Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
Оценки: 3,045
Рецензии: 586

О курсе

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Лучшие рецензии

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 574 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

автор: David N

Aug 08, 2016

You need a little more experience in coding that just the first course, or try not to leave everything by the end of the week(as I did) to find what you need for the assignments. Great course !

автор: Rathna S

May 16, 2017

I have just started the course, but it is way over my head. This should clearly be marked as intermediate, advanced or marked as for people already in IT industry.

автор: Lucas N

Mar 22, 2019

To say this course is for beginners is a misnomer.

I think if one has some familiarity with another programming language then yes - this could be a beginner course. I came into this course with zero formal programming knowledge and was completely overwhelmed by the pace and material. This course does not give the students any/enough "small wins" to build muscle memory and gain confidence.

I was drawn in by assumed time for completion. 4-8 hours/week sounded pretty good for the schedule of a working adult, however the 10-minute "assignments" consistently took me 6+ hours (most of the time spent calling/screen-sharing with my developer friend for help). Again, I think if one already has some programming knowledge (and therefore not *really* a 'beginner') then yes, this would probably take them that amount of time.

I folded almost at the end of week 2. To echo another review here, it seems the instructors forgot what it is like to be a beginner. The instructors assume too much about what their students know. Really kicking myself for spending the money trying to limp through this course.

If you are like me and starting without any experience, there are plenty of alternative free material actually geared towards 'beginners' that will give you the context and practice needed to actually comprehend the course material.

автор: Umar K

Apr 19, 2019

The assignment questions were very repetitive. A lot of times the assignment questions weren't clear. As opposed to spending a lot of time learning and debugging my code, it felt like I was doing rote work. The worst part about the course experience was the BlueJay IDE. It requires you to manually compile your code, then create a new instance of your class, then run the test method, after EVERY change.

автор: shelby p

Feb 11, 2019

Really poor course structure and material explanations. Canceling subscription.

автор: Theresa S

Feb 18, 2018

There are other OOP courses out there that are easier to follow & execute on assignments. The java editor used in this class is clunky and ridiculous and the assignment instructions seem out of date and disorganized - this class was infuriating. It takes simple assignments and obfuscates instructions.

автор: German

May 12, 2019

I'm so glad I've found this amazing course! Thank you!

автор: Hasan Ç

Feb 11, 2018

It was very instructive course. I recomend every people who want to take this course. I thank all the instructors who gave this lesson.

автор: Sergey S

May 21, 2019

Second week was a bit difficult to work with.

автор: Yuming C

Jun 03, 2019

A good experience! The programming exercise is interesting!

автор: Hanna B

Jun 02, 2019

Thanks a lot for improving my skills! This course is really great to succed in Java as a beginner:) A lot of interesting practical tasks!

автор: Тюрина В

Aug 09, 2019

Понравился курс, все понятно и подробно объясняется. Очень понравились практические задания!

автор: Jyotinder S

May 19, 2019

Really practical course content with great tutorials. The programming assignments are fun and challenging and deal with real world data and problems which makes the course all the more useful!

автор: VARUN M

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

автор: Chris C

Mar 29, 2018

Great course, it does help to have some background knowledge in another language but it is doable without any. goes through some fun projects but also some work usable items such as CSV parsing.

автор: Arjun B

Jan 25, 2019

Very difficult beginner course but possible with all the discussion forums and such but will require hours and hours of practice and time. Overall good course but time consuming and difficult for a beginner who is just starting out with programming. Not so bad for people with a few months or years of experience though which is why I'm giving 4/5 stars but would have given 2/5 stars from a beginner's perspective.

автор: Saunak S

Mar 26, 2019

Good practical use cases of Java have been given. The challenging quotient on some of the questions can be increased. For instance, the use of arrays to process CSV files, etc. But it was refreshing to do a Java course that didn't focus on the usual syntax and semantics but looked at real life examples.

автор: Branimir T

Jan 14, 2019

Very very helpful -- thank you!

автор: Michael R

Jan 15, 2019

ideal for beginners.

автор: Willem v S

Feb 01, 2019

Very instructive and nice course!

автор: Tridip B

Feb 03, 2019

This course is much better than the one taught in my College

автор: Divine V

Feb 03, 2019

")

автор: K. S

Dec 14, 2018

This course provides with all intermediate knowledge for a student to learn Java and do some extraordinary work.

I really enjoyed to complete my course.

автор: Jit D

Jan 04, 2019

Good material , great instructors, liked the pace. Wish there were more in lecture quizzes

автор: pratik k

Jan 05, 2019

best course i have learned online