Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 5,586
Рецензии: 1,163

О курсе

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Лучшие рецензии

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Фильтр по:

1076–1100 из 1,143 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

автор: Chiara T

Jun 22, 2020

Absolutely not for beginners

автор: Charles B

May 19, 2017

Week 2 needs to be fixed.

автор: Kapil R

Jun 26, 2020

The course was good .

автор: DELA C J K (

Jan 12, 2020

Too hard

автор: Bruno Z

Apr 26, 2020

So far I am fairly disappointed with this course, it spends too much time on such simple concepts and skips over the really important ones. I was hoping for more of a 'university' level quality class, and instead I find myself listing to the instructors talk about subjects that are hardly related to what the quiz and lab work content will be, and when the time comes to work on the lab and quiz portions of the class, I find myself not knowing what they are asking and having to do my own research to try to figure out the answers as opposed to feeling that I at least was 'taught' the material in preparation for the quiz or lab.

автор: lee h

Mar 13, 2018

Video instructors are knowledgeable, and I like the challenge of the assignments. But I recently got stuck on an assignment and went to the discussion forum for help. No response from any of the moderators or peers. Plus the codesnippet tool to post code to the forum is absolute crap. Will not format any code even if it is written in line by line. I have been fruitless trying to search for help outside of this course so far as well.

Lots of wasted time.

I really want to finish the class, but I doubt I will ever waste my money on these Duke\Java classes again. I will go elsewhere.

автор: Thao L Q P

May 23, 2020

I completed the course. However, without my husband's help (who is a senior software engineer), I'm sure that I could have not. This course is surely not for a beginner. Though I had taken a C++ course in a community college before, I still found this course is so hard. Each lesson seems short, simple and easy to understand, but the assignments (Reading and quizzes) are crazy with very little reference document and clear instruction. Most of the time, I spent around 5 hours for each such assignment, not 10 minutes as it is allocated.

автор: ADAM B

Mar 10, 2020

The lecturers go in to loads of depth, which is great. Instead of having smaller assignments though, I think there were 2 quizzes so far for me and then an assignment testing every single thing so far. When you're learning, you need to be able to chew away at it gradually and not have everything lumped on you in one go. It definitely is not for beginners. The concepts alone are at beginner level, but you will need prior coding experience to be able to follow it properly.

автор: David W

Oct 23, 2020

I would not class this as a beginner course. The content is too advanced if you are new to coding. I wish I had read the reviews before enrolling. This is course 2 in one specialism and course 1 in another within Coursera which does not seem right. I think a course 2 is the right level but the speed needs to be adjusted. I also think some of the exercise timings are off as they were indicating 15 minutes where the actual work takes a lot longer.

автор: Fardin A A

May 01, 2020

The course is good to learn how to solve problems with programming. The course instructors are also very good and understandable. But to learn java specifically, I wouldn't suggest this course to anyone because this course is totally based on the user defined functions that are provided by Duke University. And can't be used in other IDEs than BlueJ. So, it's more like learning how to use their functions than learning actual Java library.

автор: Felicia K

Oct 27, 2015

Could not get through the first week. Way too much emphasis on BlueJ and Duke University specific libraries. I I already have a decent foundation in coding and took the course with the idea I could get a refresher on Java. If your a beginner there are way better courses out there. This course is all over the place and I could see it being confusing for someone just picking up programming.

автор: Arseniy M

Aug 10, 2020

Very hard. Not much help and poor explanation. Every professor uses their own little tricks and methods so the material does not flow well together. It seems like they assume that you remember every single concept from the start and don't give any useful tips on how to proceed about the learning experiences. This ended up taking way more time than it said on the schedule.

автор: José F G C

Jun 11, 2020

In an online course you cannot expect us to learn only by the practise without a little of theory. In the assigments you incorporated things we didn't know and you explained a few there but it is not enough. Here we don't have a regular following like in a real course so we have to learn everything by the theory and only put in practise that we learnt there.

автор: Rick P

Oct 25, 2017

The data set in the genome studies was too large for mine - and judging by the forums - others computers memory to compile. Which made some of the exercises/tests very difficult to complete. Also, a few of the tests seemed to have at best unclear questions and at worst plain wrong. &-:

автор: asmida n

Sep 26, 2020

I actually enrolled for this course with a intension to learn java programming from the basis.But i dont get the concept of class,interface,oop etc.this course help me to write the simple program.

автор: HEMANTH Y

Feb 19, 2020

I'm unable to understand the tutor language... I feel like they are going fast and I'm unable to catch them.

sorry and I don't want to continue this course anymore.

автор: Soumyamoy D

Jul 02, 2020

It would be better if Java was taught from the scratch with syntax and semantics, instead of using BlueJ and external packages at the first instant only.

автор: Antonio B

Sep 13, 2020

Way too repetitive. It gets extremely boring doing basically the same tasks with Strings over and over and over and over again. And then some more.

автор: Jerrold

Oct 07, 2020

Fantastic course. Great assignments and lectures. Low score because the workload is excessively high and overwhelming for novice programmers

автор: Shachi P

Aug 23, 2016

This course is really hard, and I am having ALOT trouble understanding it. Overall, it is not one of the best courses I have taken.

автор: charles

Mar 29, 2020

Not a very good course for Java. The introduction in week 1 is taught roughly.

автор: YiWei C

Mar 10, 2019

I do not think it is helpful enough.

It just tells lots of basic things.

автор: Ng W L

Jul 24, 2020

hard to get help, its not very beginner friendly..

автор: Farhan H P

Aug 15, 2020

This Course does not cover the Java Basics at all

автор: Sireesha C

Oct 04, 2020

Videos are not okay. Could be more explanatory.