Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 16,210
Рецензии: 5,920

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

LM
31 окт. 2020 г.

so grateful for the experience and the opportunity. I am richer for having participated. I am not interested in learning more about the indigenous people that lived/live in my area of the PNW (Oregon)

JB
21 янв. 2018 г.

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

Фильтр по:

5801–5825 из 6,120 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: Iris H

9 нояб. 2020 г.

It was a very informative course, there were some inconsistencies between the videos, the notes and the quizes. Should be checked for accuracy.

автор: Ashley K

5 авг. 2021 г.

Excellent course with fantastic content. This course is unique in the sense that content is from an Aboriginal perspective. I learned so much!

автор: Wendy T

30 окт. 2021 г.

There was many new learnings in the course and helped to reframe previous education from a traditional education from a colonial perspective.

автор: Art M

24 янв. 2021 г.

A more balanced approach would be helpful. Were there not wars, famines, etc before settlers arrived? Were elders and tradition always right?

автор: David B

14 нояб. 2020 г.

Well done. Very informative. I have gained a new appreciation of the indigenous community and look forward to learning more in the future.

автор: Kathleen S

8 нояб. 2020 г.

It needs to update but good history. I especially enjoyed Week 12 on Indigenous Art. I would have liked to see more of the artists work.

автор: Jason B

5 нояб. 2020 г.

Reason for the Level 4, is nothing is perfect, however it was hard not to give the 5. Excellent course and I would recommend it to others

автор: Katherine B

23 мая 2019 г.

I really enjoyed to learn of all the little things that made Canada the way it was and the changes that our Indigenous people are making .

автор: Nicolas L

31 янв. 2021 г.

Very interesting to learn of new perspectives. It was a good course to build on other Indigenous studies courses taken prior to this one.

автор: Luxshana M

15 мая 2020 г.

I wish that they teach more about why they call " Indian", Religion, Canada name history. I found that questions for quiz a little long.

автор: Debbie M

6 окт. 2019 г.

I learned quite a bit in the course. I found out that even as a metis person, I had many misconceptions about current issues and history.

автор: Courtney Y

20 дек. 2020 г.

If you are someone who is looking to begin their understanding of the Indigenous Peoples of Canada, this is a great introductory course.

автор: Shawn R

21 нояб. 2020 г.

Very informative, I learned a lot from Indigenous peoples perspective especially events that were not mentioned or emphasized in school.

автор: Karen T

1 окт. 2020 г.

loved the course, The treaty chapter was very complex, and maybe could have been split into two units. Very interesting, learned lots.

автор: Sal O

10 авг. 2021 г.

T​he content was excellent and I learned a lot, but the instructional design was very poor. I gave 4 stars based on the content alone.

автор: Frank B

14 февр. 2021 г.

I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot. It also got me thinking about a lot of the issues it raised. Kudos to the instructors!

автор: Wendy H

18 июня 2021 г.

Excellent opportunity to grow my awareness and understanding of the many challenges facing First Nations individuals and communities.

автор: Ken B

14 янв. 2018 г.

Thank you for the opportunity to learn more about Indigenous history and contemporary issues. Every Canadian should take this course.

автор: Jorge A M

28 мар. 2021 г.

I was able to learn so much, very well put together and above all it was presented in a fair non judgmental but more educational way

автор: Lynda B

7 мая 2020 г.

Thank you for this course, while I knew some of the history, mostly from the other side, it was very enlightening to see both sides.

автор: Laura J

10 дек. 2021 г.

All three main teachers were wonderful in their presentations. Each week provided a launching pad for more research. Thank you.

автор: Joan M

8 дек. 2021 г.

I learned so much from this course, that I should have known before but this put it all together for me in a way that made sense.

автор: Ivy K

3 нояб. 2020 г.

Very informative. A lot of this information is now taught in the Saskatchewan education system but was not when I was a student.

автор: Steve L

27 окт. 2020 г.

Very informative and well presented, an important piece of our history that I wish was taught in all school curiculums. Thank you

автор: Loretta R

17 нояб. 2020 г.

I found Indigenous Canada to be a very accessible introduction to indigenous peoples and history. I'm so glad it was available.