Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL)

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL) от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,134
Рецензии: 907

О курсе

In this course, you'll walk through installation steps for installing a text editor, installing MAMP or XAMPP (or equivalent) and creating a MySql Database. You'll learn about single table queries and the basic syntax of the SQL language, as well as database design with multiple tables, foreign keys, and the JOIN operation. Lastly, you'll learn to model many-to-many relationships like those needed to represent users, roles, and courses....

Лучшие рецензии

NB
24 апр. 2020 г.

Great course. The amazing thing about the instructor is that you will find something new and exciting in every course and that's why I loved this course and the remaining courses offered by Dr. Chuck.

RD
11 сент. 2020 г.

Great coursera, So much to learn but hard to catch(It was totally new to me).\n\nI mean, really, a few days ago, I didn't even knew what SQL was and now I am getting it.\n\nThank you very much.......

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 913 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL)

автор: Alon D

16 сент. 2018 г.

While I truly appreciate Dr. Severence's enthusiasm and his lectures on the historical and theoretical background of SQL (e.g., data models), I found this course lacking in a few aspects. The major one being the fact that it contains very little practice and active learning. I would recommend taking Sadie St. Lawrence's course (SQL for Data Science), which is also aimed at beginners but has a number advantages that I will list below. In the case that her lectures come across as confusing at some point (they're a bit faster, and perhaps skip a few of basic introductory points), take both courses - they only take about a day to complete. The main positive points in SQL for Data Science are: (1) Very structured course with downloadable comprehensive slides. (2) No need to download and install a SQL server. (3) The online coding practice is very engaging, but not too hard. (4) The course covers more material than this one in 4 weeks. BTW, If you are not a data scientist you may ignore some of the professional jargon that pops up occasionally (not too often) - it is not central to the course.

автор: Jorge F P

14 апр. 2018 г.

The course covers SQL broadly and provides a few notions on how to design and create relational databases and what code to use. The lecturer is great, explains things well and clearly. However, the course's biggest flaw, in my opinion, is that it doesn't really teach how to use SQL. There a few examples on how to create tables and insert data into tables and examples of some, very limited, query commands. But that's it. It never explains the syntax, nor provides a list of commands in a structured way, detailing what they do and how they should be used. Furthermore, the assignments are way too easy. They basically require the learner to repeat what was covered in the lectures, whether the learner understands it or not. Since the lectures cover so little, it would be useful to have challenging assignments that would require a little independent research.

автор: Koundinya P

17 мая 2020 г.

This gives you a basic understanding on SQL for beginners. Dr.Chuck explained so well in such a way that even a candidate with zero knowledge can understand the concepts and can complete the course.

автор: Dpsb

4 дек. 2017 г.

Professor Severance is top notch. He keeps the pace fast and the lessons bite sized. I've tried other SQL courses and dropped out because none of the others were as easy to understand and engaging.

автор: Niranjan B

25 апр. 2020 г.

Great course. The amazing thing about the instructor is that you will find something new and exciting in every course and that's why I loved this course and the remaining courses offered by Dr. Chuck.

автор: Lars T

29 мар. 2019 г.

Excellent course. You learn to install Your own php/mysql/apache server. You learn the must know basics of relational database design and using sql queries. You really get to know phpMyAdmin. Excellent instructor, good quizzes and assignments. The auto-grader tool minimizes the time You need to show that You have mastered the learning material, so You do not have to wait and wait for peer-reviews.

автор: d k

17 окт. 2018 г.

The Instructor came down to the level of beginner and started with basics and baby steps (especially getting the MAMP ready) - I would have liked to do a couple of more exercises. I liked it and I will take courses offered by this instructor in future.

автор: Aung M M

22 сент. 2020 г.

Hello ! I am Physics major student in Myanmar.In my university there is no Programming course.I get this course during COVIDE-19 period and I get many knowledge about SQL Programming language.Thanks.

автор: Victor P

9 янв. 2018 г.

went in knowing nothing about sql

straight forward and engaging lessons and awesome assignments trained me

am now a master sql database warlock

10/10 course would normalize with again

автор: JARRAR O

7 янв. 2018 г.

