Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 6,678
Рецензии: 1,398

О курсе

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Лучшие рецензии

AS
10 дек. 2020 г.

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

FA
7 окт. 2017 г.

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 1,393 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

автор: Sean E

27 янв. 2020 г.

Had to buy a SECOND JAVA book to get through this

автор: Yoni K

27 дек. 2020 г.

Not for begginers! too hard!

автор: Sowat H R

26 апр. 2020 г.

Too hard for beginners.

автор: Nancy W

11 сент. 2018 г.

I had been out of programming for many years, and decided to try this Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software course by Duke University on Coursera.org. I really liked the course! It is a great review for me of Java programming basics, without the technical jargon that goes along with object oriented programming. The really nice part is that I can see object oriented principles in action! I enjoyed the way Duke University uses the 7 step process for solving problems consistently through the course. They break problems down into small, manageable pieces, that build up to solving a larger problem. Some concepts include: Basic Java syntax, definitions of class, instance variables and methods (functions); variables, For each loops, While loops, Strings, Java types and Java mathematical operators. The assignments were interesting, and include calculating the perimeter of a shape, finding genes in a strand of DNA, working with CSV formatted files to analyze weather data and to find exports from different countries, and finishing with a MiniProject to find interesting trends in American Baby Names from a CSV formatted data files. The Honors assignment was also fun: processing multiple images to convert them to gray scale, or invert the images, and save them with a new filename. Another really nice aspect of this course is that you use a Duke University (on Coursera) version of BlueJ, an interactive design environment for creating Java programs - where everything is a class! The instructors at Duke have created their own java library, with classes to help new learners easily open and close files in the BlueJ environment, and work with Pixels in an image. Duke also has good documentation for each class, which to me, is better than the documentation on the java oracle website. While the Java documentation on the oracle website is still very difficult to read, I have gotten used to looking some documented class, like Strings, and clicking on the "methods" tab to look at what you can do with them. However, you really do not need to refer to the Java Oracle documentation to complete the assignments - all you need is the documentation from Duke University! I really liked this class!

автор: GU S H

13 июля 2021 г.

This is the second course of Java Programming and not for a very beginner with zero knowledge. Many people said "Assignment is too hard! " But remember that if you studied previous lectures and made the code in the lecture , you could solve every assignments. Even though I did not take the first course of Java Programming from duke univ, I solved every assignments and got score 100. Don't give up and Don't worry since Beginners CAN pass this course.

I give 5 stars because it's a very perfect course I've learned.

It has VERY SHORT video ( which you can studied more often) , INFINITE chance ( you can try infinite time to test your assignment and quiz so you feel confident at programming) and FUN !

Every professors in video explained JAVA programming easily and softly. My english is not good but I understood mostly though. I really appreciated to it. After getting certificate , I remembered 7 steps to make a code. I learned a lot about Java. thank you very much !!

프로그래밍 과제가 어렵다고 하는 사람이 많지만 , 강의를 충분히 듣고 강의에 나온 코드를 스스로 다시 공부한다면 쉽게 해결할 수 있어요. 토론 포럼이나 퀴즈 문제들을 참고하면 수월합니다. 아주 만족스러운 강의 였어요. 동영상도 짧고 간단하게 설명해줘서 머리에 쏙쏙 들어옵니다. 자바 쿠키 만드는 영상 너무 재밌었어요 ^^

автор: Timothy M

22 дек. 2020 г.

Reading some of the lower-rated reviews on this, I would caution to take the first course in the specialization, Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS. I would have certainly have been lost without it.

That said, this is a densely-packed course with a wealth of information, and the timeframe is a bit aggressive. However, it is definitely worth it, as you will come out with a strong base in Java methods and a deeper understanding of object-oriented programming.

The course uses a custom version of the BlueJ programming environment, along with a couple of custom libraries provided by Duke. Again, some people were critical of this decision, but I feel it was well-considered. The goal here is to teach fundamental concepts and programming, and by simplifying a few elements, the instructors were better able to focus on that,

The only criticism I would offer is that I wish they were using an online IDE instead, since that would be more "portable" and I could work on it anywhere, rather than being parked at my desk, but that is a minor quibble.

I highly recommend this course.

автор: Mahboob E

2 мар. 2017 г.

