Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 1,265
Рецензии: 361

О курсе

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Лучшие рецензии

SD

May 28, 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

Mar 25, 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 361 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

автор: Steo

Jan 06, 2018

This is the best overview course about Ancient Egypt civilisation I could dream of. Mr Silverman brings reliable information and can transmit his passion well.

автор: Matteo S

Feb 08, 2019

The course provides a good overview, a lot information, spurs to acquire also a good iconographic knowledge of the subject and reason about the main concepts.

автор: PhantomDuck1980

Nov 07, 2017

An excellent class! I strongly recommend it to everyone. It helped me a lot to understand fundamental aspects of Ancient Egypt Civilation. Very helpful!!!

автор: Ying X

Mar 12, 2017

learned a lot about Egypt which is total vacancy in my knowledge before taking the course and helped in greater understanding of Penn Museum's collection

автор: Tintu M

Feb 09, 2017

Excellent. A load of new things to know. Helps a lot to understand the diversity and the way of life of people who are ancient and also most intelligent.

автор: Fan C

Sep 20, 2019

This course is really a good introduction to Ancient Egypt. I learn a lot of general information about Ancient Egypt and additional interesting topics.

автор: Shuaib I

Apr 23, 2017

Touching on chronology , kingship , mythology , mummies and pyramids while informing and amazing this has been one of the most enjoyable courses ever .

автор: Caitlin O

Mar 24, 2019

Fantastic course! Absolutely loved it and it was very easy to follow. I learnt a lot and it has increased my desire to learn more about Ancient Egypt.

автор: Erin L

Feb 25, 2017

A quick but thorough introduction to Ancient Egypt, with the added bonus of serving as an introduction to the Penn Museum's Ancient Egypt collection

автор: Christina P

Dec 12, 2016

I am inspired to travel to visit Penn Museum. I hope to soon. Thank you for the course, I would take more in this field in the future if offered.

автор: Tertius d J

Mar 18, 2020

I do have now a better, complete, chronicle view on Ancient Egypt and wish I could have this knowledge before our family visit in Egypt in 2005.

автор: Brittany S

Jun 21, 2017

I enjoyed this class, the last videos about the mummification process were particularly interesting and really humanized this ancient culture.

автор: Janet B

Nov 21, 2019

Was an easy to follow format. Learned a lot and reviewed some material. Would love to go to the Univ, of Penn to see their Egyptian exhibit.

автор: katrina h à c

Jan 17, 2017

i really enjoyed this course and learnt a lot. having the lectures inside the museum was great. i also really enjoyed the session in the lab.

автор: Mathieu R

Dec 11, 2016

This course was very interesting. I feel very lucky to get this opportunity to understand more some of the old Egypt mysteries. Thank you !

автор: Maria

Dec 11, 2016

Thank you for that course, I was really waiting for it to appear in Coursera. A lot of new information, looking forward to the next course!

автор: Anne E

Oct 09, 2017

Excellent diversion from contemporary ordeals and a joy to consider how much our society shares in common with ancient Egypt.

Thanks much!

автор: Cristina M

Apr 30, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and I will miss Dr SIlverman's voice. This course made me eaer to kearn more about Ancient Egypt. Thank you.

автор: Mounisha M

Aug 01, 2019

It's a great course I have completed. I have the answers of many of my questions about the Egyptian civilization. Thanks a lot coursera.

автор: Carmen R

Apr 04, 2020

Excellent intro to the basic principals of Ancient Egypt. The reading assignments add to the enjoyment. The text is also excellent.

автор: Adam P

Aug 24, 2018

This course was incredibly informative and the thorough integration of real artifacts was a pleasure. Thank you, Professor Silverman!

автор: Sophia A

Mar 29, 2019

Wonderful course! It was very insightful and interesting, and I can't wait to take it's sister course, "Wonders of Ancient Egypt"!

автор: Amber C M

Dec 18, 2016

I learned more than I ever knew, even as an avid museum goer and Egypt enthusiast, and loved the videos and museum pieces shown!

автор: Vojtěch K

May 15, 2019

A great introduction into the Ancient Egypt! You get to know the basics about pyramids, mummies, gods, and life in then-Egypt.

автор: Rodrigo A F R

Dec 20, 2018

Me gusto mucho, es fácil comprender todo lo que habla el profesor y es muy entretenido que haga las clases desde el museo.