Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 18,303
Рецензии: 6,526

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

LJ

5 мая 2022 г.

I really enjoyed this course. I liked that it was taught by indigenous peoples from their perspective. I feel much more confident in my knowledge regarding indigenous issues and traditions. Thank you!

AS

6 сент. 2020 г.

I found this course to be very informative. Thank you for the opportunity to see our shared history from another perspective. I hope this is as groundbreaking for my fellow Canadians as it was for me.

Фильтр по:

6201–6225 из 6,774 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: Neil M

31 дек. 2020 г.

Great course. Presents an indigenous point of view of Canadian history not taught in school . I think there needs to be more content included in the Canadian school curriculum about the original Canadian peoples and how important their contribution has been to this great country.

автор: Tanya

18 авг. 2021 г.

T​his course was wonderful. It opened my eyes to the many hidden ways that Indigenous People in Canada have sufffered.

I​ do wish that in the art section there were selections of the art that is mentioned as visuals. I found myself stopping and looking them up online.

T​hank you.

автор: Scott C

6 нояб. 2020 г.

A good introductory course covering a wide variety of topics. There are a spelling errors in the 'subtitles' and reading documents. A few of the questions could do with being reviewed and/or be worded better. Overall though I enjoyed the course and found it very informative.

автор: Amie B

8 нояб. 2021 г.

I enjoyed the content, however would have liked to have had more interactive content throughout the videos. Online learning by way of just watching videos is not my most favourite. I do appreciate that it is free though and really hope a lot of people get a chance to see it.

автор: Adele M

28 сент. 2020 г.

I feel like I've learned a lot of interesting and very helpful things about Indigenous peoples, their world views and how that impacts many aspects of their lives today. I hope I can continue learning. I feel like this has just whetted my appetite to learn more. Thank you.

автор: Heather I

3 июля 2020 г.

Information that all Canadians need to be aware of. Great use of various mediums. The multiple choice questions were often poorly worded, asking for what was 'not' an option. Loved the use of art forms and the commissioned pieces that were explained by the artist, Leah Dorion.

автор: Bernadette G

7 сент. 2021 г.

I really enjoyed learning about the history of the First people of this land. It meant alot to me as I am Metis and have limited knowledge of my family's past. I would like to keep learning more. Thankyou to all the people that participated in putting this course together.

автор: Portia G

25 авг. 2021 г.

Very informative. I would have liked to see more examples when possible. The videos although very informative were a bit too one dimensional. I feel much more knowledgable and aware of the Indigenous issues. Such a difficult history, but important for everyone to understand.

автор: Sarah H

22 июля 2021 г.

Overall, it was excellent. I had a few problems with the interactive art pieces, and I was sorry that more time wasn't spent on Indigenous writers and other creators. But I learned a lot and I feel the need to learn more. I have already recommended the course to many people.

автор: Gizella M

7 нояб. 2020 г.

To be honest, I signed up for this course due to the celebrity of Dan Levy. However, I stayed because I became very surprised to see how little I knew about the plight of the Indigenous peoples of Canada. I am grateful for having had the opportunity to join in this course.

автор: A/J

24 сент. 2020 г.

Very important information to be learning. I appreciate the knowledge and thank you for making this course available to so many people. There is still so much more to learn. It would be amazing to have courses that dive deeper into the topics that where touched on.

Thank-you

автор: Emily S

27 нояб. 2021 г.

I would like to be able to see tests better, see and save wrong answers and keep correct/ passed tests. Overall I really enjoyed this these topics and appreciate so much learning from such knowledgeable educators who took their time to create and be a part of this course.

автор: Larry O

10 янв. 2021 г.

I appreciate the efforts that have gone into creating this course. I found the multiple-choice approach to the exams a little tricky but enjoyed the challenge. I describe myself as unilingual, with English as my first language and it was challenged during the exams.

Thanks

автор: Robert P

14 нояб. 2020 г.

Well presented, mostly interesting to follow, especially the units on the fur trade and indigenous arts. Elsewhere, the tone is somewhat less critical, more advocative than informative. In some lectures, especially the one on community, the language gets rather puzzling.

автор: Michele C

21 июня 2021 г.

Exceptional learning. Invites me to continue learning about what I should have always known. This is just the start of my journey and I hope to walk alongside and behind, and to listen, and then stand up and share when the timing warrants. Thank you for this experience.

автор: Anne S

4 мая 2022 г.

t​hThis was a great course and i learned so much about Indigenous history, culture and art. I have a deep appreciation for their suffering, their resiliency and their hope. I like the way the material was presented and the artwork of Leah Dorion pulled it all together.

автор: Tania V

5 нояб. 2021 г.

I learned lots in this course and will definitely be reading the chapters all over again. Lots of information to learn and understand. I always understood the Term First Nations but have a much better understanding of all the injustice that has and continues to happen.

автор: Jaden B

17 февр. 2021 г.

It was a great course. Although some things I did not agree with such as the title of the course being a 'Modern Indian" because we should all know that "Indian" is .. for lack of better word.. a racist term and should be using words such as Indigenous or First Nation.

автор: Katja D B

12 мар. 2022 г.

I loved doing the course. It's a great introduction to Indigenous worldviews, history and movements. It would benefit from an update (it's now 2022 and some of the examples seem outdated) and more imagery, less talking heads. But all in all, a great course. Thank you!

автор: Carina S

2 февр. 2021 г.

Thank you very much, Dr. Tracy Bear and other instructors and writers, for this important course. I learned a great deal which, I trust, will build bridges as opportunities arise. I am happy to see that hundreds of thousands of people are signing up for this course.

автор: Karen G

23 дек. 2020 г.

Very informative; appreciated content delivery format and interactive painting component of each module. Occasionally found ‘Quiz’ questions to be unclear; on-line format did not provide avenue for clarification of understanding.

Will absolutely recommend this course.

автор: Sheyla K

8 нояб. 2020 г.

This was a great introductory course to Indigenous studies. It was eye opening, and humbling to realize how little we as Canadians know about our history, the way our government, laws and treaties have been concocted to work against the progress of Indigenous people.

автор: Jenny H

7 окт. 2020 г.

This was a broad and comprehensive review of Indigenous history and modern day culture of Canadian first nations. As an immigrant to Canada with very little exposure, background or education on this, I gained a much deeper understanding of this fascinating subject.

автор: michelle w

2 июня 2022 г.

v​ery informative but there were times when in my perspective the important things were not focused on. instead of taking the time to expand on a subject, a lot of different information was given but at a shallow depth. But this couse has changed how I view things

автор: David P

14 янв. 2020 г.

Thank you for the work, the opinions and the history lesson. I learned a great deal and have much to think about after completing the course. I appreciate all the time that went into producing this course and hope to see other courses in the future. Well done!