Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Climate Change and Health

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Climate Change and Health от партнера Йельский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 614
Рецензии: 133

О курсе

Climate change is one of the greatest threats to human health in the 21st century. Yet these impacts to health are still not well recognized. Since you can’t change what you don’t understand, this course is designed to equip health and environmental professionals, as well as other changemakers and the public, with critical and usable knowledge to take positive action. The course begins with an introduction to the science of climate change and how climate change affects human health. It takes a deep dive into climate change’s adverse health effects, including those related to extreme heat, waterborne infections, insect-borne diseases, and exposure to storms and floods. Throughout, the theme of health equity is interwoven by pointing to what factors make some populations more vulnerable than others to climate change’s negative health impacts. Finally, the course explains how measures to reduce greenhouse gas emissions can not only limit future climate change but can also generate substantial immediate health “co-benefits” over and above the benefit of reducing climate change. Following completion of the course, students will be able to: · At an introductory level, describe how the climate has changed, explain the role of greenhouse gases in climate change, and describe how the climate is predicted to change in the future. · Describe how climate change adversely impacts population health, with differing vulnerability across population sub-groups, through direct effects; through ecosystem transformation and degradation; and through the stress it places on political, economic, and social systems. · Explain how adaptation and mitigation strategies can reduce adverse health impacts of climate change and can generate substantial non-climate health benefits in a just and equitable manner....

Лучшие рецензии

SH
12 дек. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed this course. The complex terms are well explained and the examples and information provided is easy to digest. It really makes you look at the world in a whole different way.

JC
18 июня 2020 г.

Very insightful course about fundamentals of climate, climate change, health effects related to air pollution, highlighted statistics, co-beneftis etc. Thank you for this Yale University.

Фильтр по:

126–133 из 133 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Climate Change and Health

автор: Ong S H

31 авг. 2020 г.

I learnt a lot of knowledge that I wasn't exposed to in school thus I enjoyed this module alot! furthermore it gave me a chance to do some research about my home, Singapore!

автор: Michael N

21 окт. 2020 г.

Great material and professor! My only suggestion for improvement is the peer-review grading system seems to be unwieldly. Thank you for the knowledge, Mkr

автор: Salvador R

15 апр. 2021 г.

Estimados no puedo pagar el curso por ahora, este curso ofrece beca o ayuda economica?

автор: Lorenz P

20 июня 2020 г.

The course is very intensive and informative. I have learned a lot.

автор: Vickie R R

14 июня 2021 г.

Excellent. Right pace and good information.

автор: Charles O M

8 апр. 2021 г.

great course-thank you

автор: Oliver B S

10 окт. 2020 г.

I am stopping this course. Professor Dubrow is not a gifted speaker and his oratorical style is plodding and non-engaging. This is a pity because there is a lot to learn and he is of course knowledgeable. What gets me most though is an underlying "first World/Third World" prejudice in the way that information is presented. I suspect an unstated prejudice here that makes me very uncomfortable. At the end of Week two he makes the connection between family planning ( in the third world) and climate change. One can read out of this the message that if there were fewer babies in the third world (he does not mention "third world" but its implied, then there would be less co" emissions and the world would be a better place. Moocs are predominantly for a world audience and I woulld like to know how other students feel about this. I find it myopic and insultingly prejuced. This is my 13th Mooc this year and my first bad experience. Its a pity, I was looking forward to the other parts of the specialization.

автор: Bianca Y

27 февр. 2021 г.

I rated them 5 stars at the beginning because the course itself was amazing. I am very satisfied by the content and by the professors' and staff's hard work.

However, the courses are peer-reviewed, and there are not many students taking it at the same time.

So, sometimes you're left begging on the forum for people to check your assignments. And sometimes there's just nobody there to do it.

Because of that, after working so hard to get my specialization, my paid period expired and I was left with no certificate because nobody bothered to check my assignments or at least reply on my posts on the forum discussion. There's over 10 admins and neither one of them replied.

I don't appreciate their complete absence and disengagement. Especially since it's such an important topic where millions of people's lives are at stake. Very unprofessional.

Also it made me lose respect for the institution, and not believe in the fairness of grading, if the grading is left entirely to the students.