Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 4,413
Рецензии: 904

О курсе

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Лучшие рецензии

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 890 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

автор: Bryan Y

Oct 01, 2016

I would have preferred a more mainstream compiler, i.e. Eclipse, rather than the provided BlueJ. But, the BlueJ compiler is capable and the lessons taught were appropriate to one with minimal programming background. Not stated, but I would recommend a student in this course have a basic understanding of math, i.e. average, highest in a set, lowest in a set, etc. If you are intimidated by those concepts, you may be challenged in this course.

автор: Szymon T

Mar 26, 2016

Very nice introduction to Java. Of course using BlueJ and EduDuke libraries (that is libraries crafted specifically for the course that are nor used in real life) gives this feeling of not coding for real. But that's good. Real coding comes in the later courses of this specialization so this approach seems to be very good for introducing people to Java without wasting to much time to details being unimportant on the early stages of learning.

автор: Brendan

Oct 11, 2019

This class is a gentle, beginner-friendly introduction to programming in Java. There are lots of short, interesting programming assignments that help provide an immediate application for the concepts covered in the lectures/quizzes. While it's not listed, I'd say that students should be generally familiar with basic math (on the order of high-school algebra) and the basics of how computers work (in terms of file systems, etc.).

автор: Lourdes R

Jun 24, 2020

This is a good introduction. You don't need much background in formal programming. I came in knowing only MatLab and that was more than enough to get me through the course. If you don't have any background, I recommend watching the first two chapters of the youtube videos they recommend at the beginning of the course. In a snapshot, you will learn about: classes, objects, strings, loops, conditional statements, and csv files.

автор: Joseph P

Dec 21, 2017

I was a bit nervous after the first week because there's a LOT packed into the end of week exercises. On the one hand, it enabled me to learn quite a bit but the inaccurate time estimates (10 mins) were way off. I would plan on at least 2-4 hours doing the exercises at the end of each week. That's NOT a bad thing because DOING is the best way to learn. The presentation videos were top notch and I'm glad I powered through.

автор: HIMANI D

May 31, 2020

I came to learn the basic seven step processing which is really helpful for solving any kind of program may it be java or any other language. the way the lecturers have explained was really pleasing. the discussion forums were helpful to the best and we get the reply from the mentor within a day.This course was really a great start and i will definitely look forward to uptake few more courses from coursera.

THANK YOU

автор: Srijan K

Jan 26, 2020

In this course I learnt about method to break down any complex problem into simpler form and then implementing it using java programming.The fascinating thing that I learnt in this course was to solve real world based problem using java programming.

I highly recommend this course to student who are new to computer programming and want to learn more about solving real world based problem using computer programming.

автор: Amitesh S B

Jan 07, 2018

Excellent course, I loved the projects at the end of each week. The tasks looked daunting at first, but as I began solving the problems and completing tasks one by one, it did not feel scary. The thing that I loved the most about this course is the satisfaction it provides at the end of the course, I can't praise this course enough. Its the best course on Coursera I have ever taken. Nothing comes close to this.

автор: MD R K

Apr 23, 2020

This course helped give me a very sound knowledge on how to solve problems in Java. It greatly helped as the instructors were very precise and gave clear instructions. The seven steps on how to form an algorithm for any given problem has greatly developed my problem skills. I am really grateful to Coursera for giving me the opportunity to get to learn from venerable teachers at Duke University.

автор: Demetrius l

Jan 25, 2019

Everything is explained so simple and tests are challenging but completely referenced in the chapter. As long as you pay attention and review anything that you get the first time around. I believe anyone can take this course and get a excellent understanding of programming with Java and Object Oriented programming. Great job guys! I don't think i could have learned Java without you!

автор: kartik s

Dec 21, 2017

Not a beginner friendly course. One Must know basic Java like how to how to import libraries, basic syntax , etc. to proceed. Other than that the course is great. I really enjoyed doing Assignments,Quizzes they are challenging and also introduced some new concepts. They may feel repetitive but will help you properly grasp the concepts. Overall, I really enjoyed the experience.

