Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 1,240
Рецензии: 355

О курсе

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Лучшие рецензии

SD

May 28, 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

Mar 25, 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Фильтр по:

226–250 из 352 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

автор: Grace

May 08, 2017

A great course!

автор: 施培玲

Dec 04, 2016

资料很丰富,视频讲解很清晰。

автор: Victoria M

Feb 04, 2020

Ancient Egypt

автор: Cristina P

Nov 30, 2017

Great Course!

автор: Claudette D

Apr 23, 2017

~.~ IRRESIS

автор: Mary A S

Apr 11, 2018

great course

автор: Ralph N

Jun 22, 2017

Great Course

автор: JOHN Q

Nov 01, 2016

nice review

автор: G B

Apr 24, 2018

Akh, yeah!

автор: carmen m s

Dec 06, 2017

Fantástico

автор: jayita c

Mar 02, 2017

great info

автор: Robert L

Dec 12, 2016

Excellent!

автор: David P

Dec 01, 2016

Excellent!

автор: NIKHIL R

Oct 27, 2019

Excellent

автор: Antonio N L

Feb 03, 2018

Excellent

автор: Antonio G

Dec 31, 2017

very good

автор: Jovan S

Oct 07, 2019

Great!!!

автор: 秦铭蔚

Aug 04, 2019

great!!!

автор: Matias P

Jun 21, 2019

Nice! :)

автор: kohn

Nov 19, 2016

Great

автор: Hyejin P

Dec 05, 2018

good

автор: 王佑誠

Jan 07, 2018

good

автор: Elaine C

Feb 07, 2017

G

автор: Susan E B

Oct 22, 2017

As I was going through the course, it struck me that I was hearing almost the same thing I studied in my courses in the early 1970's in which the material for the sphinx and Giza pyramids was based on determinations by "scholars" from the 1880's and early 1900's. I was also surprised that no consideration was given for more recent re-interpretations of the timeframe for the sphinx, in view of studies done on the possible water erosion, possible reshaping of the head and so on. To me, these theories are worth mentioning as possibilities; thus, I felt some disappointment.

Nevertheless, I enjoyed the course overall and enjoyed seeing so many different artifacts that helped define different eras in the history of Egypt. I also enjoyed learning about the dig in which the university is involved. Thanks!

автор: Kate G

Jan 06, 2017

The course is a good general knowledge introduction to Egypt, there is lots of information stuffed into each week. The lecturer's style is super dry, but the lectures are ultimately very useful. This course style is sometimes a bit disconnected, in that the information you are given is often handled purely as information, and not quite as often contextualized. This tends to make the quizzes, and discussion prompts feel disjointed, and challenging in the way that it's difficult to use your newfound knowledge in application. That being said, I really enjoyed the class as a very direct knowledge-gathering experience.