Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 6,052
Рецензии: 1,267

О курсе

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Лучшие рецензии

FA
7 окт. 2017 г.

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

AS
10 дек. 2020 г.

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 1,247 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

автор: Ekaterina V

10 янв. 2021 г.

I took this course as a part of Java Programming Specialization. My prior experience in programming consisted of several lessons on Pascal back in school about 13 years ago, so basically zero experience + 1st course on HTML+CSS+JS.

This course wasn't as great as the first one. First problem is BlueJ. That's the environment you're forced to use for coding. Forced - because Duke created some Java libraries for learning purposes and added them to their BlueJ version. The problem is that nobody uses BlueJ in real life. There is an option - you can download those libraries and add them to another environment of your choosing (and used in real world), to learn more efficiently. But don't expect any help with that.

Also the reason of great frustration for me was estimated time info. It's a total mess. It says for example about 30 min for a programming assignment, about 4 hours to complete the whole week. Not going to happen, probably even if you are a pro. I'm not a pro and 30min turned out to be 3-10 hours and 4 hours turned to be 3-4 days (about 8 hours per day, because I had free time), depending. The first week was the worst, because I had completely no idea what i'm supposed to be doing. Mentors advised to rewatch the videos. It got slightly better in the 2nd week, but I'd still say it was extremely challenging and frustrating. Another thing is assignment specification: if you want to pass the graded quiz, you have to read all threads in the forums on each method you're required to write. For some reason, half of the info will be there in the discussion forums, dated 2 years ago, and not in the problem statement. You won't pass the quizzes without a working program.

Concluding, I'll say that you'll definitely get some Java knowledge and experience from this course, but get ready to spend three more times than stated, and to work on your own, beginner level or not. Unless you know a developer you might ask for help if you get stuck.

If you have an option of rushing through this course instead of the first one in your 7 day free trial, I strongly recommend to do so. This might help you to make a better informed decision before paying for the subscription.

автор: Wesley N

22 янв. 2020 г.

The course content was excellent. I highly recommend taking this class for anyone who wants to get a quick start in java or refresh it after a long time off. The exercises are wonderful at introducing basic problem solving skills by way of highly relevant real world examples.

If you are familiar with another programming language, especially a less demanding one like Python, this course will help you get used to the more rigorous requirements of Java syntax.

Now, why the two stars? Week 4 is fraught with errors. If you code the final project EXACTLY as asked in the assignment, using the EXACT definitions of all methods, the highest score you can get on the quiz is a 42. In other words, you must code and provide incorrect answers to pass the test. These mistakes have been pointed out repeatedly to moderators in the user forums for several years and no changes have been made to address the errors in the curriculum. Because this is a paid service, I find that highly unacceptable.

автор: Leo C

31 авг. 2017 г.

I already had some programming experience - a semester of C (I can use pointers!) and some web development and I found this course very, very challenging and time consuming but ultimately very rewarding. The problem areas covered are really interesting and it is obvious that a lot of thought and effort has gone into making this course.

I would not recommend this course or specialization to a complete beginner unless they have a lot of spare time and are prepared to go slow and deal with a lot of frustration. There seems to be some excellent courses for complete beginners out there that would be a better place to start one's coding adventure.

автор: Kazi H R

17 июля 2020 г.

Though the course name includes java,it's more of a problem solving course using some functionalities form the edu.duke library designed to supplement the course.This course may not give you knowledge of java that much but it will surely improve your problem solving capability by introducing some interesting problems such as finding all genes from a DNA strand or making conclusions from large amount of data read from CSV files or converting an image to a gray-scale or inverted image.Nonetheless, for anyone interested to solve creative programming problems this is an absolute goldmine

автор: Tang Q

3 янв. 2021 г.

I finished the course in relatively short time. It helped me pick up coding. The assignments were not too hard, though they definitely took me some time to finish it. I think the course is meant for people with some coding experience such as intro to Python, C/C++, not that suitable for completely new beginner.

автор: Laura L

4 янв. 2021 г.

I learned a lot in this course (as someone who had no experience in java at all)! At times it was a bit challenging which forced me to use additional time to complete the assignments, however overall this was an amazing course that help me grow my programming skills a lot!

автор: Frederico V A

8 окт. 2017 г.

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

автор: Тюрина В

9 авг. 2019 г.

