Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 4,896
Рецензии: 1,017

О курсе

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Лучшие рецензии

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Фильтр по:

726–750 из 1,004 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

автор: Aarya P

Jul 25, 2020

A very nice basic java course. The best parts are the instructors are really cool and explain topics easily. They best part was they literally made "Java Cookies " hahahaha;-). However some topics like classes, modifiers and constructors and stuff like that could have needed more explanation. For someone coming from a completely new background could have some amount of difficulty in learning the first few concepts.Otherwise really recommended.

автор: Alexey C

Mar 24, 2018

Good challenges, good emphasis on relevant knowledge, but unreasoned instructions: had to rely more on myself and make my own programming exercises between some lectures to get comfortable with new material before moving on, as well as alterate some methods for better reuse during the exercises provided.

You can learn well from here, but pay attention, and dont afraid to exercise coding when you feel to

автор: Bruce W

Dec 16, 2019

Overall, this course was a decent introduction to Java and many related concepts. The only noticeable downside was the choice of development environment. The BlueJ environment is very lightweight, but fails to check for simple errors (e.g. use of == instead of .equals() for string comparison). It also lacks the convenience of auto-complete for variable names that almost all other free IDEs offer.

автор: Ishara N

May 28, 2020

This is a great course but timing for coding assignments is not accurate.The are marked as 10 mins but could take hours to complete them.Other than that great course but in order to solve them the learner should have little bit of coding experience before the course.Overall a good course and recommended for those who needs a little challenge in their coding life.

автор: Francisco A M

Apr 27, 2016

Except for a few problems regarding the clearness of some of the homeworks' statements, hence the stars, this is an excellent beginner's course for anyone interested in Java. I am currently taking the follow up course "Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data" and for the moment it seems as good as this one, although with the same few problems.

автор: Rafael d B A

Oct 16, 2015

Great course! One sugestão I have is to teaching how to use FileResource,URLResource, DirectoryResource, Pixel, ImageResource, etc, without using the edu.duke, because in the real word we don’t use this library. I know this library can facilitate the coding, but when the students use another IDE, they will not can do the same coding as they used on course.

автор: Umer F

Oct 18, 2018

Overall course was pretty good i really enjoyed doing assignments and answering quiz. I found coursera website a user friendly and easy to navigate

The thing i didn't like in the course was a BlueJ IDE, at beginning of the course i tried BlueJ and found that it is one of the weird java IDE i have ever used. So i completed all assignments using eclipse.

автор: Andrew C

Jul 14, 2018

Good introduction to Java programming, instructor videos were informative and the quizzes and tests were challenging and interesting.I was familiar was the Java syntax before taking this course, I think a complete beginner might have to do a little bit of extra online research to clarify some concepts.

автор: DEVANSHI K

Jun 04, 2020

Good course for beginners with no prior knowledge of basics. Interesting assignments. However, they use the BlueJ environment to run the code and also use many custom created classes - easy to use but hide the basic functioning of the Java language and the structures that are supposed to come with it.

автор: Portia O

Jan 28, 2019

It was a little hard to get started because the documentation for the course (various websites, etc) isn't super clear (to me), but once I got used to it, it was great. The instructors are great and explain the concepts really clearly. The provided classes (DirectoryResource, etc) were awesome!

автор: Ahmad F S

Jul 14, 2020

In Honor's Quiz, there is a technical fault in Q5

The course was fantastic but some of the side problems that can arise during assignments were not explained. it may be your technique but it didn't fit well with me.

Overall had a great experience and definitely recommend it to others.

автор: Rishi M

Apr 18, 2020

Good, but some things were unexplained, such as how to get the file name from a DirectoryResource(), until the greyscale conversion section. I was unsure of how to do this until I reached the greyscale conversion section, but it was asked for previously. Otherwise, great course!

автор: Prashanna A

Apr 24, 2020

This course has helped me get insights of Java Programming. Most importantly, it has taught me how to solve any problems using the seven step approach. The course has made me a better programmer, increased by problem solving skills and increased by ability to make algorithms.

автор: Diana Y

Jun 25, 2020

Very good course, interesting exercises datasets, especially the introduction to OOP was very well explained. The only improvement I would suggest would be to be able to use Intellij instead of BlueJ because I had to open a lot of different windows and it was not very handy.

автор: Nguyen N T

Feb 27, 2020

For programming, it's always important to have hand-on experience which can only be acquired by diligent practice. And through this course, I have my skill sharpened after completing each small project. It's also really fun to have a chance to work on real-world problems.

автор: Raahim S

May 23, 2020

Course length a bit misleading. Practice exercises rated for 10 mins were actually several hours long. Otherwise the course material was quite in depth, though I felt they focused too much on just CSV files. Things got a bit repetitive after a while.

автор: Md. Z M

May 15, 2016

Might seem a bit overwhelming to beginners, but at the same time, a useful course to practice writing code on real-life data sets, for experienced learners.

The library used here is useful, but not reusable in general.

Overall, a nice experience. :)

автор: John K

Nov 09, 2015

Good course, it seemed too easy at times since they provided alot of guides to solving the programming problems but I might be biased since I have some programming background. Overall I would recommend for beginners interested in learning java.

автор: Gágik A

Jul 16, 2016

I liked the Course, it developed my skills of thinking as a coder, but I did not like the BlueJ programming environment, as I think it required to many clicks to accomplish simple debugging tasks and didn't have user friendly interface.

автор: Mario B

Apr 02, 2020

You should declare earlier, why a File is marked as a Failure. Caused by the missing import.

Other without this knowledge will get frustrated and quit...

Also sometimes the code disappears behind the prof. But the rest is super!

автор: Utkarsh C

May 18, 2020

Its a great course for intermediate coders! good for practice in java and assignments are really good and requires effort. you can not just sleep on this! for Java or oops the complete specialisation is the best choice.

автор: Mauricio Z

Jun 27, 2020

I think it is an excellent course but I also think it is a bad thing to force the student to work under a single Duke library. In real life you can always work with several libraries, so that's why I give them 4 stars

автор: Krishna K

Jun 15, 2019

Pretty basic course if you have done any programming. It is pretty well designed. I don't recommend programming in bluej if you done some programming before. The environment is pain to use. Text editors all the way!!

автор: Ahmed Y

Feb 26, 2017

The course is well prepared and paced. It's a problem based learning course. It will teach you how to target various range of problems appropriately. Some lessons and exercises however needed longer time frame.

автор: Tim A

Dec 06, 2015

A good intro into Java. As this is Part 2 of the Specialization, I would have liked to have seen a greater introduction into more of Java's collections than just String manipulation and CSV using an apache lib.