Chevron Left
Вернуться к International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague

Отзывы учащихся о курсе International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague от партнера Лейденский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 790
Рецензии: 160

О курсе

International Law in Action explains the functions of each international court and tribunal present in The Hague, and it looks at how these institutions address contemporary problems. On the basis of selected cases, and through interviews with judges and lawyers, you will explore the role of these courts and tribunals and their potential to contribute to global justice. The first module of the course will investigate how judicial settlement is different from other more political forms of dispute settlement, such as negotiation and mediation. It offers a brief historical overview and introduces the judicial and arbitral bodies based in The Hague. In the remaining modules you will learn about the functions of these courts and tribunals, and some of the challenges and prospects that they face. Three cross-cutting themes tie together all of these modules: (i) The interaction between law and politics; (ii) The continuing role of State consent; and (iii) The ability of international courts and tribunals to protect the public interest and global values. This course offers you an opportunity to gain a better insight into the functions and features of the courts and tribunals present in The Hague. You will gain a familiarity with each court or tribunal. You will develop realistic expectations of their capacity to address contemporary problems and an awareness of their limitations. You will also be able to discuss some of their most prominent cases. If you would like to have a better understanding of international law in action in The Hague, this is definitely the course for you! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera...

Лучшие рецензии

MV

Apr 29, 2019

It was good overview course about three main international courts in The Hague. The lectures were good structured and clear. Interviews were impressed and made international court practices "real".

TD

Mar 24, 2019

Very informative and quite challenging\n\nThis course has provided me with material and resources to be able to think about larger ideas and the extent to which International Law is important.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 157 отзывов о курсе International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague

автор: Joseph S B

Aug 24, 2017

I would recomment it to any student who wants to pursue a career in International Law and Legal studies.

автор: Sara L

Feb 22, 2016

I was already interested in international law, and this course made me want to learn even more about it.

автор: Cristina R T

Jun 06, 2017

Great! Full of information, readings and important lectures and lecturers that made the course great!

автор: Tiago T

Nov 23, 2016

nice introduction to intl courts. well done materials, videos, etc. good teachers, thank you so much!

автор: Ricardo C P

May 05, 2016

Excellent course. It provides a comprehensive overview of the International Courts, and the role they

автор: Harini M

Aug 09, 2017

i loved how the course was designed . it suits all kinds of students and not just the ones from law

автор: Afandi S

Jun 17, 2016

The lecture were prominent to learn the International Law as well as to get to know the ICJ roles.

автор: merve b

Sep 04, 2019

This course materials are perfectly prepared and I am very pleased to get it! Thank you so much.

автор: Brandon I B

Nov 07, 2017

This was a great survey course outlining the basic structure of the international courts system.

автор: Maureen S

Jun 24, 2018

Very clear explanations of the history, structure and functions of these institutions.

автор: Monika Z

Mar 03, 2018

Great course for those interested in international law mechanism. Strongly recommend!

автор: LoriFrank

Jun 22, 2018

I learned a lot. There were not just lectures to watch, but a great deal of reading.

автор: Johanna K E

Sep 17, 2019

Thorough and capably presented. Thought-provoking content and inspiring professors.

автор: Jacques R Y D G

Apr 29, 2017

I learned a lot from this course and I would definitely be back for further review.

автор: Diego F V R

Aug 02, 2016

Excelente curso, muy completo e interesante, sin duda; ampliamente recomendable

автор: Robert A d S

Mar 05, 2019

Great course and an amazing opportunity to learn more about International Law!

автор: Abdellatif N

Apr 16, 2016

A very important cycle help me in my university in the field of human rights

автор: Marko V

Dec 28, 2016

Wonderful course; quote interesting and insightful. Highly recommended!

автор: Colin P

Feb 18, 2016

Clear and well structured with excellent lecturers. Highly recommended.

автор: Vesna S

Sep 10, 2017

Great overview of the international courts and tribunals in the Hague.

автор: Ingrid P V S

Apr 23, 2017

its amazing, The tutors are very qualified, the information is clear.

автор: Rui M P

Jan 04, 2017

Fantastic guide to understant what is behind international law field.

автор: Stewart C

May 12, 2016

Very interesting, very thorough. Cannot wait till Part Two arrives!

автор: Dalia E A A

Feb 26, 2016

that course was one of the most perfect courses that I've learnt.

автор: Sofia C

Dec 13, 2017

Great! Lernead a lot of interesting things about the Hague Court