Понравился курс, все понятно и подробно объясняется. Очень понравились практические задания!

автор: Ferdousi H

17 мая 2020 г.

I really learn about clear concept of Java

автор: Alexander S

29 сент. 2020 г.

Very good course, my only recommendation is that the 'necessary' time to pass different tasks (especially readings) ought to be fixed. 4-8 hours a week is extremely inaccurate in my perspective, bearing in mind that i have close to 3 years of programming experience with C++ and C#, it took me at least 12-15 hours a week.

автор: Lasal J

26 дек. 2020 г.

Honors Section needs to be updated

автор: Dedeepya V

23 июля 2020 г.

The course is good, an excellent way to improve Java programming skills. But it is definitely not meant for beginners. I learnt Java years ago, and i took up this course with an intention of picking up Java again and to continue coding in it, that is why i found it slightly confusing at the starting, but after which i managed to follow through. Though this course is excellent to improve coding, It is not meant for those who have general programming experience, I would say it is more for those who have "Java" programming experience beforehand and a strong grip over the basic Java programming.

автор: Deleted A

24 дек. 2017 г.

the way practice assignments are written is very confusing and misleading at times. please improve on the writing style. it takes time to understand what the written instructions mean. its very difficult to complete assignments otherwise!

автор: C E

1 апр. 2018 г.

The instruction for the first week was quite basic and taught the learner little about how to actually write code in Java. However the assignments, which scarcely reflect the instruction, dive into code you were not taught how to write, and at a level well beyond any reasonable estimation of a true beginner. The assignment instructions are somewhat confusing and the necessary resources are scattered here and there. The first quiz reflected the homework, and so was likewise beyond anything that was actually taught. As well, its resources have to be gathered from here and there. The discussion board is rife with complaints echoing what I just wrote, as well as complaints about the basic course design and organization problems. These complaints are an ongoing issue, and stretch for almost a year back. Unless you are a fair hand at programming in a related language already, I would not sign up for this course.

автор: Kirk S

27 июня 2017 г.

The instructors were not around for help or commentary and the videos and lessons were sub-par.

автор: Nadav Z

10 нояб. 2015 г.

Couldn't fiish the course. Not hard, but exhausting and not interesting.

автор: Enric M

24 нояб. 2015 г.

This is a good Java Tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TBWX97e1E9g&list=PLE7E8B7F4856C9B19

I followed two videos and I'm learning in my way.

I left the course because the ammount of time required was too high. For example, for one part of an exercise I spent a total of 12 hours distributed in 3 days. For the other part of the exercise I spent 1 hour. Also, in the part one, the last exercise was tremendouly difficult for begginers and for someone (my case) that know one language.

You are making people hate Java. This is not for begginers. I have to say that the part of codepen and HTML was great.

Fortunatelly, I didn't pay. But I think that paying for this course is a waste of money. I had a good experience in other Coursera programming course: "An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python" of Rice Unviersity. The examples were awesome and the tests were reasonable, quite the opposite to this course.

Also, Eclipse is so much better than BlueJ in many ways, also into learning...

And there's more things that must be improved, but no time and no money.

I'm very dissapointed to this course and Duke Univeristy.

автор: Natalie R

8 нояб. 2017 г.

This course is a huge disappointment. It is impossible to start the first assignment due to lack of information or examples of any kind. Many of the students have posted the same issue on the discussion forum and we are receiving no answers from mentors. This specific class is extremely frustrating and a huge waste of time. I am not the only one who thinks this!!!!! Someone should fix this class before they loose a lot of subscriptions because students are frustrated!!!!!

автор: Dr J R C

30 сент. 2016 г.

Use of Duke own specialised librarie ~ not the best way of learning progamming for the real world.

автор: Luis C M L J

27 дек. 2020 г.

Very hard to follow, this is for medium level but not for beginners

автор: 罗俊平

6 апр. 2020 г.

Impossible to download anything from the resources website

автор: vikas v

1 февр. 2020 г.

This is all teached in Bluej which is tough to understand

автор: Sean E

27 янв. 2020 г.

Had to buy a SECOND JAVA book to get through this

автор: Yoni K

27 дек. 2020 г.

Not for begginers! too hard!

автор: Sowat H R

26 апр. 2020 г.

Too hard for beginners.