Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 18,254
Рецензии: 6,510

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

ER

2 нояб. 2020 г.

I'm so pleased to have been able to educated myself further on the true history of "Canada", what should have stayed Turtle Island. Being able to continue my learning and hopefully being a better ally

LH

29 июня 2021 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed this course in the the way it is presented and the information given. It expanded my knowledge and insights of indigenous history, culture, and knowledge, as well as so much more.

Фильтр по:

6201–6225 из 6,766 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: Sarah H

22 июля 2021 г.

Overall, it was excellent. I had a few problems with the interactive art pieces, and I was sorry that more time wasn't spent on Indigenous writers and other creators. But I learned a lot and I feel the need to learn more. I have already recommended the course to many people.

автор: Gizella M

7 нояб. 2020 г.

To be honest, I signed up for this course due to the celebrity of Dan Levy. However, I stayed because I became very surprised to see how little I knew about the plight of the Indigenous peoples of Canada. I am grateful for having had the opportunity to join in this course.

автор: A/J

24 сент. 2020 г.

Very important information to be learning. I appreciate the knowledge and thank you for making this course available to so many people. There is still so much more to learn. It would be amazing to have courses that dive deeper into the topics that where touched on.

Thank-you

автор: Emily S

27 нояб. 2021 г.

I would like to be able to see tests better, see and save wrong answers and keep correct/ passed tests. Overall I really enjoyed this these topics and appreciate so much learning from such knowledgeable educators who took their time to create and be a part of this course.

автор: Larry O

10 янв. 2021 г.

I appreciate the efforts that have gone into creating this course. I found the multiple-choice approach to the exams a little tricky but enjoyed the challenge. I describe myself as unilingual, with English as my first language and it was challenged during the exams.

Thanks

автор: Robert P

14 нояб. 2020 г.

Well presented, mostly interesting to follow, especially the units on the fur trade and indigenous arts. Elsewhere, the tone is somewhat less critical, more advocative than informative. In some lectures, especially the one on community, the language gets rather puzzling.

автор: Michele C

21 июня 2021 г.

Exceptional learning. Invites me to continue learning about what I should have always known. This is just the start of my journey and I hope to walk alongside and behind, and to listen, and then stand up and share when the timing warrants. Thank you for this experience.

автор: Anne S

4 мая 2022 г.

t​hThis was a great course and i learned so much about Indigenous history, culture and art. I have a deep appreciation for their suffering, their resiliency and their hope. I like the way the material was presented and the artwork of Leah Dorion pulled it all together.

автор: Tania V

5 нояб. 2021 г.

I learned lots in this course and will definitely be reading the chapters all over again. Lots of information to learn and understand. I always understood the Term First Nations but have a much better understanding of all the injustice that has and continues to happen.

автор: Jaden B

17 февр. 2021 г.

It was a great course. Although some things I did not agree with such as the title of the course being a 'Modern Indian" because we should all know that "Indian" is .. for lack of better word.. a racist term and should be using words such as Indigenous or First Nation.

автор: Katja D B

12 мар. 2022 г.

I loved doing the course. It's a great introduction to Indigenous worldviews, history and movements. It would benefit from an update (it's now 2022 and some of the examples seem outdated) and more imagery, less talking heads. But all in all, a great course. Thank you!

автор: Carina S

2 февр. 2021 г.

Thank you very much, Dr. Tracy Bear and other instructors and writers, for this important course. I learned a great deal which, I trust, will build bridges as opportunities arise. I am happy to see that hundreds of thousands of people are signing up for this course.

автор: Karen G

23 дек. 2020 г.

Very informative; appreciated content delivery format and interactive painting component of each module. Occasionally found ‘Quiz’ questions to be unclear; on-line format did not provide avenue for clarification of understanding.

Will absolutely recommend this course.

автор: Sheyla K

8 нояб. 2020 г.

This was a great introductory course to Indigenous studies. It was eye opening, and humbling to realize how little we as Canadians know about our history, the way our government, laws and treaties have been concocted to work against the progress of Indigenous people.

автор: Jenny H

7 окт. 2020 г.

This was a broad and comprehensive review of Indigenous history and modern day culture of Canadian first nations. As an immigrant to Canada with very little exposure, background or education on this, I gained a much deeper understanding of this fascinating subject.

автор: michelle w

2 июня 2022 г.

v​ery informative but there were times when in my perspective the important things were not focused on. instead of taking the time to expand on a subject, a lot of different information was given but at a shallow depth. But this couse has changed how I view things

автор: David P

14 янв. 2020 г.

Thank you for the work, the opinions and the history lesson. I learned a great deal and have much to think about after completing the course. I appreciate all the time that went into producing this course and hope to see other courses in the future. Well done!

автор: Paul V d E

25 авг. 2021 г.

Interesting course giving a good overview of the many issues faced by the Indigenous community in Canada. Course is recommended with a caveat that it seems to be one-sided and presented from a vae victis perspective. Still, some very good and useful information.

автор: Gayle L

9 авг. 2021 г.

While this course added to my knowledge about the history of Indigenous people and their culture I would have liked more indepth information about the history of the effects of colonization. I am upset that none of this was taught in my educational experience.

автор: Charlaine M

13 янв. 2022 г.

I enjoyed the teachings throughout this course but found the assessment questions were often poorly worded and often addressed facts rather than broad concepts and understandings. The wording often made it difficult to ascertain what was actually being asked.

автор: Karen B

24 июня 2022 г.

I loved this course and found it to be very informative, and I will heartily recommend it to others. It was unfortunate, though, that there were a couple of missing resources, a number of typos and grammatical errors, and some poorly designed quiz questions.

автор: Emilie M B

21 июня 2020 г.

Definitely an eye-opening introduction to the masked history of North America. There is so much more to learn and experience in order to truly get an authentic understanding, I believe that requires meeting people, working for them and amplifying their voice.

автор: Jesse T

26 янв. 2022 г.

Great course, I really enjoyed it and learned a lot. My only suggestion would be to add more interviews and conversational elements, as the prompter course reading can be somewhat dry at times. That said would wholeheartedly recommend this course to anyone.

автор: Marc F

13 июня 2021 г.

R​eally enjoyed the course and learned much I was not aware of. Perhaps the course should be updated to reflect current (upto 2021) updates to some items mentioned. For example status of TRC CALLS TO ACTION and MMIW inquiry updates etc...thanks for this!

автор: Richard P

25 мая 2021 г.

l​earned a lot more about indigineous people and how they are not like the sterotypes that the colonizer want us to believe. Learned about their culture which is focused on the family and the environment and the importance of the past being in the present.