Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 18,321
Рецензии: 6,531

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

BE

17 нояб. 2020 г.

Thank you so much for this course. Also thanks to Dan Levy for suggesting it. The course and weekly chats helped educate me in Canada's true history, information that I should have received in school.

VK

23 февр. 2021 г.

Excdellent course! I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to learn the material presented. Thanks you so much! All the work that was evident in putting this course together was worth the effort!

Фильтр по:

6176–6200 из 6,781 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: Maisie L

27 дек. 2021 г.

Through this course, I have learned a lot about Indigenous history, culture, society and spirit. It helps me understand Canadian history better. It is a great course and I encourage more people to take this course. Suggestions: 1) add more pictures of real items or events as possible. 2) update the course occasionally.

автор: Ian R

13 мая 2021 г.

A great introductory overview of this very broad subject. As a 3rd/4th generation settler, it helped me capture and integrate many of the facts of our history together, and to consider them against the backdrop of Indigenous understandings. The challenge is to get beyond mourning the past to something action-oriented.

автор: Rachelle K

9 сент. 2020 г.

Super informative. Did not learn any of this in school! So glad to have taken part and educated myself on such important Indigenous issues. I really hope that the more of us non Indigenous folks learn and try to understand this history and culture, the further forward we can all walk together! Thank you for doing this!

автор: Mark S

31 дек. 2020 г.

Overall, this was a good course. In some places, there was detail that did not really advance our learning while in other places there was not enough detail to fully understand the intended meaning. I would have liked to see more photos and and hear examples (i.e., stories) to bring to life the facts being presented.

автор: BHL

20 нояб. 2020 г.

For an introductory course, the content and range of topics are quite good. The user interface, including the forum, videos, quizzes, etc. are all very helpful.

Two reasons I did not rate it higher: 1) the large amount of typos and errors in the reading materials and 2) the PDF reading materials are not searchable.

автор: Tara B (

5 окт. 2020 г.

This course was great for giving more meaning and understanding about Indigenous culture. Sometimes we're so focused on the hardships and struggle of our First Nations Peoples that we miss the beautiful art, ceremony, and culture that are so ingrained. Thank you for providing this course and making it so accessible.

автор: Gaylene A D

22 окт. 2021 г.

It was a beautiful reminder of much of the Social Studies we did in middle school and junior high, there was a lot more to take in. More information of the Residential Schools might be more beneficial. It was an inspiring course, pushing me along in my own personal journey with Truth and Reconciliation. Thank you.

автор: Deleted A

2 нояб. 2020 г.

Very informative! I liked the short bites too. Some of the questions were quite similar though and it made it hard to decipher what answer you wanted. It was funny, the segments I thought I'd do well on, I didn't and vice versa. I enjoyed my reintroduction into academia after a 25 yr absence :)

On to course two!

автор: Hugh L S

8 мар. 2021 г.

Course content was excellent. I felt that some of the multiple choice questions were weak, focusing on specific details rather than an understanding of concepts. I learned a lot about recent indigenous issues and will continue to keep informed from national media, which I believe give relatively unbiased coverage.

автор: Jarrod D

9 нояб. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed the course and increasing my understanding of indigenous history and present. I will say that I found sometimes the lecturers were a little dry making the information seem uninteresting. However, when I re-read the video scripts that information was more interesting. Overall, Excellent experience!

автор: Laurene W

16 авг. 2021 г.

I really learned alot about Indigenous history. I'm so glad I decided to take the course. It has made me more compassionate and understanding about First Nations people. I want to learn more. I also like how the course was presented by video and course notes. I have recommended it to other people. Thanks so much.

автор: Michelle S

21 февр. 2021 г.

An excellent overview that would greatly enhanced by more images and examples. The visual art content would be far more compelling and useful if actual images of more artwork were included. Also the access to musicians and other artists described, which participants are encouraged to view and explore is missing.

автор: Rae-ann M

15 нояб. 2020 г.

I’m grateful that this course is offered online. This course provided much history and insight in how Indigenous Peoples were/are mistreated in Canada which is information that wasn’t in the curriculum when I was in school. It has given me a better understanding of the challenges faced by Indigenous communities.

автор: Dale A

8 сент. 2020 г.

The down side of ignorance is not knowing you're ignorant. My eyes have been opened and my opinions have dramatically changed - and will continue to be reshaped from my colonial upbringing. Thank you! I only wish this were a 20-week course - I feel there's so very much still to be learned, respected and valued.

автор: Donna D

17 июля 2021 г.

V​ery informative and thought provoking course. Raises awareness. Suggest not putting "foreign" in the transcript when Cree is spoken by some of the early guest presenters. Would have loved to learn more about the art, dance and particularly the music of Indigenous Peoples both traditional and contemporary.

автор: Audrey O

22 июня 2020 г.

It was very full of wonderful information. I did like the ability to read along instead of just listening if I wanted to. I also like that I could choose to just read instead of watching also. Adding a few more pictures and videos would have been nice also to break it up a little more. Well done, thank you!

автор: Kristin C

29 дек. 2017 г.

Great course! There were a few quiz questions that appeared to have multiple arguably reasonable responses, but otherwise, I greatly enjoyed the material and learned a lot. Taking this course was the only thing I did to commemorate "Canada 150," and as a settler Canadian, I feel that was the right decision.

автор: David B

15 июня 2018 г.

Greatly informative. People speaking are reading a script and it comes off as a bit boring. I'd prefer audio without images of narrator and more visuals of what is being discussed. Even if narration is scripted and read, it can be executed in a more dynamic way. Kudos for the rich content. I learned a lot.

автор: Philip P

9 сент. 2021 г.

I like the fact that the course focuses on healing and resiliency. The broad themes allowed for snapshots into the various indigenous cultures that exist in Canada.

I enjoyed that it looked at the whole and used numerous communities to highlight history and modern movements within the various communities.

автор: Steffen P

18 авг. 2020 г.

Having learned Canadian history in high school, it was refreshing to see this 'history' told from a the perspective of the First Nations. For example, the discussions about the role of the Hudsons Bay Trading company portrayed the complexities of the relationship between First Nations and settlers.

Thanks!

автор: Kiran S

4 мар. 2021 г.

it would have been interesting if there was some pointers to how one should pronounce the indigeneous words and also show samples of the artwork in the last module.

Overall, it changed my perspective. now when I read any news articles about Indigeneous aspects, I read it with a different lens. Thanks.

автор: Raymond D

12 мая 2022 г.

I recommend this course for anyone who wishes to learn more about indigenous culture, history, and also the modern perspectives of the native experience within the Canadian landscape. The instructors and presenters are obviously very well versed in the material and bring a unique view to the course.

автор: Randy T R

28 апр. 2021 г.

Overall it was informative, not much Siksikaitapaiks (Blackfoot) content but we're used to being excluded and viewed as the enemy. If your narrative is to raise awareness for justice and Indigenous autonomy, sovereignty, etc., perhaps lose the historical-hate for other tribes such as the Blackfoot.

автор: Jennifer

10 июля 2020 г.

I really appreciated this course, I will certainly be striving to learn more and share what I have learned. It would be helpful if some things were updated and if there were more interactive questions within the units. Also having recommendations for further study would be Amazing.

Thank you so much

автор: Edward P

9 мая 2021 г.

Love to have seen more visuals of art examples when discussing contemporary artists' work.

In the arts section, would also love to learn more about contemporary writers, singers and craft artists too.

Thank you for the course. It was a very good introduction for me about the history of colonization.