Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to numerical analysis

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to numerical analysis от партнера Национальный исследовательский университет "Высшая школа экономики"

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 172
Рецензии: 29

О курсе

Numerical computations historically play a crucial role in natural sciences and engineering. These days however, it’s not only traditional «hard sciences»: whether you do digital humanities or biotechnology, whether you design novel materials or build artificial intelligence systems, virtually any quantitative work involves some amount of numerical computing . These days, you hardly ever implement the whole computation yourselves from scratch. We rely on libraries which package tried-and-tested, battle-hardened numerical primitives. It is vanishingly rare however that a library contains a single pre-packaged routine which does all what you need. Numerical computing involves assembling these building blocks into computational pipelines. This kind of work requires a general understanding of basic numerical methods, their strengths and weaknesses, their limitations and their failure modes. And this is exactly what this course is about. It is meant to be an introductory, foundational course in numerical analysis, with the focus on basic ideas. We will review and develop basic characteristics of numerical algorithms (convergence, approximation, stability, computational complexity and so on), and will illustrate them with several classic problems in numerical mathematics. You will also work on implementing abstract mathematical constructions into working prototypes of numerical code. Upon completion of this course, you will have an overview of the main ideas of numerical computing, and will have a solid foundation for reading up on and working with more advanced numerical needs of your specific subject area. As prerequisites for this course, we assume a basic command of college-level mathematics (linear algebra and calculus, mostly), and a basic level of programming proficiency. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Лучшие рецензии

SR

Jun 07, 2020

A simple course that would definitely help me in the near future as it provides me an idea on how interpolation and estimation works.

VG

Dec 09, 2019

Excelent course. Really liked how the teacher explained the course in general. I would upgrade it with more examples reviewed.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 29 отзывов о курсе Introduction to numerical analysis

автор: Víctor A M G

Dec 09, 2019

Excelent course. Really liked how the teacher explained the course in general. I would upgrade it with more examples reviewed.

автор: Dawars

Mar 25, 2020

Great course with useful homework assignments in Jupyter notebook. Highly recommended!

автор: Pingchuan M

Oct 04, 2019

Very nice overall illustration of all relevant topics in numerical analysis. Laid a solid foundation if you want to dive deeper into any specific domain.

автор: ACERON, U V (

Mar 17, 2020

Excellent experience!

автор: Sunny J

Nov 02, 2019

Awesome Course

автор: Mahadev D

Oct 07, 2019

nice

автор: Chintan S

Dec 07, 2019

The course hardly provides any examples of the numerical methods discussed. If you are new to Numerical Methods, it would be better to learn Numerical Methods elsewhere and use this course only to build Python functions on your own in the assignments. These programming assignments are also not very crisp and you spend a lot of time figuring out how to implement.

The only great takeaway from this course for me personally was the handling of catastrophic cancellation problems.

автор: Siddharth Y

Jun 19, 2020

This was a course which was most worth my time. I am a physics student who just completed year one of university and it is my first time dealing with these topics in numerical analysis/methods. Dr. Evgeni Burovski explains the various topics very well and doing the assignments gives you decent mastery over the course content. Recommended as an introduction to anyone interested in numerical analysis or scientific computing.

автор: Artem

Apr 13, 2020

It's a great course for introduction to numerical analysis methods. Lectures were great and the Python assignments helped to get the on-hand experience of solving theoretical tasks

автор: Srinivasan R

Jun 07, 2020

A simple course that would definitely help me in the near future as it provides me an idea on how interpolation and estimation works.

автор: Zhen X

Sep 23, 2020

Very good course. Very clear explanation and very well designed homework assignments.

автор: Theo B

Jun 09, 2020

Very intuitive and straight to the point course on numerical methods. Thank you !

автор: Nandu G

Jul 05, 2020

Pretty rigorous course, takes time to think and solve the assignments. Loved it.

автор: Venkatesan J

Jul 16, 2020

Excellent Course and Interesting

автор: Rachit T

Jun 02, 2020

Assignments are really good !

автор: SALVADOR, J (

Apr 17, 2020

I learned a lot from coursera

автор: Timchenko D

May 10, 2020

Lecturer is awesome!

автор: Lubomir

Jun 11, 2020

great course

автор: BAGAIN, J R (

Mar 31, 2020

ugh so goood

автор: JEAN P R V

Sep 16, 2020

thank you

автор: Sawar

Jun 04, 2020

very good

автор: Daniela C Á

Jun 01, 2020

So good.

автор: Muhammad A

Jun 04, 2020

owsem

автор: NEHA F

May 13, 2020

Great

автор: Riya S

Jun 26, 2020

Good