Chevron Left
Вернуться к International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice

Отзывы учащихся о курсе International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice от партнера Лейденский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,069
Рецензии: 229

О курсе

“International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice” is the first MOOC of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum on International Humanitarian Law, which is the platform within the Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies of Leiden University for the research, teaching and dissemination of international humanitarian law (IHL). In this course, Prof. Robert Heinsch, Dr. Giulia Pinzauti and Dr. Emma Irving will give you a deep insight into the rules that govern armed conflict, and aim to mitigate human suffering on the battlefield. You will explore the why and how of IHL, followed by the different types of conflict. In no time you will find out which rules apply to the civil war in Syria, the military intervention in Ukraine and the occupation of the West Bank. During this course, you will learn how hostilities should be waged: Which weapons can be used by combatants and other fighters? And, who should never be a target during military operations? We will also look into the concept of protected persons, and you will find out how IHL affords protection to the sick and wounded, medical personal, detainees, children, journalists and other persons who are not - or not anymore - fighting. At the end of this course, you are introduced to the different implementation and enforcement mechanisms that aim to increase respect for IHL. Here, you are invited to think critically whether IHL works! Throughout this course you will benefit from a mix of theory and practice, which is at the heart of the vision and mandate of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum. You can participate for instance in an ongoing case study where drones are flying over the fictitious country Arfula, and detainees are locked up in tiny cells. Or, you can join our discussions about IHL success stories and the major IHL challenges we face today, with distinguished speakers from the International Committee of the Red Cross and US Naval War College! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

Лучшие рецензии

AK
14 дек. 2018 г.

this course is helpful in basic understanding of IHL and in understanding the difference between Human rights laws and IHL enforcements . Teaching Faculty clarified simplified the overview very well.

VS
30 мая 2019 г.

A really very wonderful, articulate and helpful course. The Professors were great with their knowledge and presentations. The practical insight given by the guest-speakers were just priceless.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 227 отзывов о курсе International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice

автор: ABU M Z

26 мар. 2020 г.

The whole experience was very good, learned about international humanitarian laws, practice and implementation. I hope it will develop skill and fill some motivation in me to work with Red cross/Red crescent movement and shape my career widely.

автор: Gabriel M D

28 окт. 2019 г.

Very interesting and well-organized course. It serves as an exceptional introductory arena for future scholars and practitioners in the realm of IHL. The texts suggested are also a necessary tool for a more deep understanding of the subject.

автор: pearl a l

9 дек. 2018 г.

A very well designed course - easy to understand and follow especially for non-lawyer like me. The arfula case study is challenging and an engaging application of laws/theories presented in the course. Thank you to all our lecturers.

автор: Birte B

29 дек. 2018 г.

This is an excellent course. Unfortunatetly I could not finish it before the deadline, as I am taking this court for fun, besides working. I was not able to find out whether I can download the course somehow to finish it later on.

автор: Гостев Ф А

27 окт. 2020 г.

A very good basic course on the IHL. Good structure and content, very helpful to set the foundation. Features a great amount of linked sources, interesting further readings, podcast interviews etc, which is worth your time.

автор: Aditia B S

22 янв. 2020 г.

Really helping me to understand what International Humanitarian Law, this course acquire more some knowledges and law-vocabulary in the same time. It's appropriate with you who want to learn more about international law

автор: Stacey B

9 мая 2020 г.

A truly insightful course which gives you a good introduction to IHL in theory and in practice, especially for those with no background on the topic. Every concept is well-explained and the content is rich as well.

автор: Marina T d M F

12 мар. 2020 г.

It's a privilege to have access to this content. I had a clear understanding of the mechanisms of IHL and how they differ from regular international law and hopefully can apply it further on my education.

автор: Elvira M J

24 нояб. 2019 г.

A complete and highly recommendable MOOC: enjoyable, with accurate readings, video training, podcasts and a case study that is being extended with each module. I recommend it without a doubt.

автор: Elisa B

26 дек. 2018 г.

Really interesting course, well-organised and full of useful information. Thank you to all the Course Team for making it so enjoyable to learn so much about such a complex subject.

автор: Haya G

21 июля 2021 г.

Very enjoyable! Loved how it wasn't just readings but podcasts and videos to keep students hooked. I learned so much throughout this course and have very little criticism of it!

автор: Ethel E W

14 дек. 2020 г.

Cousera constantly reviews the course to make it easier for learners.

It's been a great course study and my own pace. Thank you so much to all the parties who made this possible.

автор: Gisela A C R

10 июля 2019 г.

I enjoyed this course immensely. There is enough material as well as additional material to delve deeper into the content of the course. I will definitely recomend this course.

автор: Daniil B

7 апр. 2020 г.

That's an incredibly interesting course, it can make you interested in Humanitarian Law if you've never heard of it. I was enjoying all the time I participated in the course!

автор: Patience M N

12 июня 2019 г.

I'm enjoying the course. The quiz part is brainstorming as it mandates and allows one to pay attention to the detail in the explanations given.

Thank you for this course.

автор: Ajay R

20 июня 2020 г.

The best course to understand the basics of International Humanitarian Laws. The tutors have remarkably succeeded in making this subject quite interesting and engaging.

автор: Elena V

21 мар. 2020 г.

It was the most interesting course of Coursera. I'm specialised in IHL for 2 years and notwithstanding this fact I found out many important things. Thank you very much!

автор: Daniela D

14 мар. 2019 г.

Es un curso excelente, te ponen casos practicos para que los estudies y te indican en donde se encuentras la normas de DIH, así como su explicación e interpretación

автор: Johnny E

10 июня 2019 г.

This is a nice course, It helps me open many ideas about International Humanitarian Law and the role of this IHL for every individual and for a society in general.

автор: faisal a

29 апр. 2021 г.

i have gained very muck knowledge about international humanitarian law..Thankyou very much to coursera and the leiden university and its competent faculty members

автор: Jose S M

28 июня 2020 г.

Excellent course to understand International Humanitarian Law. This will help a lot in my teaching of Constitutional Law and International Law. Thanks and cheers!

автор: Olena N

28 дек. 2019 г.

I Liked this course. I do recommend International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice for all who interested in International Humanitarian Law. Many thanks.

автор: Avinash S

6 июня 2019 г.

excellent course for the understanding of the international humanitarian law both for academicians and practitioners to begin a further study on the subject.

автор: Malu C

27 июля 2019 г.

This course has helped me for a better understanding of the International Humanitarian Law, its implementation and enforcement. It will help me in my career

автор: Andreea I

29 янв. 2019 г.

This course is very well structured and the video lessons are thoroughly explained, in a language for anyone to understand. I am really enjoying it so far!!