Chevron Left
Вернуться к Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides от партнера Вашингтонский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 171
Рецензии: 46

О курсе

In the professional realm, most speeches and presentations we give are informative in scope. A scientist needs to explain her recent research findings. A financial officer needs to report on quarterly earnings to his company’s board. A technology professional needs to educate a consumer about a new product. Any time you need to convey ideas or demonstrate a process, you’re dealing with informative speaking. Informative speaking is a fun puzzle. You need to think from the perspective of your audience to identify what they need to hear in order to understand the key ideas. How much does the audience already know? What are the most important elements to convey? How should one convey these ideas with appropriate breadth and depth given the time constraints of the speech? This demands a strategic approach to speech design that we’ll undertake in this class. By the end of the course, you should be able to explain complex ideas vividly and accessibly, design clear and compelling presentation slides, convey your passion for a topic while maintaining your professional credibility, and speak dynamically from notes and/or a manuscript. Learners will record speeches, providing and receiving peer feedback....

Лучшие рецензии

OS

May 03, 2020

Very informative and practical course.Very interesting and well structured course for building confident in public speaking and exercises are very interesting to keep learner on track.

JJ

Nov 14, 2017

Excellent lecture structure. The logical progression of the lessons made it easier to understand and grasp the key concepts of the course. I would recommend this course to everyone.

Фильтр по:

26–46 из 46 отзывов о курсе Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides

автор: Muhammed N A

Jun 16, 2020

Excellent. Matt is good teacher ever!

автор: Muhammad A A

Oct 14, 2019

best course for personal development

автор: Aakash J D

Jun 28, 2020

fortunate enough to have one

автор: Linyan a

Apr 24, 2020

Very helpful and beneficial

автор: nagendra

Jun 12, 2020

excellent course

автор: M F

Jun 14, 2020

Soooo good!!

автор: PATIL H R

Feb 13, 2020

i love that

автор: Tadeo

May 14, 2020

Excellent

автор: How

Jan 27, 2019

Completed

автор: Priscila M

Jun 08, 2020

Great!

автор: Mona A A

Jun 16, 2020

G

O

O

D

автор: Rolandas R

May 31, 2017

L

автор: Santosh S

Jul 30, 2017

Good course, particularly for informative speeches.

I am doctoral student nearing by thesis proposal, so I was wondering - how the course will help me to structure my presentation.

Though the course is helpful, but I would have loved little more treatment of such topics like presenting proposals, defense, data. This treatment is bit sketchy in the course.

However, I will highly recommend the course to any doctoral student or anyone who wish to get into academia.

автор: Sarah R

Apr 22, 2020

Enjoyed doing the course. I think I have learned skills that will be very useful in future. It was good to engage in all the assignments as it really does help build confidence

автор: Nguyen T T N

Jul 11, 2019

I prefer fewer peer-review

автор: Palani T A

Jan 23, 2020

Very useful.

автор: Huda M S A O

Mar 20, 2018

w

автор: GIOSUE P

Jun 11, 2019

The course should provide less explanatory sessions and more practice-based tips.

The videos are often repetitive and do not provide enough ground on theories of perception - i.e. how are we perceived while we do something when we speak?

Mostly generic.

автор: Thomas M

Feb 12, 2018

Don't know if the instructor was nervous or just not competent. Pretty much useless if you have any type of training in publich speaking.

1 He speaks WAY TOO fast...and seems nervous and insecure

2 No clear communication (which is funny as he is trying to teach you to communicate!)

3. Do not seem to understand the topic very well (typical Academia, who never actutally done any real work)

автор: mohit

Mar 19, 2018

This course could be made more interactive and informative.

автор: PINJARI S A S A

Feb 01, 2020

good