Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 3,287
Рецензии: 661

О курсе

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Лучшие рецензии

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Фильтр по:

451–475 из 650 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

автор: Aneek R

Jun 22, 2018

GREAT

автор: Deleted A

Aug 02, 2017

Good!

автор: 王德康

May 26, 2017

great

автор: Luikaren M R C

Dec 04, 2015

Great

автор: Aditya S

Oct 30, 2019

Java

автор: zahed k p

Sep 09, 2019

good

автор: Mohammed A W

Jul 20, 2019

good

автор: SAPTARSHI D

Jun 20, 2019

nice

автор: hakan33

Apr 20, 2017

nice

автор: 张梦宇

Jan 30, 2017

很棒!

автор: Erick Z

Sep 30, 2019

It

автор: Divine V

Feb 03, 2019

")

автор: Constantin M

Jul 27, 2017

G

автор: 王杰

Aug 02, 2016

g

автор: Stefan v d S

Dec 20, 2016

All in all, this was a tough course, and the programming increased progressively as one moved on. Week 1 was OK, but I experienced a temporary hiccup in week 2 in the reading of the codon files; until I converted them to Strings. Even then the first file which contained only one DNA string gave its fair share of problems. In general, the section on Strings was pretty comprehensive. The programming was also pretty challenging. The section on debugging was OK, but I am at this stage still a little confused as to the amount and detail of information one is supposed to supply to someone else when you are experiencing a problem with your code. With the week 2 quiz I made a mistake than came back to haunt me in week 4; I did not read the question properly and from the outset my cgRatio method was not producing the correct answer. Eventually, after reading the specs for cgRatio again, I realised my mistake, could correct my code and get through the week 2 quiz! Week 3 on parsing, reading CSV files etc, the going was pretty good and I managed to complete the work covered in this section without too many problems. Week 4 on baby names; well, yes the mini Project was pretty extensive, with a lot of Methods being asked for and written. I found the small test files to be invaluable during testing. But the quiz contained a few curved balls. Method totalBirths does just that, and although in the specification it does say that it should also print the number of girls and boys names, and the total names in the file. Q1 and 2 tripped me up, I did not read them properly, and entered the total number of births for the girls and boys respectively. Questions 9 to 12 also resulted me in having to call a temporary halt, and write an additional method that looped over all the files from 1880 to 2014 in order to get the answers to those questions. Fortunately, method getRank came to the rescue here, doing all of the hard work!

This was a lot of work! I did "week 4" in one week, but only because I was already on leave and could focus on the mini project for the entire week. The entire course took me 6-7 weeks to complete.

I learned a lot. It was a good course, and very challenging. My greatest concern with the format you are using (80% or you don't move on - or you don't qualify), is that one can become "unstuck" as I did in week 2, but managed to get past that one.

автор: Shumin Z

May 20, 2018

The overall quality of this course is great for beginners like me.

I really like how they sequence the videos as in a problem - abstraction - pseudo code - java code way.

Yet I have some thoughts I'd like to share with you guys. The first is that I saw less-than-average discussions in the forum, especially the professors/TAs seem to be less active than other courses I have taken in the past. The other is that after passing the whole course, I would personally very much like to see a sample answer given by teaching group or one selected from the student submissions. It helped a lot to see some of the details regarding logic and style in my previously courses. As for student submission, I knew some course has built a code submission system that would automatically grade the code based on ( I assume) multiple case testings.

автор: Dan H

Oct 19, 2015

As usual the 4 professors(presenters) have done an excellent job. The resources, videos, assignments and quizzes are very helpful, well thought out and comprehensive. They have done an enormous amount of work.

But there seem to be problems with the import edu.duke.* due to installation problems (e.g. Windows 10).

Maybe include 3 videos like:( example from other Coursera courses e.g. R Programming)

Installing BlueJ on a Mac

Installing BlueJ on Windows

Installing Bluej on (Mac) ; including these would enable me to give a rating of 5 stars.

For the beginner programmer this would help a lot.

I know there is the Discussions forum (very helpful) and students must sweat a bit to get BlueJ to work on some messy Operating Systems but this is my comment as a Beta Tester

автор: Tyler C

Mar 10, 2018

Basic, foundational use of problem solving in Java. Expects you to already understand basics of programming -- if, for, variable declaration and assignment, etc. These topics are touched on, but more or less assumed that you know them already. My biggest complaint is the BlueJ environment -- while it's fine and appropriate if you have no real previous experience, if you're used to more professional programming environments / text editors, using it is a miserable experience. It does its job (handling all of the dependency and build details for you so you don't have to learn that stuff yet), but please could they incorporate a decent text editor into it. Assignments take about twice as long as they would with a more reasonable text editor.

автор: Joseph G

Jan 16, 2017

I really enjoyed the coursework for this class. In particular, I loved how challenging some of the assignments were. However, I do hate that I cannot submit final quiz answers without paying for the course. I also did not like how little help there seemed to be offered to some individuals on the forum regarding issues they were facing with their code (specifically with the GeneFinder project).

I took three of the courses from Michigan on working with Python and they were completely open to complete without payment (which means you opt not to get a verified certificate). I wish that this course, and the specialization that it is part of, fell into the same category.

автор: Omar S

Sep 11, 2018

It is a very good course, with great examples and great instructions, except I think in the first week of the syllabus. There, the exercise questions were very tough compared to the examples given in the lectures. I was stuck in that area for a long time. Too long in fact. In the end I skipped the exercise and went ahead in the course, got a better idea of how stuff was supposed to work and then came back and attempted the 1st week's questions again. I checked the discussions forum too and found that I was not the only one with this problem. So if you guys could focus a bit more on explaining Week 1, that'd be great!

автор: Γεώργιος Κ

Mar 10, 2020

It is a useful course that can guide you successfully through Java if you have minimal previous experience. Assignments are good and interesting and also educational. The environment used (BlueJ) is not making your life easier and probably will not be used for professional purposes. That also makes all these libraries built on this environment not useful. The jshell should be used as an introductory IDE and perhaps NetBeans should be also mentioned. I would rate with something more than 4 stars but definitely not 5.

автор: Alexey C

Mar 24, 2018

Good challenges, good emphasis on relevant knowledge, but unreasoned instructions: had to rely more on myself and make my own programming exercises between some lectures to get comfortable with new material before moving on, as well as alterate some methods for better reuse during the exercises provided.

You can learn well from here, but pay attention, and dont afraid to exercise coding when you feel to

автор: Bruce W

Dec 16, 2019

Overall, this course was a decent introduction to Java and many related concepts. The only noticeable downside was the choice of development environment. The BlueJ environment is very lightweight, but fails to check for simple errors (e.g. use of == instead of .equals() for string comparison). It also lacks the convenience of auto-complete for variable names that almost all other free IDEs offer.

автор: Francisco A M

Apr 27, 2016

Except for a few problems regarding the clearness of some of the homeworks' statements, hence the stars, this is an excellent beginner's course for anyone interested in Java. I am currently taking the follow up course "Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data" and for the moment it seems as good as this one, although with the same few problems.

автор: Rafael d B A

Oct 16, 2015

Great course! One sugestão I have is to teaching how to use FileResource,URLResource, DirectoryResource, Pixel, ImageResource, etc, without using the edu.duke, because in the real word we don’t use this library. I know this library can facilitate the coding, but when the students use another IDE, they will not can do the same coding as they used on course.