Chevron Left
Вернуться к Введение в геномные технологии

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Введение в геномные технологии от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 3,931
Рецензии: 616

О курсе

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Лучшие рецензии

SS

27 мая 2020 г.

It was well taught. I liked the fact the two professors focused on two different subjects- biology and statistics portion of this course. The paragraphs written below each video was extremely helpful.

KK

20 нояб. 2017 г.

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 614 отзывов о курсе Введение в геномные технологии

автор: Niko L

26 апр. 2020 г.

Great introduction to Genomics. The instructors really laid out the practical terms and gave great resources. Weeks 3 and 4 ramp up in difficulty, so some outside research in statistics is helpful.

автор: Kasper T K

21 нояб. 2017 г.

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

автор: Gregory D H

5 окт. 2019 г.

This course provides a gentle introduction to the concepts and terminology associated with genomics. As someone who never took a biology course in high school or university, this course is perfect.

автор: Aydolun

17 июля 2017 г.

It is a great introduction course if you really don't know anything about the field. But if you think you have got the basics down, that means this course will be too easy for you.

автор: Talha I

10 мая 2019 г.

This is my first course in Genomic Technologies (and one I completed overall). I was taking this course bit lightly for being the introductory/basic course but I have learnt a number of new things: Introduction to some stats terms I overlooked/haven't learnt before like p-test and confounders, the incredible example of data-counterfeiting in the academia and how PCR and next-gen sequencing technologies work. Although I couldn't learn in depth, which is obvious since its first of the 8 course specialization, so I am anxious to take the next course - this specialization is looking very exciting.

автор: Yasar A

21 июня 2019 г.

Have tried a few other courses around introduction to genomic technologies but this is the best structured course I have taken. Loved the course project as it gives a good insight on how to read scientific papers and what is expected from a genomic scientist. The only point would be to improve the statistics content(week 4) and make it more beginner friendly especially when it comes to p-values.

автор: Sally S

7 мая 2016 г.

A good basic introduction. Might have been nice to have had recommendations for further reading for those who were interested.

автор: Dr K R

24 апр. 2017 г.

I have done the data sciences specialization from JHU and that was 4 star on 5. Compared to that, this specialization is pretty bad.

Not worth doing this specialization. Instructors are clueless on the plan

автор: Félix D

9 июня 2019 г.

I found the course to be very clear and informative. I believe the molecular biology aspect was easy enough for someone without a background in biology or biochemistry to understand. Also, the computer science and statistical aspects were also explained in a clear way.

автор: Miguel R

13 июня 2016 г.

Very good introductory course. It's a lot of material to cover for a newbie, but if you have some background, you will find you progress pretty quickly. Enjoyable, engaging, fun and useful.

автор: Jacob K

16 июня 2019 г.

It seemed a little too easy, especially for the timeline given. Seemed like there should have been more information, or have gone more in-depth

автор: negar m

6 февр. 2019 г.

Good intro for people who don't have any background, a little too simple for people who already work in this criteria or have knowledge about

автор: Israa S S

30 мар. 2019 г.

Great way of delivering information.

автор: Piotr G

8 июня 2020 г.

The initial lectures on introduction to genomics are very engaging and good starting point for everyone who slightly touched that topic before and is interested in both history and recent developments in the area.

The week focusing on software engineering doesn't seem to be a good fit for such training. Most of the content is dedicated to extremely trivial computer science topics hardly related with bioinformatics. Only last several minutes give examples of bioIT software and systems.

The week with statistics is good only if you posses solid knowledge on statistics. Then it serves as a good recap. Otherwise you might be completely lost 5 min into the content, e.g. there are much better explanations of p-value and family-wise error out there in internet than the one provided in the course.

The idea of a project to go through a research paper and answer the questions about it was fantastic! Very good way to cement what you learned.

Overall: 3 stars. I would give 4 if not for trivial and rather useless computer science intro. At few points, the pace should be adjusted (e.g. statistics).

автор: Jessica G

5 апр. 2018 г.

While I wasn't expecting heavy material for an intro course, this course did not reach even a 101 level in my opinion. Take this course if you have never heard of biology or computer science or statistics but avoid if you know even a little about these subjects. Sometimes the quiz questions asked about details not covered in videos/papers, which was pointless and frustrating.

автор: Robert D

17 июня 2019 г.

Good class but incredibly basic. Needs to go a bit more in depth. Feels rushed.

автор: Yang L

22 мар. 2019 г.

Quite good explanation of molecular biology and statistics. Hope the narrator can lower down the speed, since it is a little tough for a non-native English speaker to catch-up with it (Though the pronunciation is very clear)

автор: Cliff S

24 июня 2019 г.

Fantastic course from two true authorities in the field. Great examples, and I was surprisingly enthralled by the statistical section; turns out I just never had the right teacher!

автор: siwakorn P

14 июня 2019 г.

Very good introduction.

автор: Hans R

24 мар. 2019 г.

Gained good knowledge

автор: Dina A M A

16 июня 2019 г.

good

автор: May K

11 июня 2019 г.

Moves too fast, but excellent content and information. Very engaging!

автор: Omnia G

20 июня 2019 г.

Good course in introducing main concepts of specialization.

автор: Kyle C

26 июня 2019 г.

Good beginner course to introduce genomics

автор: Parth R J

3 февр. 2019 г.

great