First two courses are awesome and really built the sense how to tackle real world problems like software engineer.I have learnt a lot from these two courses and eager to learn something new in upcoming course. I only knew very little about C++ and afraid from coding because i forgot syntax and couldn't built and fit logic correctly but after completing these two courses very good percentage in this specialization i feel comfortable towards any language. This specialization is gateway for other languages for me. It helps me to throw my hesitation in coding.

All teachers are good in delivering concept.Also the assignments and mini projects are really challenging , hence they polish concepts that teacher delivers in lectures.

Further more i really likes the shirts of Dr.Robert. I appreciate coursera and Duke MOOCS teams for organizing this very novice friendly to expert course on Java.

I hope and waiting for next serialization which leads from where this one left.

автор: Swarnesh R J

19 июня 2018 г.

This is a very well put together course, efficient lecture videos and some brilliant quiz exercises. But the expected times are way off. Some of the assignments which say that expected time is 10 mins might take hours even for an experienced coder, let alone a novice in this field. Moreover, I posted 4-5 threads on discussion forum and I never received even a single reply. If i have paid for this course I would expect to get my doubts cleared but the mentors and even the peers don't respond to discussion forum. One of the codes in a lecture video is actually incorrect and will not produce the desired output in one special case. I pointed that out in discussion forum but no one responded. So I did learn many things from this course but I never got my doubts cleared, so I would not recommend this course to a beginner.

автор: Jade F

2 дек. 2018 г.

This is a great first course to take at Coursera - you'll find the the content is high quality, the assignments progressively challenge you, and sets the tone that you're going to get a lot out of the courses but it's something you'll have to work for.

I thoroughly enjoyed the process of moving through the course and would recommend it to others, with the caveat that you're not going to just breeze through without putting in some time to focus on the assignments.

I definitely feel that I came away having advanced my skills and having accomplished something! That's the highest accolade you could give to any training.

Thanks!

автор: ZUsas

6 окт. 2018 г.

Beutifully done! Well organized. The assignments were challenging, but were well documented, so it was easy to follow along and complete them.

The two projects at the end of the course were terrific as well. I really enjoyed working on them and then showing them to friends and family.

The videos were clear, coherent and concise. I could watch them on the go and sometimes all at once. I loved that flexibility. The topics were also well chosen. Basic programming. But still quite challenging.

Excellent course! I highly recommend it. I look forward to completing the rest of the specialization as well.

автор: Elohim C

8 апр. 2020 г.

I'm very disappointed about the Baby Names quizes answers, It kept me 2 days finding the errors you set as correct answers, I had to modify my code in order to respond an incorrect answer. I can deal with Lecture erros like the one you stated that .getCSVParser(false) returns no header (False). The .getCSVParser(false) returns a header so the answer to getRank() returns an extra number wrong number that never gives you the rank 1. You should have fixed this error on the quiz so you don't frustrate the students with wrong answers. If you change the answers I'll change my one stars review to 5 stars.

автор: Sebastián C

10 февр. 2018 г.

I enjoyed it a lot, it was well explained and some of the quizzes were challenging enough to reestructure my method for testing my program more than one time. The videos were pretty good and I think they covered most of the subjects you needed to for the assignments. Of course, there is some practice you'll need to do by yourself sometimes and that includes going into the documentation and looking for some methods or clarifications but that is understandable, considering that in any course with some degree of difficulty you will need (most probably than not) to practice a bit in your home.

автор: NAVEEN R

5 мая 2020 г.

Wish I could give more ratings. I have always believed in project based learning where you learn something only if you are going to use it. This class first introduces some problem, then gives the tools to solve them and you don't have to remember every syntax. With practice, it just sticks in the brain.

This course is even better for those who are transitioning from similar language like C++ or C#. I myself used C++ for last few years. But this transition was so smooth. Really loved it. Looking to complete more Java Programming courses in this specialization.

Best Wishes!

автор: Belyaev

19 дек. 2015 г.

I really liked the course mainly due to providing a clear vision to all sub tasks needed to solve before and during programme development; I liked very much that the solution is started with problem statement and analysing; this helps to set good practice to problem solving and decision making: before digging into implementation one must understand the task; analyse it and get what is involved and needed to say the job is done and then find a solution, implement it and check that implemented solution does what it was intended to do; thank you very much for clarifying it

автор: Yang Y

2 апр. 2017 г.

