Chevron Left
Вернуться к Information Visualization: Foundations

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Information Visualization: Foundations от партнера New York University

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 156
Рецензии: 43

О курсе

The main goal of this specialization is to provide the knowledge and practical skills necessary to develop a strong foundation on information visualization and to design and develop advanced applications for visual data analysis. This course aims at introducing fundamental knowledge for information visualization. The main goal is to provide the students with the necessary “vocabulary” to describe visualizations in a way that helps them reason about what designs are appropriate for a given problem. This module also gives a broad overview of the field of visualization, introducing its goals, methods and applications. A learner with some or no previous knowledge in Information Visualization will get a sense of what visualization is, what it is for and in how many different situations it can be applied; will practice to describe data in a way that is useful for visualization design; will familiarize with fundamental charts to talk about the concept of visual encoding and decoding....

Лучшие рецензии

EM
23 июня 2019 г.

Great intro to basics about information visualization. Would be a bit better if after doing the assessments the correct answers were provided as a guide to the peer review.

RH
28 окт. 2018 г.

Great course! Not too complicated and covers fundamental topics about visual encoding and decoding.\n\nThe explanation is clear and concise.\n\nThank you Professor Enrico!

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 44 отзывов о курсе Information Visualization: Foundations

автор: Nithish R

10 июня 2019 г.

Well explained from a conceptual sense. Good to get a basic hands on experience with Tableau as part of the course.

автор: Eaphy M

23 июня 2019 г.

Great intro to basics about information visualization. Would be a bit better if after doing the assessments the correct answers were provided as a guide to the peer review.

автор: Thabo T

6 сент. 2019 г.

Great course, it really game the skills and confidence to know what to do given a dataset

автор: Jonathan D

11 мая 2020 г.

The course materials are generally useful. the videos are reasonably well explained so that is positive.

The main concern I have about the course is the peer review in weeks 3 and 4. My concern is as follows: Students are relying on other students interpretation of the course materials to provide an assessment of other students work. For example, a student who has little understanding of the course materials can provide poor feedback to other students out of ignorance.

Furthermore, a student may submit a poor assignment and may receive a passing grade. Is there a lack of oversight on the side of the course administrators.

If successive peer-reviewed submissions are required it can take many days for a students work to be graded depending on the number of course attendees.

The course should be graded by an expert rather than peer-reviewed for those two reasons.

автор: Saif R

4 дек. 2018 г.

The course has great content, but it is not the easiest to follow. The videos present information in a sequential way, then the project are exciting and perhaps a tad too challenging. I would have loved more intermediate exercises that are shorter in weeks 1 and 2 before diving in the project in week 3. That said, the course is of great quality and I recommend it to anyone looking to learning about how to create effective and beautiful visualizations. You will also get introduced to Tablue which is an added bonus.

автор: Manol D

6 апр. 2021 г.

Entertaining introduction to the foundations of Information Visualization. Course material is interesting and is presented in a good way in the video lectures. On the other hand, course assessment need further thought / work / maintenance. Quizzes have some technical errors that seem to have been reported repeatedly over time (but not fixed especially in recent times); also, it would be very useful to get an explanation why an answer is right or wrong like in other Coursera courses. Last but not least peer review assignment does not seem to be the proper means of grading the final exam of such course and diminishes the course value and credibility a bit (and that's a pity as the assignments are rather challenging and interesting!)

автор: Adauto B

17 февр. 2021 г.

Even though I have a background on data science, this course was a great introduction to Information Visualization, specially regarding Visual Science and Information Design. It'll give you a conceptual understanding of some common practices already found in your practice and help you build a vocabulary to talk about visualization in a more precise way. Weeks 3 and 4 were the best ones, with a more practical focus. Really recommend it!

автор: Santiago S

21 нояб. 2018 г.

Great course, I've enjoyed Prof. Enrico clear video explanations about the covered topics. The course serves as a fresh start if you are looking to improve your data visualization skills and knowledge. Examples included during the classes helped a lot to understand what's behind the scenes. Easy to follow along, it was made with a balanced mix of both: practice and theory.

автор: Santiago T

17 окт. 2019 г.

It helped me put some theory behind data visualization concepts I work with every day. After this course, I know better why some graphs seem better than others and have some guidelines as to where I should start when creating a new visualization depending on the type of data I have.

автор: Luis R

3 мар. 2021 г.

Great job, this course is great to get started into Information Visualization, i learned a lot with it, now my knowledge about Information Visualization as well as the best practices will help build better representations for my projects, keep up the good work!

автор: Camilo C

5 нояб. 2018 г.

(Taken in Audit Mode) The course is great, Enrico is a great teacher and the introductory topics are great if you are searching for improving your data visualization skills. Simple explanations of a very broad and interesting topic.

автор: Jafed E G

6 июля 2019 г.

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

автор: Marian E

28 дек. 2020 г.

I thought this was a great foundational introduction to the world of information visualization. Being able to understand some of the foundations of what makes a great visualization and the process behind it will be a great asset.

автор: Yen-Ju T

4 авг. 2020 г.

The course is with clear explanation. Professor will guide you to overview the concept of information visualization step by step. After the course, you will have the big picture of information visualization.

автор: Ian W

5 сент. 2018 г.

Good introduction to information visualization.

If you finish this class, I suggest you finish all courses in this specialization because it's great and not too hard. :)

автор: Raja D H

29 окт. 2018 г.

Great course! Not too complicated and covers fundamental topics about visual encoding and decoding.

The explanation is clear and concise.

Thank you Professor Enrico!

автор: Seydou D

16 мая 2020 г.

This course is very clear, helpful and rewarding even for someone who has no idea about Information Visualization. I do encourage you to take this course.

автор: Alex S L

17 мая 2020 г.

The course was eye opening to a vital skill in today's data age: visualizing and comunicating with information proficiently.

автор: Kate G

23 мар. 2021 г.

I really liked the scientific approach to data visualization and the methodology taught to critique and improve graphs.

автор: Raphael d F S

30 окт. 2018 г.

Very good! The videos and materials are great. Enrico's knowledge is impressive and inspiring.

автор: Andrea T

23 авг. 2019 г.

Great course, thorough, easy to follow and full of resources to deepen the knowledge.

автор: Khalid M K

23 мая 2020 г.

Good way of teaching, easy and interesting concepts to work with hard things.

автор: Emilio A A S

7 дек. 2019 г.

A very good introductory course on the information visualization foundations.

автор: Vikram G

19 апр. 2020 г.

Excellent Course by NYU , Professor enrico's classes are really good.

автор: Mathieu L

2 апр. 2019 г.

A very complete and instructive introduction about data visualisation