Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 18,321
Рецензии: 6,531

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

BE

17 нояб. 2020 г.

Thank you so much for this course. Also thanks to Dan Levy for suggesting it. The course and weekly chats helped educate me in Canada's true history, information that I should have received in school.

VK

23 февр. 2021 г.

Excdellent course! I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to learn the material presented. Thanks you so much! All the work that was evident in putting this course together was worth the effort!

Фильтр по:

6026–6050 из 6,781 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: James B

21 дек. 2020 г.

This is an awesome Course! Very well put together and alot of great information. I still think that it needs more detail on how current Colonial systems/Chief and council systems work with IOGC and Band funds etc. Band Council Resolutions and the changes in voting throughout the nation. I would give it a 4.75 out of 5 if I could but I am a little Bias as I took the ACIR course and got to go to Banff and interact with others. the Electives were a bonus too. Merry Christmas and Good work

James Blackman

автор: Sandra M

19 мая 2021 г.

I found the organization and content of the course to be excellent and have encouraged others to sign up for it. I think the use if interviews worked well to add variety and interest

I think there could be more interest put into backgrounds and did find voice modulation of all three primary lecturers somewhat monotonous.

I am new to online learning so may have unrealistic expectations of the scope of online lecturing.

On the whole the course was well worth taking. My thanks to all who were involved.

автор: Maureen W K

27 дек. 2020 г.

Indigenous Canada is a very good survey of a very broad field. It encourages me to pursue further studies of Indigenous issues. I experienced a technical difficulty with the art videos of each module as very "truncated or incomplete and "freezing up". The Module 12 Dorion video helped to clear up some of the resultant confusion. I would have liked to have learned more about the history of treaties in Canada. Perhaps another course is in my future... Thank you for a very educational experience.

автор: Carmen H G

9 окт. 2020 г.

I really, really benefitted from this course.

I was impressed with the substance of the material, and enjoyed the lecture aspect of it.

I feel like I have a clearer understanding of the Indigenous viewpoint on Canadian history, and although it's painful to hear certain truths, as a Settler, I am better for it and begin to inform others about it with greater objectivity and information as my allies.

Many, many thanks for making this very needed and very necessary course free for all of us!

Carmen Grant

автор: Marcie E B

10 апр. 2022 г.

O​verall wonderful! Learned so much. Well organized and liked how each week built on the previous.Would have liked to have visual examples of the art / artists as they were presented in the last module.

A​lso some of the info was a bit outdated, eg. Neechi COmmons no longer around, when I went to look at for info. This would be a good addition - talking about WHY an important inititative like Neechi was not sustainable.

T​hank you!! Amazing work and I am telling everyone I know to take this course!

автор: Tiarra K

3 мая 2018 г.

I think the content of the course was fantastic, easy to understand and yet added depth to my understanding of Canadian history. I wish every Canadian would take this course! The only thing I would change is having more visual examples of the art described in the last segment such as "Walking with our sisters" and "Trace" because it would have added some context to the unit on Art but now I can continue my own personal research. Thank you for making this course so easily accessible for everyone!

автор: Rosemary H

1 нояб. 2020 г.

Very informative course, with a wide array of topics, all instructed with care and in great detail. I feel that i've learned a lot. The instruction was a little dry, but I believe this is mostly because of the online element. The content itself though was very well delivered. I especially liked the interviews! Being able to hear people tell what they know and have experienced in their own words makes the whole experience more real, and gives a more defined picture. Very glad to have taken part!

автор: Cecilia R

1 апр. 2022 г.

I enjoyed the videos- especially the interviews with members of the Indigenous community, professors and students. Some of the quizzes were really difficult. I wish I had access to the videos to share with my students. I took this course as part of my professional development and I feel as though I have learned so much, but now I don't have access to share material that I think could be really insightful to my students. Thank you for putting this together. I am a U 0f A alum, BEd grad 1998.

автор: José C C B

21 апр. 2020 г.

Un curso muy interesante que aporta mucho para conocer desde una perspectiva antropológica a los indígenas de Canadá. Aporta mucho sobre la situación actual que viven los indígenas del Canadá: su situación, política, económica y social. Me quedo con ganas de conocer otros aspectos más clásicos como algunas referencias a algún estudio concreto de casos de parentesco, también alguna referencia sobre antropología del cuerpo y el espacio o algún caso de antropología lingüística. Un buen curso.

автор: Carol B

26 янв. 2021 г.

I have only one issue. The content of this course was very dense and I found your time frame, especially the readings at the end of each module took much longer then estimated. I actually filled a legal pad with notes which helped me remember all of the facts and names. In all, with videos, I probably spent about 4 hours on each module. Otherwise, a fantastic course and I am so happy as a Metis person to have the opportunity for this overview. It taught me so very much. Thank-you!!

автор: Beth F

2 окт. 2020 г.

Thank you so much for this valuable course...it has been an important addition to my limited knowledge about Indigenous history. As many have said before me "it has provided me with a history of "Canada" I was never taught in school". I have recommended this course to many people in my work and personal life. If there was one piece of critical feedback I could provide, it would be that there is very little content or focus on the eastern areas of Canada. Kind regards and thank you again.

автор: Craig S

21 февр. 2021 г.

Good high level overview. Obviously would like to get into more specific examples but difficult given the time frame. In particular, showing more of the actual works in the last section would have been good (“google time”). Also, could not find the list of musicians, authors etc you mentioned in the video. That would be a nice kick off for further exploration. Thanks for putting together the course. Definitely has me thinking of things from a different viewpoint and inspired discussion.

автор: Melanie D

1 нояб. 2020 г.

I learned a great deal. Thus course has given me a new perspective on how Canada was settled and the importance of the indigenous story. As a descendant of settlers and living in Nova Scotia, this has helped me have a more balanced view on the current situation between indigenous and non-indigenous lobster fishermen.

I give it 4/5 because some lessons were too long and I found it hard to absorb all the content. I would have found more value from it being broken up into smaller parts.

автор: Sarah G

2 сент. 2020 г.

I really liked this course! I learned a lot about the way the opposing worldviews of settlers and Indigenous people clashed and influenced historical events, as well as modern proceedings. My only criticism is that occasionally I felt the phrasing was odd, or a word or term would not be defined before they were used. Sometimes I would rewind, feeling like I missed something, only to find an explanation was never given for that word or term. Nothing Google couldn't help me with though!

автор: Yvonne L

16 авг. 2021 г.

I learned so much about the history of this country that was not taught, but should have been, when going to school. It has been a long time since I have taken a course so it took me a while to get through it and now I want to go over the whole thing a second time because my retention is not as good as it used to be. I really enjoyed the material and it has made me want to continue learning about the First Peoples of this country so I can be an ally in the quest for reconciliation.

автор: Jenna S

13 апр. 2018 г.

I found a lot of value in this course, however I do have some complaints. I found that the first half of the MOOC was A LOT about the settlers and colonialism, I am aware that this is a major part of Canada's history but I do remember learning a lot of it in school but the addition of the indigenous population and they're hardships was very beneficial for my own knowledge. Also, the course notes I found were very hard to read due to poor punctuation and sentence structure. Thank yo

автор: Kate L

28 сент. 2020 г.

the content was absolutely fantastic! I would have loved to have seen more art work and illustrations / pictures throughout the course, particularly in the last module. I think having more interviews would be great instead of listening to primarily one person talk throughout the course, though she was great! Thanks for making it available! (FYI - two different friends heard about course through CBC radio and told me about it due to my interests... great job getting the word out!)

автор: Sheila D

16 сент. 2021 г.

I learned a lot and I feel inspired to continue my learning . In the last section of Art and Indigenous culture, I wished that they highlighted some examples of art and culture as they were speaking as a focal point to make it more engaging. Overall, I feel that there is still a lot to learn and I've only scratched the suface of my learning and will try to take my new knowledge out into the world and try to see life from more of an indigenous perspective from now on. Thank you

автор: Danica B

30 сент. 2020 г.

Other than trying to keep all the names straight...

As a “white settler” , third generation Canadian I gained knowledge about all aspects of the course. There was so much that I don’t know, and I imagine many my age don’t know. Keep educating people. I think that is the only way issues will finally get resolved. It will take many more years, but progress is being made. Thank you for the work you all have done. I have grown from this course and I feel I am a better person for it

автор: Brian F

10 мая 2021 г.

Great presentations. Well delivered and good pace.

The Quiz in chapter 10 seems way out of step with the other quizzes though. It asks vague questions which are not well covered in the reading material. The answers I got right I went back and tried to find what they referred to in the transcripts and the link was not good. For questions of a multiple choice style, I think you can't have nuanced interpretation of your writing.

Thanks for making this course. It is really good.

автор: Claudine T

17 июля 2017 г.

Extremely well-presented and thought-provoking course that I found brought light to a lot of colonization processes that had many experiences in common with Māori in New Zealand. Every Canadian should engage with this course! As a scientist and science teacher, I found the commentary on gender-driven science particularly interesting. I will incorporate some of the indigenous views on gender and genderful people into a study topic for Year 10 students genetics (14 year-olds).

автор: Andrea V

12 авг. 2020 г.

The course was helpful for building my understanding. I appreciated the faculty and their expertise and objective viewpoint. I did struggle personally with Week 9, Indigenous Women, Girls, and Genderful People. While I can appreciate the varying lifestyle's represented in current culture. I struggle with the implementation of mainstream societal ideologies to meet current political and social norms. I saw the value of the many roles not specifically assigned to a gender.

автор: Barbara F

29 нояб. 2020 г.

I learned so much that I hope young people are being taught in our schools across the country today. Thank you for providing this course. Some of the wording in the quizzes were a tad confusing but that could just be my old brain not necessarily the wording, but you may wish to revisit that to clarify the questions and the potential answers. I reread the notes to try to help me but in some instances either none of the choices seemed to fit or all of them sort of did.

автор: Yvonne H

19 сент. 2020 г.

So much interesting information! Thank you for presenting such a comprehensive overview of Indigenous Canada. If you were to update the course, my suggestion would be for the three narrators to move around instead of staring straight at the camera all the time. Make it seem more like they're teaching a class! I really appreciated the art work by Leah Dorion, and her comments on her own creations. Many thanks to the entire team for putting together this wonderful course.

автор: Daniel R

3 нояб. 2021 г.

Many of the subjects and details were familiar to me as I have taken a dozen or so courses this past year on Indigenous peoples here at Employment and Social Development Canada. The courses included interactive lectures, webinars and documentary films. However, this course provided much new information, historical background and testimonials which only strengthened my deep respect for and gratitude towards the unbowed First Nations, Inuit and Métis. I am very grateful.