Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 18,321
Рецензии: 6,537

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

JS

21 окт. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

GC

13 окт. 2021 г.

This was one of the best online courses I have taken. It was well written, great material related to my own personal development and gave me a better understanding of the Indigenous Peoples in Canada.

Фильтр по:

6001–6025 из 6,782 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: River O

16 июля 2021 г.

Very informative and interesting course. I'm glad I completed it. I think improvement could be made in the area of methodology. It primarily uses videos and multiple-choice quizzes to convey and evaluate learned content. Even though some of the videos are interesting, especially the explanations of Leah Dorion's commissioned art, it would have been nice to have some kind of interactive component to the course. Overall, well done and I recommend. I think this course should be a government-mandated requirement for high school graduation in Canada.

автор: Peggy B

15 окт. 2021 г.

​Overall, excellent content. I found the Treaties material tedious and some of the quiz questions too picky and sometimes too vague. Another form of instruction for the Treaties sections would be helpful- perhaps more visual content rather than just a lecturer talking.

I​ am glad persevered though because it has shifted my perspective on Canadian history and feel hopeful that we can move forward as a country in a better way by including indigenous voices on more issues.

T​hanks to all those who contributed to creating this excellent course!

автор: Dianne K

17 сент. 2021 г.

My biggest disappointment with the class was the references to outdated or closed facilities used to show successes such as Neechi Commons. I would have liked to have seen more successful examples where indigenous bands have been successful and why they have. For example the Osoyoos Band. 2 out of the 3 presenters were fabulous but I found one's voice a little hard to distinguish from time to time. Having the written words below really helped in that case.

But generally I really enjoyed the class and found the information invaluable.

автор: John W

22 авг. 2021 г.

I was frustrated by the "stand up and lecture" way of delivering the material at first. I complained about it to my daughter, who runs her own business in Lethbridge, and she told me how hard it is for anyone to present information to an audience you cannot see. She's right! So, in retrospect, I appreciate how well the three presenters did. I thought that the information was very good but that better use could have been made of more videos. I was also disappointed that Indigenous authors were not mentioned. Overall - very good. Thank you!

автор: Deirdre

23 июня 2021 г.

I enjoyed learning the true history of the indigenous people of Canada. All of the teachers were well spoken and easy to understand. The interviews contained in the course were also very interesting. Happy that you offer this so that people can learn what actually happened in Canada to the Indigenous people and their struggles today. I found the section with the Legal Cases very informative and was happy that some legal cases were won. The views in the social media section were good outlining the positive and negative sides to it.

автор: Deanna H

21 нояб. 2021 г.

This course offers a lot of great information on the First Nation's history with the Western European settlers and government. I enjoyed how it covered each topic thoroughly through the videos and course notes. I found the quizzes sometimes had questions that didn't pertain to the "meat" of the topic. But, most quizzes I've ever taken include questions on a lightly covered topic. Overall, this course is great and I recommend every person living in Canada to take this course so they have a better understanding of Canadian history.

автор: Justine W

15 окт. 2020 г.

I had to re-do the course 3 times. For some reason it logged me out and didn't save the chapters I had completed. I had to re-register and start again. The first time I got kicked out was becasue the course timed out on me. I thought the course was learn at your own pace so when I got busy in May and June I assumed I could pick up where I left off. I was wrong and I had to re-enrole and re-do all of the chapters I had completed. Overall the course content was great. I just got struck with a lot of bad luck on the tech side of things.

автор: Kelli M

14 авг. 2021 г.

T​his course was great. However, I found the certain questions on the tests were often poorly written and confusing. They felt like they were trying to trick me rather than confirm what I had learned. Since this is a free class, out to educate more people, I think the faculty should re-look at some of the questions. The difficulty of the test turns off a lot of people. And here the most imporant thing is to educate not make people feel 'dumb' or tricked. Overall I am very happy that I did this course. I learned so much. Thank you.

автор: Jenna W

14 окт. 2020 г.

This course was very good and covered a lot of information about our history in Canada. I loved that the presenters spoke slowly and clearly, and the interviews with Community Members added a good perspective and insight. I really loved the artist at the end of each module, explaining her ideas to use. A number of the quizzes were ridiculously hard and the language used in the questions was, at times, ambiguous. I had to retry 4 different days and what was with using my course notes from the video as well as the notes provided.

автор: Dan S A

28 июня 2022 г.

This was an excellant introductory course and really opened my eyes to the history and settlement of Canada in a perspective I knew very little of. I have a far better understanding of Indigenous history and culture then I ever thought I'd have. I wish more of this was taught at the public school level. The history of Residential Schools was shocking. I never really understood how horrific they were. Growing up a Catholic, I am ashamed and what Indigenous Peopls endured.

Thank you so much.

Sgt Dan St. Amand #1393

York Regional Police

автор: Benjamin M

11 сент. 2021 г.

I​ really enjoyed the Indigenous Canada course. It offered a perspective on Canadian histroy that is not widely shared but deserves a much larger platform. I thought the scholars and instuctors did a very good job, but some of the quiz questions felt a little silly and could have been more thoroughly written, and there were a bunch of grammatical errors in the course notes that made them feel rushed. All in all it was a great experience and I would highly recommend it to anyone that wants to broaden their understanding of history.

автор: Cailey M

28 дек. 2020 г.

Overall, a great course that every Canadian should have to take. Sometimes it was less engaging to listen to the presenters speak. I found the interviews with the artists elders and other "guest speakers" elders the most engaging as well as the breakdowns of the paintings. Some of the quiz questions were poorly written and confusing (double negatives, could be interpreted differently depending on how you read it etc). They relied on memorization of information, names, dates and facts and less on interpretation and higher thinking.

