner!