Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 18,321
Рецензии: 6,531

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

BE

17 нояб. 2020 г.

Thank you so much for this course. Also thanks to Dan Levy for suggesting it. The course and weekly chats helped educate me in Canada's true history, information that I should have received in school.

VK

23 февр. 2021 г.

Excdellent course! I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to learn the material presented. Thanks you so much! All the work that was evident in putting this course together was worth the effort!

Фильтр по:

6051–6075 из 6,781 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: Linda T G

1 сент. 2020 г.

Although I have taken other courses on line to deepen my knowledge and understanding of Indigenous world views, this course offered me a new perspective. It really covered a wide range of historical facts that had not been covered in other courses as well as a contemporary aspect that has got me thinking more, wondering more and wanting to know more.

I will definitely look up some of the resources that were mentioned.

Thank you for this opportunity to join in this class.

автор: Maureen S

21 нояб. 2020 г.

I learned so much! Thank you for providing this course!! If you want help with editing the written pieces for typos, grammar, spelling and punctuation, I will happily do that free of charge. I think if these aspects are fixed, the U of A (my alma mater :) and the Indigenous Studies Dept. will look more polished and professional. I'm a retired English teacher who wants this course to reach a wide audience. I'll send a note to that effect to the dept. Thanks again!

автор: Renee M

7 янв. 2022 г.

So well presented! Appreciated the multi media approach to teaching, including guests speakers. I imagine it was hard to narrow down who to bring in; this course could have SO much more community and cultural involvement I am sure. Hope to have more time to dig into the resources, and look forward to getting lost in a few rabbit holes!

I was not able to get the media playing on the Leah Dorion paintings; not sure if this was d/t my browser.

Thank you so much! Migwetch.

автор: Shawna M

15 нояб. 2020 г.

This course added to my understanding of Indigenous People, their culture and the many events that they have dealt with and continue to deal with. The topics were varied and very relevant . It allowed me to reflect and gain a better understanding and appreciation for Indigenous People. This course is just the beginning, a good introduction to the many topics at hand, as each module could be a course in and of itself. The discussions groups were also very helpful!

автор: Mark C F

9 февр. 2021 г.

Thank you for the opportunity to take this course. It is very important for all of us. While the content was excellent the style of delilvery could be made more dynamic and have less of a "read my notes" feel! As a settler, I had hoped the information would be communicated in a more indigenous style rather than the traditional settler lecture style! That's a lot more work I know. The stories, interviews and artist commentary were a lovely asset to the course.

автор: john e

12 дек. 2021 г.

The information was well presented and extremely informative. I loved that is was done from the Indigenous perspective which was not what I was taught in public school. My only dislike was how some of the questions were worded. They seemed design to trick you. Even though I felt I had a good understanding of the subject matter the wording of the question occasionally had me marking an incorrect answer. Better or clearer wording would have been appreciated.

автор: Bill M

29 сент. 2021 г.

I learned much in this course - starting with all the familiar dates of the major historical events - remembering them as they were taught when i was in school from the "European" perspective. The lectures were very well done. The only suggestion I would offer is that some of the course notes had missing words - a minor point, but it would make the notes easier to read if they were cleaned up. Many thanks for making this excellent course available on-line!

автор: Angeli C N

8 сент. 2020 г.

This course provided perspectives that make me consider what it means to be Indigenous and a settler. It also helped me better understand the socio-political and economic issues in post-colonial Canada faced by Indigenous people with Treaty Rights and the Crown.

This course also brought into focus the place of activism, art and cultural revival and the importance of community in a changing landscape with rapid urbanization and what it means for the future.

автор: Jacki W

4 июня 2022 г.

i​nfromation was thorough and interesting, but delivery could have been more dynamic. I found the videos somewhat uniform and monotonous- but great insights into Canadian history and our shamful past. I learned a lot and plan to continue my learning. I really liked how the course ended- with positive statements about indigenous activism, global support and international recognition for indigenous peiples. I love the section on the art work. Thank you

автор: Joyce F

3 февр. 2021 г.

I enjoyed taking the course, there were some errors in how the questions were worded making some quizzes more challenging to complete. The content had a good balance and overview allowing for reflection and introspection. I loved the use of the artwork as it added visual stimulation and represented the people in a different way than reading and listening to the presenters. Thank you for putting this together, I have recommended it to a number of people.

автор: François L

21 дек. 2021 г.

Covers a wide range of topics, art and issues very much relevant today. From my perspective as a descendent of (mostly) French settlers, i feel the contents of this course should be given more space in all canadian history classes, no matter the age or level. Some of the quizzes seemed too short to fully encompass the notions viewed in each module, with a few questions somewhat ambiguous, but the sheer wealth of information is fascinating and crucial.

автор: Erin M

12 янв. 2021 г.

It's been over 20 years since I took an Indigenous course at the university level. When I graduated the RCAP report was just submitted & residential schools were just beginning being acknowledged in courses. I have worked with Indigenous Nations and wanted to reconnect with their history. I truly enjoyed this course - the knowledge and it's ability to make me think. It encouraged me to share with loved ones and a desire to go beyond this course.