автор: Jackie G

8 нояб. 2020 г.

As an introduction, I found the course informative. And interesting in material. A broad swath. Brought down into manageable chunks. I would have preferred more dynamic use of the medium. The lecture style was slow; where images were used great. And the personal accounts and interviews were good. But not enough. There were missed opportunities eg fabulous acclaim for artists and their art. And yet we only see a drawing of them. Yes there was encouragement to view more and links. But overall provided a good basis to get more info.

автор: Ann M H

22 июля 2020 г.

Very meaningful content from indigenous perspective. All the speakers were clear. The content was well organized and I liked the repeating themes for comprehension of difficult and new subjects. I enjoyed very much Leah Dorion presentations of her art and have become a fan. I feel so much better anchored in indigenous history, crucial to my professional job of curating rare book collection of early explorers. I have been taught about indigenous worldviews and the enormous constraint put upon communities post European contact.

автор: Julie B

10 авг. 2021 г.

I found this course to be very informative, and I learned a ton. I especially appreciated the early modules about the treaties and the fur trade. However, I found the delivery of the material to be quite dry, and although Leah Dorian’s artwork was beautiful, I would have liked to have seen some different artists, especially in the last module about Art. Some of the quiz questions weren’t that straightforward as well. But all in all, I was very pleased with this free course, and will continue to educate myself going forward. 

автор: Adam M

9 апр. 2020 г.

From a white man looking into a foreign culture, it was very interesting to see the uniqueness and beauty of the Indigenous culture brings. The content of this course was exactly what I was hoping for. Some criticism: I hate trick questions and I strongly believe that they should be left out of testing. Additionally, some of the material was presented in a very dry and monotonal way. I would have liked to see more enthusiasm and excitement when someone is talking about their roots. Overall, I really enjoyed this course.

автор: Elizabeth M

1 янв. 2022 г.

L​oved the course, the way it was presented, the accessiblity and the content. The presenters were clear and informative and the course material gave a great overview for indigenous history and past and present social justice issues. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was that there were quite a few typo errors in the course notes and a few pieces of information that differed from what the course presenters said. Otherwise, I am very grateful for this personal and professional development opportunity. Thank you.

автор: Teresa S G

26 янв. 2022 г.

I​ was very moved by the content of this course. It has motivated me to learn more about Indigenous peoples in Canada. I found the format good, the videos and reading material excellent. I would have liked to see images of the art discussed in the last module. I also found some of the sections were difficult to understand because of esoteric jargon. However, I really appreciate the opportunity to take this course and can say that it has deepened my appreciation of the indigenous people in a very profound way. Thank you.

автор: stephen s

27 окт. 2021 г.

Sometimes there was too much repetition and I think, another edit, with the view to removing redundant material would make for a more powerful course. Another comment I have is the course would benefit from a more comprehensive view of pre-contact Indigenous governance and systems. As these were also created by people they would also have had their challenges/weaknesses (as well as their strong points of course which are adequately presented) and it'd be good to have a sense of these as well. Overall pretty good though.

автор: Lisa L

3 мая 2021 г.

I very much enjoyed and appreciate this course. I provided a 4 out of 5 being that , while each unit will ask a question within the unit, and a number of these units only provide the answer only after the question is asked - leaving the student often set up to be without an answer. to fail that question (opposed to being provided with/taught the information prior to being asked the question and instead leaving the answer yet to be provided/learned).

Thank you so very much for this opportunity.

Respectfully, Lisa Lacroix

автор: Brenda C

29 дек. 2020 г.

This course was very educational. It provided excellent base information and provided me with information that would help me begin to look at Canadian history and current events with new perspective. I had no idea of the horrible treatment of First Nations peoples and no idea of the history that has created such complex and abysmal conditions to be faced by generations of First Nations peoples. I do have a better knowledge base and will continue my learning so that I can speak more intelligently of our histories.

автор: Shirley M

29 нояб. 2021 г.

I​ enjoyed the course and learned a great deal. It was well paced and the faciliators spoke clearly and easy to understand. I came across a couple of glitches, such as the pop quiz coming up before the material on the quiz was covered (two modules), and a few of the questions in the end of module quizzes seemed to be worded more to confuse than to test knowledge. Other than these issues, I am very satisfied with the learning and have recommended the course to many friends for value of the information. Thank you.

автор: Valerie A

9 нояб. 2020 г.

I learned a great deal. I am Wyandat / Metis/ Canadian and just getting to know my Grandmother's family/culture/history . I understand the need to educate with accurate Canadian ( Kanata or any) history . There was some repeat of * feelings* , rather than * facts* that started to sound preachy, but I also understand the importance of peoples feelings and the need and right to express them. Overall really enjoyed the course, ( content, delivery, presenters, and opportunity to participate).

Thank you.

автор: Susan B

11 мар. 2021 г.

I found it fascinating to learn another perspective on my assumptions of "truth" Eye opening and humbling. It gave me a sense of pride in the rich cultures I learned about, particularly in the arts . my only complaint was that I would have liked to have seen more examples of the various artists work, perhaps in the background while the lecture was going on. There are so many wrongs that need to be acknowledged, to allow for future understanding and co-existence. Thank you for this excellent course.

автор: nancy m

21 авг. 2021 г.

Sadly, I learned almost nothing about Indigenous culture in my public school years, so this course was a very good fit for something I had been wanting for many years. It provided a very good, and broad overview in preparation for my next educational venture, San'yas Indigenous Cultural Safety Training. The course notes were helpful as I tend to learn better by reading. I would encourage you to have them professionally edited as it is clearly a transcript of spoken words that don't always "read well".