Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 18,303
Рецензии: 6,526

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

LJ

5 мая 2022 г.

I really enjoyed this course. I liked that it was taught by indigenous peoples from their perspective. I feel much more confident in my knowledge regarding indigenous issues and traditions. Thank you!

AS

6 сент. 2020 г.

I found this course to be very informative. Thank you for the opportunity to see our shared history from another perspective. I hope this is as groundbreaking for my fellow Canadians as it was for me.

Фильтр по:

6151–6175 из 6,774 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: Alison S

20 сент. 2021 г.

It was a very well designed and delivered online course. A great overview that can be used as either a refresher or as a solid foundation for further study. I particularly enjoyed the personal stories that were woven throughout but my favourite module was the last one, which covered the rich arts and media landscape of Indigenous artists.

автор: Anam C

15 нояб. 2020 г.

This is a very timely course for those of us who are descendants of settlers who know that there have been injustices done to indigenous people since contact and have a desire to change things in the future. It is only through education that racism is eradicated. Thank you all for being part of the healing by increasing understanding.

автор: Julie R

7 янв. 2021 г.

I found it very interesting but some of the weeks were very long and unfortunately I had to leave the video sessions and go back a few times which meant repeating some of the material already covered. I also found that the multiple choice questions were sometimes very hard. It was not easy but I guess that may have been the intent.

автор: Katie M

11 мая 2018 г.

The course was very good. It was delivered in a way that is easy to understand and follow along. The only thing i suggest is for the test questions to be in order in which they appear in the videos. I found that I was contently flipping back and forth between the first and middle part of the course notes.

Overall a excellent program

автор: Juergen E F

26 февр. 2021 г.

This course taught me about the Canadian history I was not taught during my education. In school we learned about settlers and their struggles, but nothing about the peoples that were displaced by the settlers and the actions of the government and the church to assimilate and destroy their culture. Thank you for opening up my eyes.

автор: Theresa D

31 авг. 2020 г.

I found the course very informative and impressively comprehensive given the time span and context that was covered. I found some grammatical logistical errors distracting. I plan on taking this information into my communities to have fuller discussions and meet the challenges this provides for those of us who are non-Indigenous

автор: J W

24 нояб. 2020 г.

The material was well presented and covered a vast array of topics. As the course moved along I felt the quizzes didn't accurately assess my knowledge both because of the small number of questions asked and the types of questions. Overall a well-worthwhile course that greatly increased my knowledge and understanding. Thank you.

автор: David T

22 нояб. 2020 г.

This course has provided me with some context when I read about indigenous issues in Canada. My empathy has been heightened to the point where I ask myself: “How, as a privileged middle-aged white male, can I use my privilege to support indigenous Canadians achieve their goals. Thank-you for preparing and delivering this course.

автор: Maggie B

27 апр. 2022 г.

G​reat course and informative, even if you're aware of Indigenous issues. Should be a required course for anyone in a power position and espcially for anyone working in any capacity with First Nations. Only drawback is this course is a bit old and needs major updating in the MMIWG and residential school sections, in particular.

автор: Laura C

13 апр. 2021 г.

It would have been beneficial to the course to have more visuals. It was difficult at times as a visual learner to stay focused. The final module (art) would have been better with images of the described art. Other than the above comments, the course greatly elaborated on the "typical" Canadian highschool education - well done!

автор: Angela C

15 мар. 2022 г.

This course was really interesting. I learned so much about the history of the relationship between the Indigenous and the settlers that I didn't know, or had never heard. (I fall into the "settler"group). I have a whole new appreciation for the viewpoint of our Indigenous people and how the Indigenous have been exploited.

автор: Robert D C

24 июля 2020 г.

The course was informative and interesting. I found some of the in-video pop up quiz questions were out of sync (e.g. the question would prompt before the content it referred to was covered, usually this was only by 10-20sec). I would have liked to have seen more content on eastern Canada, but in general I enjoyed the course.

автор: Christine M

26 окт. 2020 г.

Indigenous Canada is a very enlightening and insightful course. It helps broaden my understanding of Indigenous culture and breaks away from the bias opinions expressed in colonial historical readings of the past.

I would encourage others to partake in this amazing study and work together to build harmony within our society.

автор: Lyndsey S

9 апр. 2020 г.

I have learnt a lot through this course and I am glad to have taken it. I felt sometimes further detail was required when examples were presented to fully understand the issues. Thank you for taking the time to develop the course as i think that it is important that history and current issues are told by all / many voices.

автор: Louis G

23 нояб. 2020 г.

Contenu est excellent.

Puisque je suis de la région du Nouveau Brunswick j'aurais aimé plus d'information sur les communautés autochtones de la région de l'est du Canada.

Je continue ma recherche afin de mieux connaître l'histoire du Canada et l'impact des Européens arrivants sur le mode de vie des communautés autochtones.

автор: Maisie L

27 дек. 2021 г.

Through this course, I have learned a lot about Indigenous history, culture, society and spirit. It helps me understand Canadian history better. It is a great course and I encourage more people to take this course. Suggestions: 1) add more pictures of real items or events as possible. 2) update the course occasionally.

автор: Ian R

13 мая 2021 г.

A great introductory overview of this very broad subject. As a 3rd/4th generation settler, it helped me capture and integrate many of the facts of our history together, and to consider them against the backdrop of Indigenous understandings. The challenge is to get beyond mourning the past to something action-oriented.

автор: Rachelle K

9 сент. 2020 г.

Super informative. Did not learn any of this in school! So glad to have taken part and educated myself on such important Indigenous issues. I really hope that the more of us non Indigenous folks learn and try to understand this history and culture, the further forward we can all walk together! Thank you for doing this!

автор: Mark S

31 дек. 2020 г.

Overall, this was a good course. In some places, there was detail that did not really advance our learning while in other places there was not enough detail to fully understand the intended meaning. I would have liked to see more photos and and hear examples (i.e., stories) to bring to life the facts being presented.

автор: BHL

20 нояб. 2020 г.

For an introductory course, the content and range of topics are quite good. The user interface, including the forum, videos, quizzes, etc. are all very helpful.

Two reasons I did not rate it higher: 1) the large amount of typos and errors in the reading materials and 2) the PDF reading materials are not searchable.

автор: Tara B (

5 окт. 2020 г.

This course was great for giving more meaning and understanding about Indigenous culture. Sometimes we're so focused on the hardships and struggle of our First Nations Peoples that we miss the beautiful art, ceremony, and culture that are so ingrained. Thank you for providing this course and making it so accessible.

автор: Gaylene A D

22 окт. 2021 г.

It was a beautiful reminder of much of the Social Studies we did in middle school and junior high, there was a lot more to take in. More information of the Residential Schools might be more beneficial. It was an inspiring course, pushing me along in my own personal journey with Truth and Reconciliation. Thank you.

автор: Deleted A

2 нояб. 2020 г.

Very informative! I liked the short bites too. Some of the questions were quite similar though and it made it hard to decipher what answer you wanted. It was funny, the segments I thought I'd do well on, I didn't and vice versa. I enjoyed my reintroduction into academia after a 25 yr absence :)

On to course two!

автор: Hugh L S

8 мар. 2021 г.

Course content was excellent. I felt that some of the multiple choice questions were weak, focusing on specific details rather than an understanding of concepts. I learned a lot about recent indigenous issues and will continue to keep informed from national media, which I believe give relatively unbiased coverage.