Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 16,210
Рецензии: 5,920

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

LM
31 окт. 2020 г.

so grateful for the experience and the opportunity. I am richer for having participated. I am not interested in learning more about the indigenous people that lived/live in my area of the PNW (Oregon)

JB
21 янв. 2018 г.

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

Фильтр по:

176–200 из 6,118 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: Côté M

27 сент. 2021 г.

This course helped me a lot to understand Indigenous people and theirs claims. You did a great job.

автор: Terry M

18 дек. 2021 г.

Well worth the time investment. Carefully put together and something in here for everyone.

автор: Wendy B

27 авг. 2021 г.

I am both humbled and honoured to have taken this course, thank you for the opportunity!

автор: Stephanie D

26 авг. 2021 г.

This was a very informative course and should be part of all Canadian History B.A.

автор: Brenden M

18 дек. 2021 г.

Wonderfully accessable and open for everyone's schedule!

автор: Jay P

27 авг. 2021 г.

An Excellent course!! I've learned a lot.

автор: Kelly K

28 авг. 2021 г.

A​ll Canadians should take this course.

автор: Jesse M

27 авг. 2021 г.

E​njoyed this course, and learned lots!

автор: Jamie R

28 авг. 2021 г.

great course!

автор: Natasha M

28 авг. 2021 г.

Excellent!!

автор: Charlotte M H

15 нояб. 2021 г.

I learned a lot from this course and found that some of the current events of today were more meaningful and relatable with the better understanding of Indigenous people, cultures and history (although I struggle to call much of what has happened history) that were taught.

My only wish would be that the course could be more interactive as I found it harder to stay engaged through all the videos that were largely lecture based.

автор: Ariella Z

27 авг. 2021 г.

S​trong start, however, difficult to follow the last half of sessions as there was a lot of talking but not enough visuals to drive home learning.

автор: Christine P

27 авг. 2021 г.

Very informative and thought invoking. Thank you filling in my missing knowledge and better perspective of our world = Turtle Island

автор: Victoria M

26 авг. 2021 г.

Very informative and elicited some good conversations. Touched on so many issues that require further learning. Thank you

автор: Gerry M

9 февр. 2021 г.

I completed this course about two weeks ago, and have waited a while to complete this review in order to process my thoughts in a more balanced way. This is an important course, and I am glad that I took the time to complete it. I believe every curious and open-minded Canadian should take it.

I have an undergraduate degree in history, and although I haven't pursued further formal studies in that area, I have read Canadian history my entire life and consider myself a life long learner. In reviewing this course, I have tried to take a historiographical perspective, viewing it as one of many accounts and perspectives on the history of Canada, and especially western Canada. In that regard, I don't consider it a definitive account, but one to be considered in the ongoing mix of interpretations of our complex and still evolving society.

The course is decidedly one-sided, but I did not expect otherwise. As part of the so-called "settler" community, there is a clear attempt to make me feel responsible for the transgressions and unintended consequences of our forefathers, without acknowledging many of us have forefathers who were also oppressed and dispossessed by the same colonial masters in the 19th century. They arrived in Canada at the same time with less than most treaty aboriginals were provided through their treaties. Our ancestors came here to claim a new life and move forward, not to retreat backwards into a mythical idyllic lifestyle. Sorry, but this is the message I get from the course... there is no way forward other than land claims and lawsuits... that is no way to build a society.

Thanks again for providing this course, but I came away feeling a little bit sad, and not very hopeful for the future of my indigenous neighbours.

автор: Teresa P

23 мар. 2021 г.

The first half of this course was excellent! However, it began to lose steam further on. It needs some updating (some facts, like Neechi Commons, are outdated - this is now closed). The presenters read off of a teleprompter typically, and are often wooden in their speaking. I would have much preferred a more animated approach to such important subject matter. The lesson on Indigenous Art showed almost no actual art, and rather just listed a bunch of artist names, which did not increase my appreciation for Indigenous Art in the least. That said, I found this to have a lot of helpful survey content of Indigenous culture and history in Canada. I think this course would be most useful for newcomers to Canada and non-Canadians, or people who have otherwise never encountered Indigenous issues before.

автор: Alex O

6 авг. 2021 г.

Here's a tip for people creating courses: Use the media to actually teach rather than distort.

There were so many instances where glib statements were made and not justified by evidence. In several instances, the statements jarred so strikingly with the material being presented that I had to pause the video to look up the details before proceeding. In every case it turned out the statement was either a lie or a gross distortion of what other sources say.

Here's another tip for people creating courses: when listing your sources in your course notes, assume people will want to look them up and read them.

The sources made for fascinating reading on just how limited the research into this course was. This is shocking given it comes from a Faculty of Native Studies at a university most conveniently located in Canada to invite interviews with many tribespeople and gather evidence that can be presented in a much more complete manner rather than just condensing it in the first video before moving on to topics of grievance and activism for the other videos.

Here's another tip for people creating course: try to hide your agenda a bit better where you have one.

The first video in each module was a fascinating insight to Indian customs, culture and 'ways of knowing' (this is why I am rating this course with two stars rather than one: there was some actual learning in it). Then the videos moved on to just brow-beat everyone non-native and stir up activism without stating why other than to foment outrage. This was particularly evident in the module quizzes, which were an obvious attempt to re-interpret course notes with meaning not imbued in the original presentations and coerce students to interpret course notes in a more militant manner.

