Chevron Left
Вернуться к Internet of Things: How did we get here?

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Internet of Things: How did we get here? от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.1
Оценки: 693
Рецензии: 199

О курсе

It is hard to imagine life without your Smartphone – you have come to rely on it so much – for your work; to stay in touch with family and friends; to capture and share those special moments; to find your way around in a new neighborhood. Did you ever wonder how and when all this happened? Or how and when GPS sensors came to be in your cell phone? In this course, we will explore the convergence of multiple disciplines leading to todays’ Smartphones. You will learn about the birth and evolution of Telephony Networks, Broadcast Networks (TV and Radio) and Consumer Electronics. We will discuss the impact of Internet, (multimedia) content, smartphones and apps on everyday lives. We will then look at how this emerging platform called the Internet of Things – wherein billions and trillions of devices communicating with each other and “the cloud” – could enable unprecedented, innovative products and services. Take this course if you want to understand what great new advances in mobile-enabled products will be coming our way! Learning Goals: This course provides a core grounding in how science and technology have developed to enable the Internet of Things – in a way appropriate for any learner. For those interested in developing further hands-on expertise in designing and developing for the Internet of Things, this course will provide a context to the discoveries and converging technologies that will springboard the next round of innovations. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Compare how the telephone system works (that is, peer-to-peer networks) with how media delivery works (that is, broadcast/multicast networks). 2. Explain the tradeoffs between circuit switched networks (that is, dedicated resources) and packet switched networks (that is, shared resources). 3. Tell interesting stories about key innovations that transformed the communications, entertainment and consumer electronics industries. 4. Explain how email, YouTube, SMS, etc. work. 5. Find resources for those wishing to do more of a “deep-dive” into the above topics....

Лучшие рецензии

DR

Mar 08, 2016

Hello Everyone,\n\nI really enjoyed this course and definitely this is great learning experience for me..I am heartily thankful to Both Professors for given me this knowledge..\n\nThanks a lot..

GP

Jan 05, 2016

Great base for the incoming session in this specialization. I've learned about lot of things what i am using every day dut i had no idea how it was developed. Useful base knowledge.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 188 отзывов о курсе Internet of Things: How did we get here?

автор: Anthony S

Apr 16, 2019

The issue with this course happens within the second week. The first quiz of the second covers material not discussed in the video lectures, not in the required reading, not in the optional reading, and there are no suggestions on how to/where to find this information. As I continued along with the course all the quizzes were the same way. A 4 question quiz should not take several hours of internet searching and several attempts over many days just to pass the quiz. I have my degree from a real university and any quiz was based on material we learned and had the materials to learn information. The beginning of this course is seriously lacking in information so as to provide the student with a reasonable opportunity to pass.

автор: BHABANI S P

Feb 13, 2019

Professional courses are expected to be more technical and hands on. Few of the assessments were confusing.

автор: Luvo

Jan 12, 2019

The answers are not in the content you provided!!!!

автор: Molly U E

Feb 12, 2019

Many of the week two quizzes and tests are based on information that is not in the lectures nor reading materials. I listen to the lectures and they have limited detail, and the quizzes are focused on very historical or detailed questions. I am spending the majority of my time in this week researching on line to try and find resources that i can learn from. This is not how i would like to take a course - my hope is to learn from lectures and be given reading assignments that i can study and learn from. I am hesitant to drop the class because i have invested so much time on it and wanted to get the certificate of completion - but the amount of time i am investing is not worth the payout. The teacher is very earnest and i believe he knows his subject matter well.

автор: Arun G

Aug 24, 2018

Really useless one.. All goes to history. Very tricky really useless questions that plays around the words "early", "original" etc. etc. Stay away from this part. You will spend a day looking for answers to questions such as whether Mr X was a president of the company from 1980-1990 or 1981-1990!!!

автор: Xiaohui L

Jan 19, 2019

This course is very boring. The quiz has nothing to do with the contents of the video or reading materials. The information provided did not help me understand the topic. It is not worth time taking this class.

автор: Manikandan M

Mar 05, 2019

Thanks for complete insight of communication evolution.

автор: Jonathan R V F

Mar 02, 2019

It is an interesting course to start with IoT

автор: Srinivas S

Mar 03, 2019

Best way to learn new things

автор: Matthias S

Nov 15, 2018

definitivly an interesting course, which provides a good overview on communication technology. It presents very well the evolution of communication and networking. Interesting historical details are given. Quizzes might partly a bit tricky and require carefull study in the internet.

автор: LIM C S

Jul 20, 2018

Good lecture. I was fortunate to learn with good lecture. Thank

автор: Milind S

Oct 02, 2018

best thing i got..

автор: Farhan M

Mar 03, 2017

Absolutely awesome course for beginners :)

автор: Ajay V

Oct 07, 2016

Good

автор: Fetuga O A

Mar 16, 2017

very great course

автор: Fakhre A

Jun 13, 2017

Great Course :)

автор: Jesus Z F

Nov 10, 2017

Very interesting course starting from the history of digital communication to our time.

автор: Robert H

Jun 20, 2016

This is a good course to get up to speed with what has happened, we were there for some of it, but did not know the inside story.

автор: Natasa T

Apr 19, 2016

A great historical overview of technological development that led up to the establishment of Internet of Things. Some concepts are flown over too fast, so if you don't have prior familiarity with them, they may be difficult to fully grasp, but educating students on every single concept that led to the IoT in depth is not the intention of the course anyways, and would take a lot longer than 2 weeks. I recommend noting down all interesting technical discoveries, principles, concepts etc. mentioned and doing some further exploration and study for one's own satisfaction, but as an overview of all tech development, and an overview of what IoT is and its applications, this course did a great job in my opinion!

автор: Darshan R

Mar 08, 2016

Hello Everyone,

I really enjoyed this course and definitely this is great learning experience for me..I am heartily thankful to Both Professors for given me this knowledge..

Thanks a lot..

автор: Mykola K

Feb 03, 2016

Very detailed and interesting introduction. Thank you!

автор: MEZUE F C T

Apr 07, 2016

very nice course, interesting

автор: Sashank B

Feb 25, 2017

I want to thank Harinath Sir for the wonderful course.

автор: Goutham I

Oct 22, 2016

Excellent background on convergence of telephone to smartphones and IoT.

автор: Sijimon R

Jun 03, 2017

Its awesome, I am enjoying this course.