Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 18,299
Рецензии: 6,524

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

MD

2 июля 2021 г.

This course was very interesting and very informative. Not only did it help correct stereotypes or prejudices, it showed a wide range of subjects pertaining to global and specific Indigenous cultures.

JB

10 окт. 2021 г.

This is a must for anyone, non-indigenous to Indigenous to complete. Should also be a part of the process to become a Canadian citizen. Very well done. I thank you for opening my eyes, mind and heart.

Фильтр по:

6176–6200 из 6,768 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: Audrey O

22 июня 2020 г.

It was very full of wonderful information. I did like the ability to read along instead of just listening if I wanted to. I also like that I could choose to just read instead of watching also. Adding a few more pictures and videos would have been nice also to break it up a little more. Well done, thank you!

автор: Kristin C

29 дек. 2017 г.

Great course! There were a few quiz questions that appeared to have multiple arguably reasonable responses, but otherwise, I greatly enjoyed the material and learned a lot. Taking this course was the only thing I did to commemorate "Canada 150," and as a settler Canadian, I feel that was the right decision.

автор: David B

15 июня 2018 г.

Greatly informative. People speaking are reading a script and it comes off as a bit boring. I'd prefer audio without images of narrator and more visuals of what is being discussed. Even if narration is scripted and read, it can be executed in a more dynamic way. Kudos for the rich content. I learned a lot.

автор: Philip P

9 сент. 2021 г.

I like the fact that the course focuses on healing and resiliency. The broad themes allowed for snapshots into the various indigenous cultures that exist in Canada.

I enjoyed that it looked at the whole and used numerous communities to highlight history and modern movements within the various communities.

автор: Steffen P

18 авг. 2020 г.

Having learned Canadian history in high school, it was refreshing to see this 'history' told from a the perspective of the First Nations. For example, the discussions about the role of the Hudsons Bay Trading company portrayed the complexities of the relationship between First Nations and settlers.

Thanks!

автор: Kiran S

4 мар. 2021 г.

it would have been interesting if there was some pointers to how one should pronounce the indigeneous words and also show samples of the artwork in the last module.

Overall, it changed my perspective. now when I read any news articles about Indigeneous aspects, I read it with a different lens. Thanks.

автор: Raymond D

12 мая 2022 г.

I recommend this course for anyone who wishes to learn more about indigenous culture, history, and also the modern perspectives of the native experience within the Canadian landscape. The instructors and presenters are obviously very well versed in the material and bring a unique view to the course.

автор: Randy T R

28 апр. 2021 г.

Overall it was informative, not much Siksikaitapaiks (Blackfoot) content but we're used to being excluded and viewed as the enemy. If your narrative is to raise awareness for justice and Indigenous autonomy, sovereignty, etc., perhaps lose the historical-hate for other tribes such as the Blackfoot.

автор: Jennifer

10 июля 2020 г.

I really appreciated this course, I will certainly be striving to learn more and share what I have learned. It would be helpful if some things were updated and if there were more interactive questions within the units. Also having recommendations for further study would be Amazing.

Thank you so much

автор: Edward P

9 мая 2021 г.

Love to have seen more visuals of art examples when discussing contemporary artists' work.

In the arts section, would also love to learn more about contemporary writers, singers and craft artists too.

Thank you for the course. It was a very good introduction for me about the history of colonization.

автор: Amanda B

2 июня 2017 г.

Some of the quizzes felt as if they were trying to trick you with the options. I felt the tests could have asked better questions that were designed to teach rather than push memorization. It also would have been helpful to see where you went wrong rather than just being told to re-watch a module.

автор: Heather C

7 авг. 2021 г.

​Excellent course. I especially loved the interactive art work. Sometimes the spoken text is a bit slow. It would be good to have an option to just read and not have to view the video, if the written text was as richly illustrated. Thanks so much for all this work. I loved it and learned so much.

автор: Susan D

20 авг. 2017 г.

This series has brought me a much clearer understanding of the generational harms that we impose on each other from a root of preconceived decisions about who we think we are, who you think we are, who I think I am, who I am and the who I want to be. I am grateful to have taken this course.

автор: Robert T

18 авг. 2021 г.

This course has provided me with a better understanding of the Indigenous People, particullarly their history and culture. It has certainly broadened my views and perspective on the lives of generations of Indigenous People; and many of their challenges they have had to overcome in society.

автор: Karli P

9 авг. 2021 г.

The information presented in this course is very valuable. I am very grateful to have gained the knowledge presented and look forward to continued learning in Indigenous History.

The material was presented in a clear and concise way, making learning attainable for all interested parties.

автор: Miranda T

22 янв. 2021 г.

Really easy to follow along with. Great overview of first nations in Canada. I am so glad I decided to take this course. I would recommend putting even more multiple choice questions throughout the videos they really helped me stay engaged and think more critically about the materials.

автор: Bobby S

31 окт. 2020 г.

Excellent study of Indigenous history and culture which should be mandatory learning for our school systems in Canada at all levels starting at a very young age and increasing in detail and study throughout high school as a integral part of the 'history' programs taught now. Thank you.

автор: Morgan G

23 дек. 2020 г.

The course material is wonderful. The videos are well done and informative and I enjoyed them immensely. Unfortunately the required quizzes are not put together quite as well. Many questions are ambiguous, misleading, or have more than one correct answer given in the multiple choice.

автор: Patsy C

12 сент. 2021 г.

I loved this course! I would have given it a 4 star rating, if the quizzes provided a rationale for the right and wrong answers. I didn't have time to go through the course material over and over again, so consquently I never did discover what was 'wrong' about my incorrect answers.

автор: Neil M

31 дек. 2020 г.

Great course. Presents an indigenous point of view of Canadian history not taught in school . I think there needs to be more content included in the Canadian school curriculum about the original Canadian peoples and how important their contribution has been to this great country.

автор: Tanya

18 авг. 2021 г.

T​his course was wonderful. It opened my eyes to the many hidden ways that Indigenous People in Canada have sufffered.

I​ do wish that in the art section there were selections of the art that is mentioned as visuals. I found myself stopping and looking them up online.

T​hank you.

автор: Scott C

6 нояб. 2020 г.

A good introductory course covering a wide variety of topics. There are a spelling errors in the 'subtitles' and reading documents. A few of the questions could do with being reviewed and/or be worded better. Overall though I enjoyed the course and found it very informative.

автор: Amie B

8 нояб. 2021 г.

I enjoyed the content, however would have liked to have had more interactive content throughout the videos. Online learning by way of just watching videos is not my most favourite. I do appreciate that it is free though and really hope a lot of people get a chance to see it.

автор: Adele M

28 сент. 2020 г.

I feel like I've learned a lot of interesting and very helpful things about Indigenous peoples, their world views and how that impacts many aspects of their lives today. I hope I can continue learning. I feel like this has just whetted my appetite to learn more. Thank you.

автор: Heather I

3 июля 2020 г.

Information that all Canadians need to be aware of. Great use of various mediums. The multiple choice questions were often poorly worded, asking for what was 'not' an option. Loved the use of art forms and the commissioned pieces that were explained by the artist, Leah Dorion.