Here's another tip for people creating courses: make the tests tests of knowledge not a means to inculcate.

A good test shows the student has taken the facts in and rewards them for retention and understanding, not to present striking new interpretations that must be answered correctly to gain marks. As the course went on and the amount of actual culture and history on display dwindled, more and more time was given over to radical reinterpretations of what the ancient culture must have been and using that as a basis to encourage uprising. The word 'Activism' was introduced far more regularly in later modules and the tests seemed to want to show the students knew how to use activism the best, as well as introducing the concept of 'social justice' (not a happy term to use to white settlers who battled the scourge of Soviet Communism - from where that term hails). Here's some reading for you: "Black Is Beautiful, Communism Is Not" by Yuri Bezmenov a.k.a. Tomas Schuman https://archive.org/details/1985BlackIsBeautifulCommunismIsNot.

Lastly, it was [un]fortunate timing that I was reading Tom Bingham's "The Rule of Law" at the same time as taking the module on Indigenous law and governance. Don't ever tell me that indigenous law - where the accused must plead guilty before restitution can be made - is in any way superior to a system that presumes innocence until proven guilty.

Oh, and you might want to rethink describing 'governance' correctly in one module before completely redefining it in the most incorrect manner possible in a later module. That kind of inconsistency looks deliberate and is not something to be 'forgiven' as you ask in the last video.

This course could have been a genuine joy and a true learning experience. Instead I feel grubby from being encouraged to become an activist.

...and I'm still not much more educated about what the culture of Indigenous people is. I got more information out of "The Adventures and Sufferings of John R. Jewitt" the memoir of a British armourer taken slave by the Maquinna of Nootka Sound on Vancouver Island for nearly three years before he escaped.

What were their regional diets, how was migration undertaken, why was there no written language, why was even stonemasonry not invented, why did the peoples not interact with the much larger and more successful Central American civilizations, what other stories were used to pass on intergenerational knowledge and what are the key themes to be able to know how to interpret them?

автор: Paul L

1 авг. 2021 г.

An interesting topic presented in a rather dry and boring way. The lecturers are mainly reading the script without much enthusiasm

автор: the t W

15 июля 2021 г.

For what it's worth it is a decent project, but that being said both the presentation and course material were troubling:

The videos failed to utilize the potential of motion pictures and instead relied on teleprompter reading and helpful but sporadic maps (just look at crash course dammit). The reading "notes" were massive bodies of text and the lecture often follows a uniquely confusing structure.

The course material also begins to be progressively more biased tone which, while understandable given the context, disengages non-native audiences.

Personally would not recommend. I want to understand and appreciate indigenous people, their culture and their concerns, but this course just doesn't deliver. one star

автор: Kent T

28 окт. 2021 г.

How do you write the history of a movement when you are still a part of that movement? Whom do you believe when leading participants in those historical events disagree strongly not only on why things happened, but also on what happened? What imparts the ring of truth to a people’s history? Let the records speak for themselves!

The contributors to this initiative have failed drastically in this endeavour. This presentation is rife with inaccurate information that is consistently presented as fact. The biases of the contributors are glaring. Often these opinions are spoken in the most acrimonious of terms. This project certainly fails in providing a platform for truth and reconciliation.

автор: B A - J B C

3 июля 2021 г.

This course downplayed the atrocities of colonialism and especially residential schools; I'd heard such good things from other people who'd taken it, but it really was nothing new that I hadn't already heard in high school. They made it sound like children just happened to die at these schools and colonialism itself was responsible for genocide, not actual people who intentionally tortured and murdered. I guess it's great to focus on the art and accomplishments of modern Indigenous people, but I'd really hoped they'd acknowledge that the European settlers were responsible for so much death and destruction, rather than it just unfortunately happening somehow.

автор: Gary N

6 дек. 2021 г.

I became increasingly disturbed with the creeping bias and inflammatory tone as the course progressed. By the end, I felt it had just reinforced many old and ignorant stereotypes. I truly believe this is an opportunity missed and more worryingly, has undermined the spirit of reconciliation itself.

Other's have commented on delivery style, questionable historical accuracy, distorted perspectives and the poor quizzes. I'll say no more.

In conclusion, if you want all Canadians to understand indigenous culture and world views, its very hypocritical to disparage other worldviews which this course does frequently.

автор: Cheryl G

3 мар. 2021 г.

The two students were excellent communicators. Tracy Bear needs to learn how to speak without moving her hands in such a distracting and off-putting manner.

The course does an excellent job of providing an overview of the negative impact of colonization, but completely fails to mention any indigenous issues from before colonization, instead characterizing everything as perfect prior to colonization. Some mention of Iroquois slavery or other historical issues would paint a much more balanced picture. Note that I do not condone the horrible treatment from colonization.

автор: Alix A

1 июля 2021 г.

​This waa awkwardly terrible and contained racist phrases like "enthusiasm for war" re: indigenous people. It often tried to justify colonialism and used passive language, for example that children were hurt or lost their lives at residential schools, rather than priests and nuns murdered them. It often felt as though the presenters had never read the scripts before, and they were clearly written for indigenous people to recite by someone with a vested interest in sugarcoating the past. This was not at all acceptable in 2021.

автор: Lucas T

1 окт. 2020 г.

Could not follow lessons. Information in the videos is very scattered.