Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python от партнера Школа бизнеса EDHEC

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 229
Рецензии: 66

О курсе

The practice of investment management has been transformed in recent years by computational methods. This course provides an introduction to the underlying science, with the aim of giving you a thorough understanding of that scientific basis. However, instead of merely explaining the science, we help you build on that foundation in a practical manner, with an emphasis on the hands-on implementation of those ideas in the Python programming language. This course is the first in a four course specialization in Data Science and Machine Learning in Asset Management but can be taken independently. In this course, we cover the basics of Investment Science, and we'll build practical implementations of each of the concepts along the way. We'll start with the very basics of risk and return and quickly progress to cover a range of topics including several Nobel Prize winning concepts. We'll cover some of the most popular practical techniques in modern, state of the art investment management and portfolio construction. As we cover the theory and math in lecture videos, we'll also implement the concepts in Python, and you'll be able to code along with us so that you have a deep and practical understanding of how those methods work. By the time you are done, not only will you have a foundational understanding of modern computational methods in investment management, you'll have practical mastery in the implementation of those methods....

Лучшие рецензии

LL

Dec 12, 2019

This is one of the best online courses which combines the knowledge of Finance and Python. In fact, with python as a tool, I can have a better understanding of the theory behind it.

MG

Mar 23, 2020

Highly recomand you to type all the codes in Lab-Session, after this course you will improve both of your programming skills and theoretical fundament in investment management.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 68 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python

автор: Benny P

Nov 27, 2019

Coming from programming background and being less theoretical, I have mixed review about this course. This course is taught by two instructors. The theory, taught by prof Lionel, is not really clear for me. The math has gone too far and too deep and overall they made things more complicated than they should. I often had to resolve to external sources to understand what the topic being discussed. The lab sessions, taught by Vijay, on the other hand is very enjoyable to follow. It's clear and clarifies the topic being taught. Vijay is not just some financial engineer that can code Python. He's very good at it. Even I with 5+ Python coding years have learnt many new tricks from his videos. Coming to the week four however, things went downhill fast. The theory is too abstract, while the videos are just too long! I think we have two or more videos with around 1 hour duration, and this is just too much.

автор: Lyle D

Oct 26, 2019

Currently half-way through the course. I am really enjoying it. I am learning a lot about portfolio management and python, which is the best of both worlds for me.

The professors are excellent. Dr Vaidyanathan's lectures and labs ensure that the student learns the material and his love of the subject is infectious.

автор: Leo L

Dec 12, 2019

This is one of the best online courses which combines the knowledge of Finance and Python. In fact, with python as a tool, I can have a better understanding of the theory behind it.

автор: Asif R

Jan 04, 2020

Very Useful course to have a hands-on understanding of how to apply Finance concepts in investments through Python. Lectures are provided in a very succinct manner and the lab sessions are fluidly constructed. Plenty of useful python codes will get compiled in edhec_risk_kit for future use.

автор: Alexandre M

Nov 25, 2019

Very useful course. Both teachers are good to transmit their knowledge at a decent pace. the balance between theoretical courses and labv sessions is perfect.

автор: Viktor R

Jan 17, 2020

Loved it, one of the best courses I have ever taken. Only wished I had more time to spend on it, limits of what you will learn are mostly upon yourself.

автор: javier m

Nov 17, 2019

Great course will continue with the rest of the courses

автор: Serg D

Nov 19, 2019

This was a great course, really good materials, great exercises, no unreasonable tasks. Great introduction into Python in finance. One thing I would say that this course is not for beginners. Prior Python knowledge will be highly beneficial. The reason why I am giving 4 is due to the lack of support in forums.

автор: Eduardo d M R

Nov 18, 2019

Risk Kit code needs revision from instructors! Also, it would be nice to have some feedback regarding the graded quizzes and a bit more presence on the forum. Overall, a very nice course to be introduced into Portfolio Management: would recommend with caution, nonetheless.

автор: Zee

Jan 26, 2020

This is an excellent course on employing Python to make asset allocation decisions. The concepts are well-explained and the pace is quite brisk. A student can really benefit by following and redoing the Python code themselves.

For that, I would highly recommend going through the excellent Numpy, Pandas tutorials on the Enthought youtube channel, before the first week. Secondly, the course expects an understanding of Asset Allocation concepts, and it will be prudent to read up on 'Modern Portfolio Theory: Efficient and Optimal Portfolios' before the second week.

I admit that I cannot write the sophisticated code for last modules (Dr. Vijay Vaidyanathan made it look as effortless as reading a newspaper), but the course has given me the confidence that I can do that after coming up to speed on Python.

