Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 17,910
Рецензии: 6,406

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

EG

27 мая 2021 г.

Very well done! Thank you for allowing me to learn more about your history & culture. Being from Ireland and relatively new to Canada I wanted to know more about the beginnings of Canada as a country.

MD

2 июля 2021 г.

This course was very interesting and very informative. Not only did it help correct stereotypes or prejudices, it showed a wide range of subjects pertaining to global and specific Indigenous cultures.

Фильтр по:

6101–6125 из 6,640 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: Katja D B

12 мар. 2022 г.

I loved doing the course. It's a great introduction to Indigenous worldviews, history and movements. It would benefit from an update (it's now 2022 and some of the examples seem outdated) and more imagery, less talking heads. But all in all, a great course. Thank you!

автор: Carina S

2 февр. 2021 г.

Thank you very much, Dr. Tracy Bear and other instructors and writers, for this important course. I learned a great deal which, I trust, will build bridges as opportunities arise. I am happy to see that hundreds of thousands of people are signing up for this course.

автор: Karen G

23 дек. 2020 г.

Very informative; appreciated content delivery format and interactive painting component of each module. Occasionally found ‘Quiz’ questions to be unclear; on-line format did not provide avenue for clarification of understanding.

Will absolutely recommend this course.

автор: Sheyla K

8 нояб. 2020 г.

This was a great introductory course to Indigenous studies. It was eye opening, and humbling to realize how little we as Canadians know about our history, the way our government, laws and treaties have been concocted to work against the progress of Indigenous people.

автор: Jenny H

7 окт. 2020 г.

This was a broad and comprehensive review of Indigenous history and modern day culture of Canadian first nations. As an immigrant to Canada with very little exposure, background or education on this, I gained a much deeper understanding of this fascinating subject.

автор: David P

14 янв. 2020 г.

Thank you for the work, the opinions and the history lesson. I learned a great deal and have much to think about after completing the course. I appreciate all the time that went into producing this course and hope to see other courses in the future. Well done!

автор: Paul V d E

25 авг. 2021 г.

Interesting course giving a good overview of the many issues faced by the Indigenous community in Canada. Course is recommended with a caveat that it seems to be one-sided and presented from a vae victis perspective. Still, some very good and useful information.

автор: Gayle L

9 авг. 2021 г.

While this course added to my knowledge about the history of Indigenous people and their culture I would have liked more indepth information about the history of the effects of colonization. I am upset that none of this was taught in my educational experience.

автор: Charlaine M

13 янв. 2022 г.

I enjoyed the teachings throughout this course but found the assessment questions were often poorly worded and often addressed facts rather than broad concepts and understandings. The wording often made it difficult to ascertain what was actually being asked.

автор: Emilie M B

21 июня 2020 г.

Definitely an eye-opening introduction to the masked history of North America. There is so much more to learn and experience in order to truly get an authentic understanding, I believe that requires meeting people, working for them and amplifying their voice.

автор: Jesse T

26 янв. 2022 г.

Great course, I really enjoyed it and learned a lot. My only suggestion would be to add more interviews and conversational elements, as the prompter course reading can be somewhat dry at times. That said would wholeheartedly recommend this course to anyone.

автор: Marc F

13 июня 2021 г.

R​eally enjoyed the course and learned much I was not aware of. Perhaps the course should be updated to reflect current (upto 2021) updates to some items mentioned. For example status of TRC CALLS TO ACTION and MMIW inquiry updates etc...thanks for this!

автор: Richard P

25 мая 2021 г.

l​earned a lot more about indigineous people and how they are not like the sterotypes that the colonizer want us to believe. Learned about their culture which is focused on the family and the environment and the importance of the past being in the present.

автор: Peter B

23 апр. 2020 г.

I liked the course content and the instructors. I learned a great deal. Sometimes I found the multiple choice questions to be worded in a way that was confusing. I'm not sure this approach assesses learning as much as tricking people into the wrong answer.

автор: Heinz U

22 мар. 2022 г.

I​t was a good course and excellent value, considering it was free. I learned a lot and many things that I wasn't aware or never thought about. The lecturers were very good and became familiar to me over the weeks,. like friends and I began to trust them.

автор: Judi Q

11 окт. 2020 г.

Learned a lot. Thanks. Certainly helps to include thoughts of Indigenous History and World View and I see more and more that they are claiming their rightful place. Really understand the injustice and also that there is a long way to go to correct it.

автор: Dani L

12 июля 2021 г.

I definitely think this course is good for folks just starting to learn! It would be nice to see nations being pronounced as correctly as possible to ensure that Indigenous languages are being respected from the get-go. Definitely recommend this course!

автор: Colin M

13 янв. 2021 г.

Very informative. Did not feel the information generalized First Nations. Would find it beneficial to connect more with the modern reader (i.e Comparisons). Lots of spelling mistakes which could use fixing up. Overall beneficial course; would recommend.

автор: Mark L

25 июля 2020 г.

It is a good mix of things I know and those I didn't. I very much appreciated the accompanying visuals (photos and videos) and can only recommend that you increase them wherever possible as they make the learning come alive and appeal to a wider base.

автор: Dwayne S

12 апр. 2021 г.

I learned a great deal. The presenters were knowledgeable, the information was detailed. My only critique is that sometimes the questions were a bit "trivial pursuit"... the main ideas weren't always the things being tested. But overall, very helpful.

автор: Crystal B

9 нояб. 2020 г.

I found that some of the translation from spoken to text was slightly off throughout the course; however, for an overview of Indigenous Peoples in Canada, it was very insightful. Thank you for the history lesson that I should have had in my childhood.

автор: Gary

13 сент. 2020 г.

A very good introduction to indigenous history of Canada. My only complaint is the there was no mention of the Kelowna Accord that the Harper government abandoned it's potential benefits and the impact of the government's failure to ratify the accord.

автор: Neil C

16 авг. 2018 г.

Great learning experience, but some of the quizzes could be improved upon. Occasionally the quizzes seem programmed incorrectly and a couple questions in a couple modules didn't seem related to the material that was presented. Otherwise, great course.

автор: Joshua A

30 июня 2018 г.

Ce cour m'a permis de mieux comprendre la réalité actuelle des autochtones causé par l'arrivée des européens. Les conséquences des pensionnats autochtones et des tentatives d'assimilation du gouvernement Canadien envers les Premières Nation du Canada.

автор: Garry A

5 нояб. 2017 г.

During ones education career their are a few courses that inspire, are beneficial to real world application, and are taught in a manner that makes want to gone on to the next lesson like this course. Well Done to Tracy Bear and the other presenters.