Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.7
Оценки: 333
Рецензии: 60

О курсе

Ever wonder how Netflix decides what movies to recommend for you? Or how Amazon recommends books? We can get a feel for how it works by building a simplified recommender of our own! In this capstone, you will show off your problem solving and Java programming skills by creating recommender systems. You will work with data for movies, including ratings, but the principles involved can easily be adapted to books, restaurants, and more. You will write a program to answer questions about the data, including which items should be recommended to a user based on their ratings of several movies. Given input files on users ratings and movie titles, you will be able to: 1. Read in and parse data into lists and maps; 2. Calculate average ratings; 3. Calculate how similar a given rater is to another user based on ratings; and 4. Recommend movies to a given user based on ratings. 5. Display recommended movies for a given user on a webpage....

Лучшие рецензии

GW

Feb 19, 2016

I really like this approach to a final project. I learned a lot outside of the course by using a different, full-featured IDE and writing unit tests for my code. Pretty challenging!

CT

Sep 17, 2018

Challenging, but I feel that I learned a lot about programming. I'm looking forward to the UCSD intermediate programming course.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 58 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System

автор: Rudik E

Feb 04, 2016

It was Great!

автор: Mario P

Sep 15, 2016

I've learned a lot of how to build a programs in object-oriented language. Thanks a lot, it is the best course I've attended.

автор: Musa M N

May 22, 2017

Just Good!

автор: Diar S

Feb 26, 2018

good course and very interesting things to learn.

автор: AKASH K S

Jan 31, 2017

This is a excellent course and covers all the concept taught in the entire Specialization.

автор: David N M

Jul 01, 2016

Excellent course with outstanding instructors. Requires commitment

автор: greg w

Feb 19, 2016

I really like this approach to a final project. I learned a lot outside of the course by using a different, full-featured IDE and writing unit tests for my code. Pretty challenging!

автор: Chew W Y

Jun 17, 2016

Succinct and fun material, rating movies that is relevant to most. Thanks instructors!

автор: Arunabh G

Nov 17, 2016

This Caption project will help you to apply and have better understanding of the 5 courses in this specialization.

автор: Roman

Feb 06, 2016

Excellent course! I really enjoyed this! Realy cool project!!!

автор: Devul N

Nov 05, 2017

This course has a perfect capstone project, that really requires all of your understanding from the previous courses to come together. The Movie Recommended System may seem challenging as little help is provided to help you make it, but once you finally make it, its one of the best things you can show off. Thanks for an amazing course!

автор: Zachary F

Mar 02, 2017

Really enjoyed this project and I think it did a good job bringing the whole specialization together. Personally, I took more autonomy on how to solve the problems but I think the structure of the quizzes in this section allowed me to do that. In all, it was a fantastic way for me to solidify what I have learned, from the 7-step process and debugging to using online resources to figure out new logic. Thanks!

автор: Matios D

Mar 28, 2019

Great course.

автор: Abrar H

Jul 01, 2019

Well paced Course!

автор: Suhash B

Jul 07, 2019

This has helped me enhance my knowledge in Java Programming.

автор: Dojung K

Aug 28, 2019

This is so nice project to understand all of the fundamentals of Java Programming. So rewarding. Thank you.

автор: Tanmay G

Aug 30, 2019

Amazing Capstone Project!! I loved it! Really good specialization.....

Highly recommended!

автор: Humam H E

Oct 10, 2019

great

автор: zhangjinqiang

Oct 11, 2019

it's very practical and not too difficult for Java starters.

автор: Manju A

Oct 17, 2019

THe courses really tested my overall knowledge of other courses that I have done in past 3 months. REally great learning. Thank you.

автор: Guangchen X

Mar 01, 2019

Not enough submissions to review at the end. So not very friendly to self pace learning. Had to wait to review other people's submissions before complete the course, which may waste some time since it's paid by month.

автор: Peter G W

Jan 14, 2019

This whole series really challenged me but I've learned more from this course than any of my other previous attempts to learn programming. I feel a lot more confident now taking on more challenges in software development. There were some homework problems near the end that could have been explained a little better (sometimes I was overthinking it). I also felt that perhaps instead of BlueJ, I would've liked to use something like Eclipse in order to better understand the main() function. All in all, I would definitely recommend this course for those interested in programming or wanting to learn Java.

автор: Lei H

Jun 10, 2018

Very interesting project!

автор: 罗杰彬

Feb 11, 2016

It's a great course. Students build a simple search engine step by step in the course.

автор: Kerstin K

May 28, 2017

Course was good, great programming assignments.

But you can forget the discussion forums. No Mentors or Staff really present.