Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Principles of Software Design

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Principles of Software Design от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 1,403

О курсе

Solve real world problems with Java using multiple classes. Learn how to create programming solutions that scale using Java interfaces. Recognize that software engineering is more than writing code - it also involves logical thinking and design. By the end of this course you will have written a program that analyzes and sorts earthquake data, and developed a predictive text generator. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Use sorting appropriately in solving problems; 2. Develop classes that implement the Comparable interface; 3. Use timing data to analyze empirical performance; 4. Break problems into multiple classes, each with their own methods; 5. Determine if a class from the Java API can be used in solving a particular problem; 6. Implement programming solutions using multiple approaches and recognize tradeoffs; 7. Use object-oriented concepts including interfaces and abstract classes when developing programs; 8. Appropriately hide implementation decisions so they are not visible in public methods; and 9. Recognize the limitations of algorithms and Java programs in solving problems. 10. Recognize standard Java classes and idioms including exception-handling, static methods, java.net, and java.io packages....

Лучшие рецензии

OI

7 авг. 2019 г.

My confidence level in Java programming has grown significantly since completing this specialisation. It gave me the necessary knowledge and practice I need to take up a role as a software engineer.

VS

3 мая 2020 г.

Well designed and well structured with the packages, resources, programming exercises and practice quiz. I appreciate the team's hard work in delivering good knowledge on the subject efficiently.

Фильтр по:

201–225 из 239 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Principles of Software Design

автор: Abhi S

9 мая 2020 г.

Some of instructions are incmplete or unclear otherwise very good course for starting

автор: Kareem E

7 февр. 2016 г.

the course material is really interesting , but it seems to be a little bit hard .

автор: Alexandre C

29 мая 2017 г.

Nice job in getting complicated things simple ! Congrats to the Duke's team.

автор: Sachin k

22 июля 2017 г.

Very good course .. important for any wanna be programmer or beginner

автор: Liton M

3 сент. 2020 г.

Very helpful course that can be add more value in my career.

автор: Saleh S

31 дек. 2018 г.

You need to explain Exceptions and interfaces more deeply

автор: Liusicong

15 февр. 2016 г.

The homework is too time consuming.

автор: Jinxin Z

7 февр. 2020 г.

week 3 may need more explanation

автор: sourabh c

20 окт. 2020 г.

very good course learn a lot .

автор: Aishwary B

23 июля 2020 г.

Good beginner course

автор: Shubham K

20 июня 2022 г.

It's really nice

автор: Himanshu K

17 авг. 2020 г.

fabulous course

автор: Joshua A

12 дек. 2021 г.

awesome

автор: Doaa S M Y

18 апр. 2020 г.

goods

автор: vacous

30 янв. 2017 г.

The structure of the lectures as well as the assignments might need some redesign.

In the lecture, I think it might be better to explain the algorithm very clearly without talking about any coding details first, and then have some lectures explaining the code implementation. Right now, the coding implementation and the algorithm explainations are mixed together in a way that is not really easy to digest.

However, I really appreciate the solid content of this course. The markov assignment is a actual assignment copied from the CS201 course in Duke. Moreover, it is implemented with even a more sophisticated and better desiged structure. In the CS201, the concept of inheritance is not introduced yet. For all of you who made it to week03 assignment, you can applaud yourselves.

Sadly, the assignment design of this course is very disappointing. Despite its rich content, it requires the students to take a long time to adjust some details at some corner of the method to do the quiz question. It is very error prone and tedious. The final quizs need some simplification in the structure or format.

Overall, I still recommend people taking this course. Very Good content. Just be prepared for the assignment, it really needs a considerable amount of patience and efforts.

автор: Sujitha G

11 июня 2019 г.

Overall, this course is pretty good and it helps to learn the basics of Java Interfaces. However, Week 3 was very confusing and discussion posts were not at all helpful in the forums. I am having a lot of trouble with the random text generator (assignment one) and I can not move on until I get that one method correctly. I was not able to understand the getRandomText() method, therefore it was very difficult to do MarkovFour. Especially, when MarkovOne was not even working. The readings had VERY confusing wording and I believe the grammar caused confusion. However, it could have been a typo. That is why I gave this specific course a 3 star rating.

автор: Boğaçhan A

21 июня 2017 г.

This course was a content-overload when compared to the others. The coursework was a lot heavier and harder. But in the end it was all worth it. The only problem is that when you got stuck, the problem could be in many places since the guides did not give a chance test the code regularly as in the previous courses. Other than that, I can feel the improvement.

автор: Cullen B

31 дек. 2016 г.

Despite having a strong engineering background, I found this course poorly communicated. The heavy use of technical jargon makes the concepts (which are intended to be simple) over complicated. The predictive text is interesting but simple exercises are needed to clearly teach abstraction and interfaces clearly.

автор: Raoul P

5 янв. 2018 г.

In Course 4, week 3, an assignment (EfficientMarkovModel) is poorly explained, and understandable only with the context of the following text. This was initially confusing to me. Otherwise, I found the course to be similarly good as the previous ones.

автор: Pawel D

11 янв. 2016 г.

Some interesting concepts are being taught, but the course is uneven. The first project required a lot of work, while the last week had no project at all.

Minor errors in videos and programming assignments. Somewhat messy code.

автор: Saurabh C

29 июня 2019 г.

while the course is structured well, there is almot zero support when one gets stuck. Coursera has not maintained an active forum, unlike other platforms. It ends up wasting a lot of time for us.

автор: Peter G W

24 дек. 2018 г.

Near the end of the course it was very difficult to get programs working exactly as intended. I felt the instructions could have been clearer, especially in Week 3's assignments.

автор: Frank T

12 июля 2019 г.

Principles are usually explained with code where analogies or schematics would have been more appropriate.

Quizzes are sometimes poor.

Help is hard to get on the forum.

автор: Kevin E

16 окт. 2020 г.

A little intense for the last parts of the course, such as NGrams and such Predictive Text, as the questions were very very very ambiguous and not very guiding.

автор: Nuggu S V R

4 июля 2016 г.

Please show the quiz answers for verification purpose since we have to buy the course to submit answers