Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 5,325
Рецензии: 1,115

О курсе

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Лучшие рецензии

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 1,099 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

автор: Lucas N

Mar 22, 2019

To say this course is for beginners is a misnomer.

I think if one has some familiarity with another programming language then yes - this could be a beginner course. I came into this course with zero formal programming knowledge and was completely overwhelmed by the pace and material. This course does not give the students any/enough "small wins" to build muscle memory and gain confidence.

I was drawn in by assumed time for completion. 4-8 hours/week sounded pretty good for the schedule of a working adult, however the 10-minute "assignments" consistently took me 6+ hours (most of the time spent calling/screen-sharing with my developer friend for help). Again, I think if one already has some programming knowledge (and therefore not *really* a 'beginner') then yes, this would probably take them that amount of time.

I folded almost at the end of week 2. To echo another review here, it seems the instructors forgot what it is like to be a beginner. The instructors assume too much about what their students know. Really kicking myself for spending the money trying to limp through this course.

If you are like me and starting without any experience, there are plenty of alternative free material actually geared towards 'beginners' that will give you the context and practice needed to actually comprehend the course material.

автор: Rathna S

May 16, 2017

I have just started the course, but it is way over my head. This should clearly be marked as intermediate, advanced or marked as for people already in IT industry.

автор: Paul W

Sep 29, 2019

Very disappointing for me. I chose the course to learn the fundamentals of Java, but it is really everything but motivating. The lessons are short and kept very easy and informative, but for the assignments you have to do things that were never mentioned anywhere, so you spend hours of research online on how to do the assignments. That's not why I wanted to visit a course, hours of frustrating online research I can also have while learning it on my own

автор: shelby p

Feb 11, 2019

Really poor course structure and material explanations. Canceling subscription.

автор: Theresa S

Feb 18, 2018

There are other OOP courses out there that are easier to follow & execute on assignments. The java editor used in this class is clunky and ridiculous and the assignment instructions seem out of date and disorganized - this class was infuriating. It takes simple assignments and obfuscates instructions.

автор: David N

Aug 08, 2016

You need a little more experience in coding that just the first course, or try not to leave everything by the end of the week(as I did) to find what you need for the assignments. Great course !

автор: Umar K

Apr 19, 2019

The assignment questions were very repetitive. A lot of times the assignment questions weren't clear. As opposed to spending a lot of time learning and debugging my code, it felt like I was doing rote work. The worst part about the course experience was the BlueJay IDE. It requires you to manually compile your code, then create a new instance of your class, then run the test method, after EVERY change.

автор: Eric B

Apr 15, 2020

I signed up for this course because I really liked the first one regarding HTML, CSS and JS. I was very happy with that one,I felt I learned a lot and was well organized(I gave it 5/5).

This one, however, is the opposite. The gap of difficulty between this course and the previous one is abysmal. I am aware that they are completely different things but both courses are categorized as for beginners. I ended up being able to finish the course but only because I have a friend who's a programmer who helped almost every step of the way. The teachers are still really good and the forums help, but the difficulty and the fact that at times the course feels out of order (I found week's 3 and 4 easier than 1 and 2).

So I would recommend you only do this course if you have an intermediate level (what is explained in the videos will seem basic but the assignments will be challenging). However, you're a beginner, I'd recommend you do their first course on HTML, CSS and JS and find another course to learn Java.

автор: Hesam E

Feb 13, 2020

Literally one of the worst courses I've ever seen in twenty years of studying. No evaluation (correction check) for assignments, no reading material is provided by the instructors (except for the two million free websites they refer which makes this course pointless.). I believe this course is meant to make the most money with the least contribution. I regret I paid one month for this course.

PS. If you want to know what a helpful course should be, you may take a look at the course "Python Classes and Inheritance" by university of Michigan. This course: 1-Has step by step reading material, 2-Benefits from an online Python interface that could be used for assignments and quizzes.

автор: Chris C

Mar 29, 2018

Great course, it does help to have some background knowledge in another language but it is doable without any. goes through some fun projects but also some work usable items such as CSV parsing.

автор: Jason D

Jul 06, 2020

This course teaches some basics, but it doesn't really explain them. The pace is also quite fast. Additionally, there is too much focus on importing libraries and using functions/methods from those libraries. The course should be focusing on methods, variables, strings, etc, but instead shoves obscure methods from the libraries down the throats of the students. The instructors of this course do this so that the students can feel like they're coding something important using predefined methods, but in reality they should be focusing on the basics instead.

автор: Olga V

Nov 09, 2018

Do not recommend this course and this specialization for beginners. The first part of the specialization was even good, bit this one went considerably worse. Maybe worthy to make only if you have an experienced developer on your side to help you. Most likely, you're going to be really frustrated. Had high expectations on this courses, sadly was disappointed. Poor and unclear explanations, too complicated and multiple assignments, everything moves too fast for a beginner. Plus using a BlueJ environment which nobody in a real world uses.

автор: VARUN M

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

автор: Jyotinder S

May 19, 2019

Really practical course content with great tutorials. The programming assignments are fun and challenging and deal with real world data and problems which makes the course all the more useful!

автор: Hanna B

Jun 02, 2019

Thanks a lot for improving my skills! This course is really great to succed in Java as a beginner:) A lot of interesting practical tasks!

автор: Hasan Ç

Feb 11, 2018

It was very instructive course. I recomend every people who want to take this course. I thank all the instructors who gave this lesson.

автор: Yuming C

Jun 03, 2019

A good experience! The programming exercise is interesting!

автор: German

May 12, 2019

I'm so glad I've found this amazing course! Thank you!

автор: Arjun B

Jan 25, 2019

Very difficult beginner course but possible with all the discussion forums and such but will require hours and hours of practice and time. Overall good course but time consuming and difficult for a beginner who is just starting out with programming. Not so bad for people with a few months or years of experience though which is why I'm giving 4/5 stars but would have given 2/5 stars from a beginner's perspective.

автор: Saunak S

Mar 26, 2019

Good practical use cases of Java have been given. The challenging quotient on some of the questions can be increased. For instance, the use of arrays to process CSV files, etc. But it was refreshing to do a Java course that didn't focus on the usual syntax and semantics but looked at real life examples.

автор: Sergey S

May 21, 2019

Second week was a bit difficult to work with.

автор: Subhrangshu A

Nov 05, 2018

Course taught up to like beginner level, assignments are like PhD level. Need to read from other sources, in depth, to solve these assignments.

автор: Суслина Э В

Apr 09, 2016

It is really not for beginners. The first week was ok , but we didn't spend much time coding. Then it was really difficult to follow.

автор: Andreas M

Oct 17, 2017

i think its not for beginners

автор: Wesley N

Jan 22, 2020

The course content was excellent. I highly recommend taking this class for anyone who wants to get a quick start in java or refresh it after a long time off. The exercises are wonderful at introducing basic problem solving skills by way of highly relevant real world examples.

If you are familiar with another programming language, especially a less demanding one like Python, this course will help you get used to the more rigorous requirements of Java syntax.

Now, why the two stars? Week 4 is fraught with errors. If you code the final project EXACTLY as asked in the assignment, using the EXACT definitions of all methods, the highest score you can get on the quiz is a 42. In other words, you must code and provide incorrect answers to pass the test. These mistakes have been pointed out repeatedly to moderators in the user forums for several years and no changes have been made to address the errors in the curriculum. Because this is a paid service, I find that highly unacceptable.