That is also my suggestion for improving the course that maybe some of the more sophisticated techniques be pushed out to later modules while building up python and asset allocation knowledge in the first module.

After finishing the course, it's quite satisfying to examine the mutual fund results, and understand how they were generated or how target date funds work or what's the logic behind the 60/40 asset allocation portfolio.

автор: Fabien N

Jan 21, 2020

This course is one of the best course I ever took on Coursera (I have completed about 20) !!! If not the best ! The lectures are clear and the lab sessions are very helpful to understand concepts and use them by digging into the implementation. And Python notions are given along the way, which makes you feel that you are following a finance class and at the same time learning new Python features smoothly ! The last week of the course was slightly less clear and thus little bit harder, but I totally recommend this course !

автор: Kai C

Feb 09, 2020

Both two instructors are really good, patient, detail-oriented, and knowledgeable. This course is quite useful for you to gain skills in Python and its associated popular packages such as Numpy, Pandas, and Seaborn. Portfolio strategies such as CPPI and LDI are quite important and are introduced fully here. The course however takes a bit long time to finish, if you really want to make the most of it, because you must follow the long-hours labs. But I think it is worthy to spend such great amount of time.

автор: Runar A Ø

Dec 12, 2019

This course is very well presented and gives the reader the necessary practical skills. After short theoretical videos, most of the time is spent implementing the models in Python, and gradually building a module of functions used for constructing portfolios and visualising the data. Some of the Python code is not completely elementary so I would advice you to spend a bit more time and code everything yourself line by line and understand what's going on.

автор: Francisco S

Feb 09, 2020

The course is a great balance between theory and application. The content overall is great. I really enjoyed the emphasis on python implementations of the concepts taught. It is rare to find a course that has good theory AND good coding practices for data analysis. The instructor makes use of the libraries commonly used in industry (I work as a data scientist in a US startup). Highly recommended!

автор: Rehan I

Mar 30, 2020

This was an amazing course! The lab sessions are the key - I feel I will have a hard skill to take away from this course and code I can re-use in my career. Vijay in particular is an excellent teacher and makes sure you understand every step of the code. Where I didn't understand something, I posted in the discussion forums and got a really prompt reply that cleared things up. Thank you.

автор: Daniel T O

Jan 27, 2020

There is such an incredible amount of useful information in the course. The information is paired with exceptional professors who communicate it extremely effectively. The lab sessions in this course are incredible and serve as a guide to implement techniques learned in the course (and to build on them) on new datasets. Thank you so much for putting this course on Coursera!

автор: Alexander D

Jan 26, 2020

Great course all-around. Extensive materials in both the theory and praxis. I really liked the code-along lab sessions (which are 100% bug free) and the exams, as those require you to actually perform calculations instead of just reciting parts of the classwork.

This course teaches a lot more than any other MOOC I have taken thus far on coursera.

автор: Abusufyan I M

Apr 07, 2020

The course exceeded all my expectations. My profound gratitude to both instructors for democratizing education. Only through such platforms can students of knowledge acquire the best and most contemporary knowledge in their fields of interest. Thank you Coursera, for making it possible.

автор: Alexander K

Nov 17, 2019

Finally i was able to replace my 12-tab excel with a jupyter notebook and a libraries.py!

I recommend going through this course while using your own broker's APIs to get the most out of it. Looking forward to more papers and advanced lectures ahead!

автор: Brian H

Jan 22, 2020

Thanks to the instructors! While Lionel introduced the financial theory in a comprehensible way, Vijay's lab laid the fundaments for an even deeper understanding. I really enjoyed how the coding matched the financial theories.

автор: Roozbeh G

Dec 04, 2019

What started as an effort to learn about investment, turned out to be the best Python lesson I had ever received. The long lab sessions taught me how to build a tool from scratch, during which I learned many Python tricks.

автор: Harsh S

Nov 27, 2019

This course was absolutely spectacular! Kudos the team at EDHEC Risk Institute! It's one of the best courses I've done so far. The best part is the blend of theory and application to real-life data on Python.

автор: Shivani A

Apr 03, 2020

The course is really nice and builds strong fundamentals for asset management using Python. I found the lectures and lab sessions full of new concepts. For me the week 4 of the course was a bit challenging.

автор: Ioannis K

Mar 07, 2020

One of the best online courses I have ever taken. Combines very efficiently theory and practice. I highly recommend it and I will continue with the other courses of the specialization.

автор: Xinhao

Mar 08, 2020

One of the most hardcore, challenging but knowledge-harvesting courses that I ever had.

Highly recommend, and you will be better off if you type in all codes VJ did simultaneously.