I so much enjoyed this java tutorial class. The design of each clip/module is very humane and best for the learning from scratch. I have finished this class and the one after it (array list one). I feel very confident about learning Java language and I am heading for the next one (software design principal). I plan to finish all of the 5 courses and then buy the certificate so I will be sure I am not waste my tuition. I am leaving the 1st class (CSS, html) for the last one before capstone because it seems not so relevant to SDE training but more frontend/UI.

автор: Snigdha U

12 сент. 2018 г.

Loved the complete course.

Finished it within a week.

Coming from an automotive background having not done coding in the past 2 years, I had taken this course as a challenge.

I had very little knowledge of C++ and fair enough knowledge of MATLAB, and i found this course very engaging that i turned on my zombie studying mode and just did this until I finally finished it. Looking to take the next course in the specialization.

The instructors have done a splendid job and the efficacy of the course can be seen in the completion of the course by a student like me.

автор: Anand R

17 окт. 2017 г.

Excellent course. The instructors do a great job of introducing Java to the beginner. The assignments are VERY interesting. They are not the run of the mill small programming assignments that you might find in your average course. By the end of the course -- once you complete the mini-project -- you get the confidence that you know programming and can program at a high level. I highly recommend this course and this specialization. (I watched EVERY video, and completed EVERY assignment, mini-project and quiz in this course.)

автор: Yuliya K

3 сент. 2020 г.

This course is very helpful for beginners to learn how to interact with Strings, to get some basic knowledge about looking up info in the documentation, and to have some practice by writing methods from easier to harder ones. BlueJ environment is really easy to use and beginner-friendly. I would recommend giving more versatile test cases, as it was done by the mentor in Strings-Second-Assignment in Discussion Forums. Providing test cases with the expected result is invaluable and helps to improve the code.

автор: Matthew M N

18 июня 2020 г.

Way better quality than anticipated! It was comprehensive, detailed instructions and the right amount of just enough challenging assignments with some left to discover for yourself but not impossible really added to the experience. Compared to other online courses, I really felt the quality and methodology of the teaching, materials, interlaced questions and assignments and quizzes really all came together. One of the best online learning experiences ever! My compliments to the Duke U staff and Coursera!

автор: 李婷

30 сент. 2020 г.

Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software is a wonderful course for students from the kind of programming beginning. It is easy to start and the assignments are easy to be finished. The course material is basic but helpful. Unlike other Java courses, the assignments are highly harder than the course. This course I can master nearly every piece of the materials.

Thank all the teachers and staff members! The course not only teaches me knowledge but also give me the self-confidence to learn more.

автор: Edward F

10 июня 2017 г.

I took the full Specialization, so I'm going write the same review for each of the 5 modules.

This is a great course, but it's not for beginners. They ask you to do a lot of coding, which is great since that's the only way to really gain proficiency. And the code they ask you to write is, in my opinion, pretty hard for someone new to coding. My hat's off to someone new to programming who makes it through the five modules.

So, thanks to Duke for putting together a great course. It was very good.

автор: Alexander E S R

24 окт. 2020 г.

This has been one of the best courses I've taken so far. I highly recommend it to anyone who whishes to get a really solid Java syntax concept, as well as putting into practice all of the learned theory from the lectures found through this wonderful course. The teachers have an excellent teaching technique, and all of the course is easy to understand, but there are no challenges missing, specially regarding the quizzes we take as enrolled students. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

автор: Robert K

9 июля 2020 г.

Great course! Really helped me get to grips with Java in preparation for my master's program. There are a few omissions, like making sure people know to import the different libraries in earlier problem sets, and there was a weird "trick" question where the answer was that there was only one gene in a very long string of DNA which was just kind of unhelpful cause I debugged that for a while before realizing I had the right answer all along. Overall great course!

автор: Sarah M

11 июля 2020 г.

I've completed 4 different courses to date on Coursera and this is by far the most immediately transferable across different disciplines. I've already started playing with the ideas and coding knowledge learnt for my own use and with examples of my data from work. These 2 Duke courses I have done so far have been excellently laid out and the coding assignments meticulously checked with quizzes so I feel that I am learning and can't wait to keep going!

автор: Bryan Y

1 окт. 2016 г.

I would have preferred a more mainstream compiler, i.e. Eclipse, rather than the provided BlueJ. But, the BlueJ compiler is capable and the lessons taught were appropriate to one with minimal programming background. Not stated, but I would recommend a student in this course have a basic understanding of math, i.e. average, highest in a set, lowest in a set, etc. If you are intimidated by those concepts, you may be challenged in this course.