Nicolas Boileau-Désprieux said "whatever well understood is clearly said, and the words to say it flow with ease ". This is exactly why appreciate attending Charles Severance (a.k.a Dr. Chuck) courses. He teaches you you need to know about a somehow complex topis. If you are new to SQL or plan de develop new WEB Applications, then this is the best place to be. You did the right choi

автор: John D

2 нояб. 2020 г.

Very easy class, especially for me - a student who failed EECS 281 and had almost zero prior SQL experience. Good and fun instruction, took very little time to familiarize myself with SQL environments.

автор: Kwai K H

2 дек. 2018 г.

Thank you for teaching assistants for helping me while I had questions and got stuck during the course. Thank you for Coursera and Dr Chuck and teaching assistants again for the opportunity to learn.

автор: Tahir H

9 июня 2020 г.

I am glad to say that i was nothing before getting this course .How to create tables,database sql query etc.

I specially thank's to coursera give me a opportunity to get this skill free of cost.

автор: Rhiddhi P D

12 сент. 2020 г.

Great coursera, So much to learn but hard to catch(It was totally new to me).

I mean, really, a few days ago, I didn't even knew what SQL was and now I am getting it.

Thank you very much.......

автор: Gangi V

3 апр. 2020 г.

The course took place in a crystal clear, slow and steady path and the final yield is also quiet satisfying. The best course for a beginner in MySQL and Database management systems.

автор: Andrew M T

27 окт. 2017 г.

Great course. The teacher stuck to the basics, and made them very clear. He's also funny and it's nice to listen to what he has to say.

автор: Shilpa H

17 дек. 2018 г.

Course is really informative, content and assignments are good

автор: Tao C

3 апр. 2019 г.

Good to start with SQL, but a bit too easy for practical use.

автор: Irving B

25 окт. 2017 г.

Good introduction to SQL.

автор: Sanjay S S G

18 мая 2020 г.

This is truly a Great Course !!! , The art and the beauty on relational databases work is really amazing ,

I really enjoyed learning this course starting from creating a simple table to creating multiple tables and establishing relationships in each of them .

All thanks to Dr.Chuck , He was absolutely Phenomenal!!! , the way he taught this course was very interactive , He taught us performing even a simple real world problem through SQL .

Once a again, thanks to Dr.Chuck , thanks to University of Michigan and Thanks to Coursera!!!

автор: Javier E

30 окт. 2019 г.

The course is a good introduction to basic concepts and commands, and builds on them to progress to more advanced use of databases. The lectures are well structured and the examples well explained and helpful (thanks Chuck). The assignments helped to get a bit further.

My experience with MySQL and SQL in general was somewhat limited and more academic, and this course helped to fill some gaps and earn some new skills.

The course is useful and engaging. I enjoyed doing this course and would definitely recommend it.

автор: Sheheryar Z C

13 апр. 2020 г.

I have absolutely no background in Computer Sciences at all and I was able to fully comprehend all of the lectures and assignments properly. The video lectures are amazing and explain all the basics one must need to know about this course. My interest has been developed and now I shall explore more advanced SQL courses, that might help me in my career. I want to express my gratitude for Dr. Charles and his team for providing such an amazing content.

автор: Mauricio C C

6 сент. 2021 г.

This was my first introduction to SQL - DR. Chuck made the learning fun, engaging and easy to understand. I tried to learn SQL using other methods; but there is nothing like having a great tutor! The side projects using phpMyAdmin made the learning all the more engaging; don't be afraid to challenge yourself. If you want to learn the basics of SQL language, database modeling, data tables & columns, this is a great course to start off with!

автор: Jeff R

18 мая 2018 г.

What great content! The course progresses in a way delivers the exact the knowledge and skills needed to become quickly proficient. Dr. Chuck has developed the most practical and relevant courses that I have ever seen. After auditing these courses, I have added them to my employees professional development plans. I have sixteen particle accelerator engineers. And everyone of them has found uses for all of Dr. Chuck's courses.

автор: NAVEEN R

16 июня 2020 г.

As the title says, it is an introductory course to SQL. Must for beginners. Personally, I had already taken two courses on SQL and just wanted to brush through the basics once. But this course was too good. So many things I never knew. This is good even for those who have experience with SQL. I completed course in just 2 days. As I said, it is for beginners. If you are already an intermediate, you might look for advanced courses.