автор: Shelley c

28 дек. 2020 г.

As a non-canadian, this course was very informative and I learned a lot about the complex history of indigenous peoples in Canada, as well as the present. The course is a few years old now, and I'd love to see them add something from current events, especially in relation to all the new pipelines. The other thing is that the wording of the quiz questions is, at times, a bit confusing, so you need to read them carefully. All in all, I learned a TON!

автор: Janet W

6 дек. 2020 г.

I live in an area surrounded by reserve lands and was interested to learn about how reserves are able to acquire additional land which may, or may not, be added to the reserve land. I was also interested being made aware of indigenous people have rights to moderate living from hunting, and fishing as well as the issue of Canada adopting Undrip.

These are issues in both local and National newspapers right now and I am reading them with interest.

автор: Ilya Z

21 нояб. 2020 г.

This course is definitely an eye-opener. However, there are some things that were missed.

First, it would be nice to briefly tell the story of how aboriginal peoples got to North America and three waves of migration. Also, a short review of the main language families would help many of the listeners.

Second, in part 12 when modern aboriginal artists are discussed, having no illustrations of their works is a big surprise.

Anyway, good course. Thanks.

автор: Troy D

2 февр. 2021 г.

The course itself is very informative and there is plenty to learn for anyone who hasn't done native studies. The content is well thought out and generally presented very well. The production does need some editing as the background music during talking is very distracting and the interview with Rueben Quinn doesn't really work. Also it would be good if there was a pop-up when questions aren't answered on a quiz before they submit for final grade

автор: Susan F

7 июня 2017 г.

This was a great course that covered a wide variety of issues facing Indigenous people in Canada. They drew in many different presenters with varied backgrounds and incorporated interactive art pieces that were explained by the artist. An improvement might be to include hyperlinks in the notes to related resources, especially in the final lesson on art. This course has fundamentally changed how I view Canada and Indigenous people. Thank you.

автор: Julie K

19 дек. 2020 г.

I very much enjoyed this course and will use it as a jumping off point for more learning related to Indigenous history and perspective. I suggest for future versions of this course, to include recommended additional readings for each weekly topic for those looking to dive deeper. I found myself wanting to learn more and researching on my own. I suspect the Faculty has some great readings to point students to. Thanks very much for this course!

автор: Jérémy T

9 сент. 2021 г.

Excellent course overall! This course is a solid base from which to further my own knowledge and understanding of historical and contemporary Indigenous issues. My only suggestion for improvement would be to edit some quiz questions so that there is only one correct answer per question. I found myself frustrated at times when I got a question wrong even though, for some questions, two options were clearly correct based on the course content.

автор: Lorena K H

12 дек. 2021 г.

A good survey course. The emphasis on Metis and Plains is understndlable, since it is Alberta-based..This terribly essential information should be essential for every Canadian. It desperately needs upgrading, in the last few sections.To integrate materials, I thought more time should be allowed than the esimates given. And, lastly, please do not let some modules fall into the trap of creating reverse racism (however justified that may be)

автор: Diane F

15 янв. 2021 г.

On occasion the questions were not quite well timed with the course materials, particularly the question on Idle No More. I also think that adding further visuals to the videos would be helpful and informative. While the lecturers are excellent, this format could more closely follow an in-class format where images accompany oral lecture content. In Week 12 a number of artists are named, but for most we did not see images of their works.

автор: Anna L

23 авг. 2020 г.

Content was really great! My only complaint were the quizzes. I took a couple twice and some correct answers were counted as wrong. It doesn't change my takeaway that the course itself was really good and made me want to learn more in different Indigenous studies classes going forward. It obviously can't cover everything in depth but definitely helps to fill in holes where most provincial primary and secondary education curriculums fail.

автор: Diana T

10 авг. 2020 г.

I would actually give this course a 4.5 but couldn't figure out how to do that. It was an excellent overview and I learned a great deal. I especially enjoyed the inclusion of Linda's paintings and her discussion of them.

My only criticism is the Forums - I found it difficult to find meaningful discussions. I am sure they were there, but there were many negative, show-off, posturing type comments that made it frustrating to wade through.

автор: Pete G

7 сент. 2020 г.

As a recent immigrant of Canada, I felt it was a duty of mine to learn about the indigenous history of my new home. I learned a lot during this course and I appreciate the amount of hours and effort that has gone into creating this course that is available for free. One bit of feedback for me personally was that I found it quite hard to concentrate at times due to it being done in the style of a lecture. Anyway, big thanks to the team.

автор: Stephanie P

30 июня 2020 г.

I enjoyed this course and also learned a lot of new things about different groups and different aspect of Indigenous culture, life and history. The videos were great and made the course accessible, it helped me work at my own pace as well as stay engaged. It is a great starting point, and I would love to continue learning more in depth on this subject from the faculty of UofA if additional courses will be made available in the future.