автор: AKASH K S

Nov 26, 2016

This is really an outstanding course that pushed me to a limit. I have learned a lot and looking forward to take Intermediate course in java by University of California, San Diego.

I would recommend this course and especially the whole specialisation to every one who is looking to learn java Instructor are very good and teach you every think from basic level.

Thank you.

автор: Shereen H

Dec 08, 2015

Great course, nicely explained. I liked the hints the instructors passed in the videos when they "intentionally" make some mistakes, it really helps. I also liked the "unintentional" mistakes when they do the live coding, it shows the different coding styles. By the end of the course I managed to write some functions without any syntax errors. Thank you very much.

автор: 钟卓昀

Nov 22, 2017

I think this course is very good for students who already have basic programming knowledge to begin to study Java with. The material is very practical and interesting. Following the small projects you will gradually acquire the knowledge about Java and rogramming logic. And I like the teachers a lot. Their lectures are instructive and motivative. Thank you Duke!

автор: TRIEU Q M

May 08, 2020

This course is very basic and really useful for person who starts on the programming/java. Not just knowledge on java but also the programming logic. From identify problem, solve it with java, and test. Learner can see a software development cycle here. Throughout the video, there are many key points about programming skill, like refractory code...

автор: Shivam k

Jan 29, 2020

First of all I would like to thanks Coursera for giving me this golden opportunity to learn this course. I will always be grateful to you. Talking about this course, this course is very useful for me. Learning with experienced and skillful professors would be a great privilege for me. I recommend this course to all beginners who want to learn Java.

автор: Talgatbek K

Nov 19, 2018

Thanks a lot for amount of time and patience you guys put to make this course available and I have to say I love your style. it has enough information to find the answer but not over kill by any means. I like that you guys teaching how to program but not just mechanic of it. Learning the java is just pleasant side effect of it.

Thank you all

автор: Chitraank S

May 16, 2020

I won't suggest a complete beginner to start right away from this but the once who have brushed their concept shall take this to develop a broader thinking process and a better understanding of the best level applications taught in this subject. Trust me you will learn a lot if you know all basic syntax and methods. Specially STRINGS IN JAVA ;)

автор: Abdul M A K

Jun 28, 2017

One of the best and hardest course. But worth the effort. each drop of "sweat" on this course was spot on.

The only drawback was the non availability of test cases and lack of mentors in the course. The test cases ar really important for an amateur programmer.

The first Java course had excellent moderators but this course unfortunately didnot.

автор: Muhammad F B J

May 21, 2020

Well designed with great problem solving questions set to help develop algorithmic thinking! However, some of the problems may seem a bit too difficult for beginners. Personally I have some programming knowledge, hence making it easier. Nevertheless I wont say it's impossible for those with zero knowledge. With perseverance anyone can do it!

автор: Lavanya T

Jun 27, 2019

A really interesting course. Well structured course curriculum and well framed quizzes and assignments. A bit higher than the beginner level but the discussion forums helped me get through. I would really recommend this to all the beginners as it has an offers an amazing opportunity to get aware of the scope and usage of programming.

автор: Meher G

May 31, 2020

I didn't use to like coding much, to be frank. I hated it. This course made me understand code and also how to write code. Once I realized it, I am starting to like it. I find it interesting on how to create algorithms and run those. This course was beneficial to me. Now, I will go ahead and will complete the rest of this course.

автор: Kostakiotis N

Sep 01, 2016

It's a very good introductory course that I will definitely suggest to anyone who wants to start over. The videos and especially the programming assignments are wonderful. But if you don't pay for a certificate you will not be able to participate in the module quizzes, a bit frustrating when you put a serious amount of effort.

автор: Maruf H

Nov 29, 2017

It's a nice introduction to java course. I'm an intermediate level java programmer. It was a great course to review my java programming understanding. I learned a lot from the course. Instructors give real life example to teach programming. I like this methodology.

Beginners have to give extra effort to pass the course.

автор: Md. A

May 15, 2020

The course is good for software engineers to learn how to program and solve real world problems using Java. The practical exercises are good for hands on learning. My only complains is about the IDE used for development. BlueJ, it has no Intellisense or auto completion support which is necessary for faster coding.